Customer Reviews for

Four: The Transfer: A Divergent Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we

Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we have to wait until OCTOBER for the last book in the series and while I really love the idea of having little novellas about Four ... it makes the wait for Allegiant so much worse!!

I hated to love this li...
Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we have to wait until OCTOBER for the last book in the series and while I really love the idea of having little novellas about Four ... it makes the wait for Allegiant so much worse!!

I hated to love this little book. I really did. Not because it was bad or anything but because it was absolutely heartbreaking. In Divergent, you fall in love with this strong and powerful man who is in control of everything around him. In The Transfer, all I could see was a broken little boy that I wanted to help and protect. It really gives you some amazing insight into the depths of who Four actually is.

I really can't say much more because it was only a handful of pages long and I don't want to ruin it!

I can tell you this much, it made me feel like a gluttonous hefty lady standing on a mountain of Zebra Cake wrappers waving her hands in the air while screaming "GIVE ME MORE!!" ...

I. Want. More. Four.

posted by LilMissBookmark on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

DAUNTLESS

WHO WANTS SOME DAUNTLESS CAKE???? Everyone, September 24 is DAUNTLESS day! Wear all BLACK and be BRAVE all day! Spread the word!!!

posted by 1372731 on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we

    Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we have to wait until OCTOBER for the last book in the series and while I really love the idea of having little novellas about Four ... it makes the wait for Allegiant so much worse!!

    I hated to love this little book. I really did. Not because it was bad or anything but because it was absolutely heartbreaking. In Divergent, you fall in love with this strong and powerful man who is in control of everything around him. In The Transfer, all I could see was a broken little boy that I wanted to help and protect. It really gives you some amazing insight into the depths of who Four actually is.

    I really can't say much more because it was only a handful of pages long and I don't want to ruin it!

    I can tell you this much, it made me feel like a gluttonous hefty lady standing on a mountain of Zebra Cake wrappers waving her hands in the air while screaming "GIVE ME MORE!!" ...

    I. Want. More. Four.

    105 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    FOUR. That is all. If I didn't already LURVE ME SOME TOBIAS EAT

    FOUR. That is all.

    If I didn't already LURVE ME SOME TOBIAS EATON, THE TRANSFER would have sealed the deal for me!

    What I Loved: Everything you ever wanted to know about how FOUR ended up at the Dauntless compound and who gave him his name. This is a short read, topping out at 30 pages but is the first in a series of four novellas set to roll out over the next few months. Four in total and all from FOUR's POV. I AM READY!

    We got a glimpse of FOUR's backstory in DIVERGENT when he leads Tris through his own fearscape, but it is an entirely different (and at times, heartbreaking) experience to see it through his eyes. Can I just say, Marcus Eaton better be glad it was Tris he ran into in the books and not me, FOR REASONS. (Being allowed to live to see another day, reasons.)

    What Left Me Wanting More: GIVE ME ALL THE FOUR NOW PLEASE!

    Final Verdict: FOURIFIC addition to the DIVERGENT Trilogy.

    35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    So excited

    I am thrilled to see that Veronica Roth has started to write more short stories from the perspective of Tobias! I cannot wait until September 3!

    34 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Love Roth!

    I read Divergent and Insurgent when they first came out, and have been waiting for this to come out ever since Roth announced it. So happy we get a taste of Tobias/ Four's POV! Now if Suzanne Collins can do this with Peeta's POV....

    23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great story but misleading on the lenth

    Gets five stars on the writing. The story is well written and is a good accompament to the series not just some fluff piece to make more money. However, b&n website said book length was 50 pages and on my nook with publisher default settings on it is only 35 pages and the story starts on page 4

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    To love roth

    I totally agree with you about the " suzanne should do it with peeta s POV

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Amazing

    I love reading from Fours point of view!!!!

