Customer Reviews for

Foundling (Monster Blood Tattoo Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Lalala ooohhh Monsters and Tattoos!!!

    O.K. Simply amazing.....Couldn't put this book even when I tried!!! Read it in one day and this book has much quality. I'm gonna have to put it up there with the Maximum Ride series. Maybe its even better. I truly cannot wait for the next one to come out and for more of Rossamunds (accent on the u) quirky/grim adventures!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Simply Awesome!

    This book was truly a great surprise! The author does a magnificent job of creating the half continent, the characters, and the culture of his story. The story is full of vivid scenes, sights, sounds, smells, action, suspense, and horror. The half continent is unique creation with distinct new characteristics. Who are the real monsters?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    so good

    i could not put this book down it was so good when does the next book come out

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    A good read

    This is one of the better books I have ever read. The author does an amazing job creating a whole new World.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    The best book I ever read,

    The book was highly addecting. I could not put it down can't wait for the next book ^_^

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    not what i thought

    AMAZING! when i first picked up the book, i wasn't sure if i liked it. but it became so addciting! this is definatly one of my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book not only takes magic and monsters to a new lever, but also invites you into the civilization's classifications very close to our era...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Cool

    Ooo…reminds me of Rick Yancey's monstrumologist series. This is a must-read for any dark fiction lover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Totally Engrossing

    This was a wonderful series and not to be missed. Its full of adventure, mystery and a hint of romance. I have read the entire series and would recommend this to anyone with a vibrant imagination. I love that it includes pictures of the various characters and beast. One of a kind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    I love this series...

    I love this series, i just finished the third book and i cant wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Highly detailed

    The author has created a complete and immersive world full of detail and vivid characters. Definitely an accomplishment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A marvelous adventure

    Cornish created an exciting story that brings a completely fictional world to life. Including a history, geography and a language for Monster Blood Tattoo's first novel, Foundling was a brilliant foundation for a really thrilling read. Once the lingo of the book sinks in, the plot pulls you into the story and I believe you will have a hard time putting the book down.

    Considering this is a fantasy novel for young adults, the plot is fairly sophisticated. Foundling can be read with ease and the illustrations are not distracting-if anything, they are very well crafted.

    I suppose my only qualm is that it ends to quickly, but luckily there is already a sequel available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    How can you not read this book?!

    Okay let's just start off by saying that I know not everyone will enjoy this book. I honestly can't get enough of it though. I've reread it about four maybe five times now and I still want to read it again. The characters are great and well developed, the storyling is engaging and suspensful and on top of it all the entirety of the book has words that you won't likely find anywhere, but the back of the book. My favorite part of this book is the unlikely friendship that springs up between Rossamund and Europe. It's my number 2 in my top ten books with the only book topping it being the sequel. I never expected a book to be this good. For the gamers that may read this it's basically the Katamari Damacy of the book world. You won't find another book as odd and as enjoyable anywhere else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by K. Osborn Sullivan for TeensReadToo.com

