BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Four: The Transfer: A Divergent Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we

Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we have to wait until OCTOBER for the last book in the series and while I really love the idea of having little novellas about Four ... it makes the wait for Allegiant so much worse!!

I hated to love this li...
Oh, Veronica Roth. She just twists that knife. She knows that we have to wait until OCTOBER for the last book in the series and while I really love the idea of having little novellas about Four ... it makes the wait for Allegiant so much worse!!

I hated to love this little book. I really did. Not because it was bad or anything but because it was absolutely heartbreaking. In Divergent, you fall in love with this strong and powerful man who is in control of everything around him. In The Transfer, all I could see was a broken little boy that I wanted to help and protect. It really gives you some amazing insight into the depths of who Four actually is.

I really can't say much more because it was only a handful of pages long and I don't want to ruin it!

I can tell you this much, it made me feel like a gluttonous hefty lady standing on a mountain of Zebra Cake wrappers waving her hands in the air while screaming "GIVE ME MORE!!" ...

I. Want. More. Four.

posted by LilMissBookmark on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

DAUNTLESS

WHO WANTS SOME DAUNTLESS CAKE???? Everyone, September 24 is DAUNTLESS day! Wear all BLACK and be BRAVE all day! Spread the word!!!

posted by 1372731 on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Expensive short story

    I knew this was a short story, but I expected more than 35 pages for what I paid. I wish there had been more, but it was nice to learn the details of how Four became Four. Decent read.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    Okay, so I didn't love it. The Transfer, a short story by Veroni

    Okay, so I didn't love it. The Transfer, a short story by Veronica Roth, promised to be a look inside Four's head. We'd find out more of his back story, relationships, and more facets to his personality. It delivered what it promised, but without that little something more I was expecting. I was expecting to see the softer side of him, the random glimpses of kindness that we saw through Tris's eyes.

    We already knew most of what was in The Transfer. There were no stunning revelations. I assumed, and perhaps wrongly so, that during his two years in Dauntless, he became harder in the same way that Tris did. Because Four received Abnegation in his aptitude test, I figured he was more Abnegation through and through. But I didn't see that side of him. I saw anger, hatred and fear as well as strength and resolve, but 16-year old Four was less sympathetic than I was hoping.

    Don't get me wrong, I have plenty of sympathy for a child who is routinely beaten by his father and abandoned by his mother, but the boy who would rather die than let the girl he loves be executed seemed to be missing. 

    There are three more short stories to be released, so it's entirely possible that he began to show more vulnerability after his initiation. I hope so. One of the things I find so compelling about him is that he is tough as nails, serious, not particularly kind, but he is Abnegation and the glimpses of selflessness that he lets show, like the thin line of skin above his belt when he lifts his hand to dry his hair, is what makes him real. I hope we get to see some of that in the next three books.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Mildly interesting from Four's POV

    *very mild spoilers*

    I'd rate this as slightly over 3 stars.

    The thing is there's nothing about the story that's surprising as pretty much all of it we know, and so it's hard to really find any kind of anticipation, at least for me. Sometimes the storyline feels forced since we do know about him already.

    However, it's still about Four, a most beloved character, and when and how exactly he transitions from Abnegation to Dauntless, was interesting. I like that you see a little more about his relationship with his father, which I think could've probably been addressed just a bit more.

    I do hope there's more about the other characters, though, in the future novellas. I'd like to know about the ones we don't have much of a backstory on, like Eric, and even Tori, as well.

    How he got his name is addressed, but even though I thought it was interesting when I first read it, when I think about it, I think it could've been been... more.

    Maybe I'm being too harsh about it. It is just a novella. I'd still recommend it if you like the Divergent stories.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Huh

    Is this the divergent book in fours point of view or just when he was a initiate should i get it???

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    An interesting "short" story

    It was an exciting story but it would be better if it were more than 35 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Warm

    This short story was a relief from the third book of the Divergent series.
    Also in the Divergent series, it keeps the read entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    It wa great

    This book was awesomm. I hate the ending of allegiant. I loved tris from the very beginning. Verinica did a very bad job wih that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Amazing book!!! But it had a very sad ending.

    Amazing book!!! But it had a very sad ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Good quick read!

    I've been enjoying the series so far and feel this just adds to the richness of the story line. I recommend for avid fans of Four!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    A nice little short story. If you can find it for free on your l

    A nice little short story. If you can find it for free on your library's online source, I would suggest it. I wouldn't have bought it if I had to have paid for it, but I did really enjoy Transfer.
    It's the best of Four's short stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Random Person

    Anonymous, give us one rate! It's anoying you know. Also tell us something helpful please..... Sorry, no offense. Well the story was good I guess but I think it should be longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Excellent Supplement

    This is a good read, POST Divergent (#1) and prior to Insurgent (#2).

    I like that Ms. Roth released the short story about Four. It helps provide a little more insight on the relationship between both his father and his mother and essentially tells us what drives him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    READ THIS!!!!

    Kiss ur hand 3 times, post this in 3 other books, then look under ur pillow!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Now

    Test

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Pretty good

    A good insight into how Four became Dauntless. Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2