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    AMAZING

    I loved it so much! Definitely worth buying! I <3 FOUR!!!!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Transfer is (chronologically) the first novella in the Diver

    The Transfer is (chronologically) the first novella in the Divergent series. It is written in Tobias &quot;Four's&quot; point of view and documents his life with his father while growing up in Abnegation and how he came to the faction the reader first meets him in while reading Divergent, #1. There are heartbreaking moments as the reader get a glimpse at young, innocent Tobias as a child who suffers his father's moods and violence. After reading Free Four: Tobias Tells the Story, I wasn't eager to read additional novellas in this series because I felt it just didn't add much. However, The Transfer was excellent! The reader meets Tobias' instructor during his initiation: Amar, and also witness's Tobias receive his name: Four. I would highly recommend this short story to fans of the Divergent series!

    Note: This is the first in a collection of novella's written in Four's perspective. The collection is titled Four: A Divergent Story Collection.
    The Transfer (Divergent, #0.1)
    The Initiate: A Divergent Story (Divergent, #0.2)
    The Son: A Divergent Story (Divergent, #0.3)
    The Traitor: A Divergent Story (Divergent, #0.4)

    Favorite Quotes:
    “You're the one who has to live with your choice, everyone else will get over it, move on, no matter what you decide. But you never will.” - Tori

    “Don’t worry about me handling the pain,&quot; I say. &quot;I’ve had a lot of practice.” - Tobias

    “My name is Four,” I say. “Call me ‘Stiff’ again and you and I will have a problem.” - Tobias

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Expensive short story

    I knew this was a short story, but I expected more than 35 pages for what I paid. I wish there had been more, but it was nice to learn the details of how Four became Four. Decent read.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    Okay, so I didn't love it. The Transfer, a short story by Veroni

    Okay, so I didn't love it. The Transfer, a short story by Veronica Roth, promised to be a look inside Four's head. We'd find out more of his back story, relationships, and more facets to his personality. It delivered what it promised, but without that little something more I was expecting. I was expecting to see the softer side of him, the random glimpses of kindness that we saw through Tris's eyes.

    We already knew most of what was in The Transfer. There were no stunning revelations. I assumed, and perhaps wrongly so, that during his two years in Dauntless, he became harder in the same way that Tris did. Because Four received Abnegation in his aptitude test, I figured he was more Abnegation through and through. But I didn't see that side of him. I saw anger, hatred and fear as well as strength and resolve, but 16-year old Four was less sympathetic than I was hoping.

    Don't get me wrong, I have plenty of sympathy for a child who is routinely beaten by his father and abandoned by his mother, but the boy who would rather die than let the girl he loves be executed seemed to be missing. 

    There are three more short stories to be released, so it's entirely possible that he began to show more vulnerability after his initiation. I hope so. One of the things I find so compelling about him is that he is tough as nails, serious, not particularly kind, but he is Abnegation and the glimpses of selflessness that he lets show, like the thin line of skin above his belt when he lifts his hand to dry his hair, is what makes him real. I hope we get to see some of that in the next three books.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Great Short Story

    After reading Free Four I had no idea what to expect. This short story is by far on par with the quality of her other books! Great story that included and amazing amount of explication on Four's behalf. I totally recommend this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Mildly interesting from Four's POV

    *very mild spoilers*

    I'd rate this as slightly over 3 stars.

    The thing is there's nothing about the story that's surprising as pretty much all of it we know, and so it's hard to really find any kind of anticipation, at least for me. Sometimes the storyline feels forced since we do know about him already.

    However, it's still about Four, a most beloved character, and when and how exactly he transitions from Abnegation to Dauntless, was interesting. I like that you see a little more about his relationship with his father, which I think could've probably been addressed just a bit more.

    I do hope there's more about the other characters, though, in the future novellas. I'd like to know about the ones we don't have much of a backstory on, like Eric, and even Tori, as well.

    How he got his name is addressed, but even though I thought it was interesting when I first read it, when I think about it, I think it could've been been... more.

    Maybe I'm being too harsh about it. It is just a novella. I'd still recommend it if you like the Divergent stories.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Wow!

    This was amazing!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    AWESOME

    This book was probably the best book i ever red

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great!!!

    Cant wait until the other three come out.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Huh

    Is this the divergent book in fours point of view or just when he was a initiate should i get it???

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    loved being able to hear more about this story!!

    loved being able to hear more about this story!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    :)

    omg can't wait for the others to come out

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Must for divergent fans

    Must for divergent fans

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14