    MONSTER BLOOD TATTOO is an unusual book. Even before I delved into it, I was struck by some of the ways that it's different from other young adult fantasy novels. For one thing, more than a quarter of the book is taken up with an extensive glossary and other appendices. It is also sprinkled with art - typically sketches of characters in the novel. So even before reading a word of the story, I was curious. Surely such an unusual book would be either a magnificent, ground-breaking achievement or a disappointing, confusing disaster, right? Turns out that neither of those lofty expectations panned out. Nonetheless, this is a good, entertaining novel with some interesting characters and a unique approach to the human/monster relationship. <BR/><BR/>The hero of MONSTER BLOOD TATTOO is an orphan, or in the language of the book, a foundling, named Rossamund Bookchild. He was raised at an orphanage, or rather, a foundlingery, called Madam Opera's Estimable Marine Society for Foundling Boys and Girls. The only clue the boy has about his parents is that someone had pinned a girl's name, Rossamund, to his blankets before abandoning him years earlier. No doubt that is a story in itself, but it will have to wait for future books. <BR/><BR/>When Rossamund is old enough, he is selected for a career and sent off to begin life away from Madam Opera's Marine Society. While he is pleased to have been chosen for a job and eager to see the world outside the foundlingery's doors, Rossamund also worries that his career as a lamplighter might not be exciting enough for him. But the boy is dutiful, so he gathers his meager belongings and sets off. Rossamund's journey to lamplighter headquarters should be straightforward enough, but he accidentally ends up aboard the wrong ship and things go downhill from there. <BR/><BR/>The real adventure in MONSTER BLOOD TATTOO is the dangerous path Rossamund follows in an attempt to find his new employer. Along the way, he meets both humans and monsters, but it is often hard to tell one from the other. More than once he is forced to wonder whom he can trust. Just because an individual is human, does that mean he can be trusted, while all monsters can't be? And how should Rossamund think about a beautiful woman who can make lightening with her body and kills for a living? <BR/><BR/>I liked how this book has few simple answers. Rossamund goes into the world expecting all adults to be as helpful and kind as those who cared for him at the foundlingery. At the same time, he expects all monsters to be evil, bloodthirsty beasts deserving of nothing better than a violent death. He soon learns otherwise, on both counts. <BR/><BR/>My only real complaints with MONSTER BLOOD TATTOO were minor. First, I occasionally wanted to scream at Rossamund for being a naive fool. Growing up in a sheltered environment is one thing, but blind stupidity is something else entirely. Like when Rossamund got on the wrong boat. I almost put the book down right then and there, figuring that he was about to get what he deserved. But I muddled through and am glad I did...<BR/><BR/>Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    a great first novel!

    this is the story of rossamund bookchild a foundling who had his lifeplanned out, but his plans go astray when he is forced into being a lamplighter. this is one of the best books i have ever read, the authers word play is clever and the charecters are unque charecters, none of which are fully good. this book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time... i would recamend this book to annyone, the same with ths lamplighters (the second installment of the monster blood tatto sieres)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating fantasy thriller

    In spite of his first name, Rossamund Bookchild is a young male orphan living at Madam Opera's Estimable Marine Society for Foundling Boys and Girls. Rossamund, like all the children at this orphanage, is being trained to serve either in the Boschenberg Navy or some other government agency. --- A stranger with strange eyes hires Rossamund as a 'lamplighter' for the Emperor watching out for rogue men and monsters (see the 102 page Explicarium glossary for more details involving the role of a lamplighter). However, Rossamund fails to reach his destination when he is tricked into boarding the wrong vessel. This ship of doom leaves the lad in a strange realm where blood feuding is the norm as monsters and human are in constant mortal combat. Rossamund soon learns that when a human kills a monster, a 'monster-blood tattoo' is made from the deceased¿s blood and placed on the victor (see Explicarium for more details). However, the lost lamplighter knows survival on this strange Half Continent is all that matters until he can find passage back to his assignment that is if he still hasq the job. --- The young adult story line is excellent enhanced by wonderful drawings, but it is the appendices with the incredible glossary, the maps and the detailed pictures that make this opening fantasy thriller unique and extraordinary. Rossamund is a wonderful lead protagonist who the audience will admire as he struggles to survive the Half-Continent. Much of his escapades enable the reader to meet the locals, which in turn anchors the place. Readers of all ages will appreciate this superb refreshing tale and look forward to Rossamund¿s next Monster Blood Tattoo adventure (see LAMPLIGHTER). --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    This books rivals CS Lewis and JK Rowling

    At first i thought that this was just going to be one of those regular old average fantasy books. I was wrong. This book is rich in detail and once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. Its style and authenticity grabbed me head first and plunged me into a world that was truly an adventure. cornish is a master of suspence and kept me on the edge of my chair the whole time. This series rivals the work of JK Rowling and CS Lewis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    So very different!

    This book was like no other book I have beheld in my life. It was very entertaining and something new happened on each page. It was quite magical the way it was written and the creatures that were portrayed as well. This book was so very unique and I appreciated this because there are so many books today that are just the same ole', same ole'. This book will not dissapoint you and I cant wait to for the next one. I also heard this book might be made into a movie, so I hope if it does it will live up to the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2