Customer Reviews for

Four Blondes

Average Rating 2.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What is everyone talking about?

I actually hate the show Sex and the City, and I figured I would not like her books as well. I was completely wrong, I loved this book, espically the first story. I thought it was very cleaver and I couldn't put it down.

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A disappointment

I love reading light "chick lit" during the summer. That's what I was looking for and instead found a vulgur excuse for a compilation of 4 short stories. I'm one of those people who cannot NOT finish a book, so now that I've started I must finish it but it's taking fore...
I love reading light "chick lit" during the summer. That's what I was looking for and instead found a vulgur excuse for a compilation of 4 short stories. I'm one of those people who cannot NOT finish a book, so now that I've started I must finish it but it's taking forever. The characters are the type of people that you try to forget actually exist in real life b/c they're basically evil and selfish.

It's not entertaining. It's not interesting. It's not even well written.

posted by 7294315 on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    A disappointment

    I love reading light "chick lit" during the summer. That's what I was looking for and instead found a vulgur excuse for a compilation of 4 short stories. I'm one of those people who cannot NOT finish a book, so now that I've started I must finish it but it's taking forever. The characters are the type of people that you try to forget actually exist in real life b/c they're basically evil and selfish.

    It's not entertaining. It's not interesting. It's not even well written.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Couldn't Wait For it to end.

    Im usually a big fan of Candace but 4blondes was nothing like her others. I really just couldnt get a good flow for it. There are 4 different stories that never really connect or seem to have a meaning.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Not what I thought

    I should have read reviews before purchasing. I read the first section and then put it down. Even the first section was just ok.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wasn't Impressed

    I love Sex and the City. I love One Fifth. I hated this book. I'm still a huge Candace Bushnell fan, but this book just wasn't fun to read. The characters are forgettable and I the only reason I finished the book was because I'm too nosey not to finish what I start.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Major disappointment unfortunately

    Major disappointment unfortunately

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Blah

    Not what I expected. Stories were random, with no real resolution or plot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Expected More from Bushnell

    I was really looking for a follow up to Sex and the City. The format was annoying - four disconnected stories. I didn't even finish the fourth. The characters weren't interesting and their was no plot. See my recommendations if you need a SATC fix.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    Don't waste your money

    If I could have given this book 0 stars I would have, but the lowest rating available is 1 star. Crass, vulgar, poor taste... her 'blondes' are vapid and self absorbed, not witty and clever like the SATC women. Save your money and buy a book that is more worthwhile to read. Like something by Sophie Kinsella

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    Low Class

    I read the book thinking that I would have fun reading it. However, what I found was extremely the opposite. How can a writer be so low-class and vulgar? I was surprised to see that her book was on New York's bestseller list. Reading this book is like watching a porn movie, and I speak of myself when I say reading such profanity and watching filth is not my style. I do not recommend this book to anyone. It's a shame to waste money on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Bad times

    I loooved Trading Up, but found myself loathing 4 Blondes. I picked it up as a beach time read, but found it much too dull. There was no part of the story that even managed to make any sort of sense. The way she switched perspectives was dizzying and unneccesary. The characters were almost absolute separate entities and it leads me to wonder why these four characters were joined under one cover. I made it through the book in two days on because I knew if I stopped I would NEVER pick it up again. It was a complete and utter disappointment. It has turned me off of Candace Bushnell books completely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Terrible book - not at all funny

    This book is seriously pathetic. After loving Sex and the City, just like other readers, I figured I would find this funny and entertaining. There is a lot of sexual content that is written in an extremely vulgar way. I don't think an author needs to be so explicit to make her point, especially if it's a novel. I can't express enough how much I think this book was horrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Yuck

    After loving Sex and the City on HBO, I thought I'd try one of Bushnell's books. I hated it, couldn't even finish it after 2 different attempts to read it. I read the stories about the first 2 blondes. What sad, pathetic lives they lead, completing unamussing and unrelatable. The biggest thing I found missing that I love from the tv series - humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Shallow!

    This was one of the worst books I have ever read. Not only was it boring, but the characters were those that nobody could relate to, nor would they want to. The main characters throughout this book were shallow, self-centered, spoiled women that were to be perceived as glamorous. The author portrayed this as acceptable behavior and even something that other women should strive for. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    One star is really too high.

    This book is tedious and filled with with one-dimensional characters. I generally pass books on to friends or the used book store after I finish them, but the only appropriate place for this - in my opinion -was the trash can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    DO NOT buy this book!

    This book was horribly written, especially the 3rd and 4th parts of the book. I felt all the stories unorganized and lacking the 'hook' that you need to make a book interesting. I thought I would enjoy this book because I liked 'Trading Up' by Candice Bushnell, but boy was I wrong! Spend your money on 'Trading Up,' NOT on this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Not Worth the Time

    Pretty bad stories and writing. How did such a hit like 'Sex and the City' come from such an awful writer? Thank goodness HBO had the smarts to hire excellent writers for the show, because the book was just downright dumb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Sucked

    God. This book was sooo bad. I only gave it one star b/c the system made me give it any stars. I thought b/c Sex and the City was such a hit, this would have been just as good. I thought I was going into a coma trying to finish it thinking it would get better. What a waste. I can't believe it's a Bushnell book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Waste of Time

    I can honestly say that this book was the worst I've ever read. After about 10 pages through, I realized I had made a huge mistake in purchasing. I wouldn't recommend this book to my worst enemy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    Ick

    I was disappointed...No plot...there was nothing about the 4 blondes that made me feel for them. Jacket states that these women are at crossroads in their life - redefining them ... I never read how their lives had changed. and why does everyone have to be on drugs? We all know life is not perfect, hence why we read to escape from our reality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Sex In The City Gone Bad

    This book was a huge let down - like most have already said. I thought it was going to be similar to or as great as Sex In The City. Unfortunately, these 4 girls' experiences didn't even hold a candle to the escapades of Carrie, Charlotte, Miranda & Samantha. I was suprised that I read the whole thing through - I guess I was hoping for the Bushnell pizazz & excitement that never came.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3