Customer Reviews for

The Four Corners of the Sky

Average Rating 3.5
( 1288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(344)

4 Star

(375)

3 Star

(285)

2 Star

(150)

1 Star

(134)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A good read ...

This was the first book by Malone I've read. And though I enjoyed his writing style and the general premise of this story, I thought it was, at times, too long winded and repetitive.

There were plenty of plot twists, and some nice surprises, and the characters were ...
This was the first book by Malone I've read. And though I enjoyed his writing style and the general premise of this story, I thought it was, at times, too long winded and repetitive.

There were plenty of plot twists, and some nice surprises, and the characters were offbeat -- mostly in a good way. The story flipped and flopped and meandered from past to present, but once I got the hang of Malone's writing, I was able to handle the zigs and zags in timeline. I do feel the book could have done with a solid edit before being published, but I liked it nonetheless.

posted by book_book on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quirky characters, interesting story but long read

A lot of flashbacks and repetition in this story of rather odd family dynamics. The detail put into the characters was perhaps overdone though the individual quirks and motivation made them believable. The story itself was unique and interesting but this is not an eas...
A lot of flashbacks and repetition in this story of rather odd family dynamics. The detail put into the characters was perhaps overdone though the individual quirks and motivation made them believable. The story itself was unique and interesting but this is not an easy read with the way the author bounces between past and present. While much of the flashbacks tie back into the story, it was tedious at times. Ultimately, a good story with interesting characters. Could have used a bit more editing.

posted by Praetor on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    First and last time to read this author

    Plot somewhat clever, but character development tedious and cliched.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    This book could have had at least 150 pages edited out of it. Th

    This book could have had at least 150 pages edited out of it. There are whole chunks of extraneous content that does nothing to serve the story or shed light on a character. I am intrigued by the story, but it's a slog to get through. There are books that are long that don't seem it. This one is long and it feels even longer. I wouldn't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Pass

    It was slow and drawn out for my taste. It took me several attempts to even finish it. I frequently wanted to knock some sense into the main character. For someone who is supposed to be elite and smart she is certainly lacking in common sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    It's surprising how many readers think like me!!!

    I was really surprised how many readers thought this book was too long. Because that's the way I felt. Although I normally love Michael Malone's writing, I found myself reading ahead and skipping through paragraphs---and that's not normal for me if I'm enjoying a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Blah

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Too much

    Story started off well, but quickly crashed and burned. The story line was all over the place for too many main characters. It was definitely a mystery/romance/suspense type if story, but the plot was to choppy and hard to follow. Was also far to wordy. Did not need to be a 400 pg book. Would not recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite

    Too wordy & drawn out. Could have been 200 pages shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    Disappointing

    This book had a really interesting story line, intriguing characters that I genuinely liked but the book really never took off for me. I'm actually wondering if it was actually written by at least one other author and just published under Malone's name. It's so uneven it reminds me of a rollercoaster ride.

    There were several big suspense filled events in the story that really left me feeling annoyed. The author does a good job of bringing you right to the edge and then drops you cold in the next chapter. The character never experiences the event, the reader is only informed by conversations of throw-away observer characters. It left me feeling flat and robbed of the experience I was being led to.

    There is a great deal of repetition in the descriptions used,too many instances of "she said" conversations. I really wanted to like this book but it just isn't worth the time. This is the first book I've read by Malone. I won't read another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Ok story that needs some editing

    The writer writes well enough but has a tendency to over describe and add unnecessary information that stalls the plot rather than moves it forward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Yawn

    I have tried to read this but it appears to be several stories about different people all at the same time. If he had just followed the main character the book would have been 200 pages shorter and much more entertaining. I finally put on the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    I like details but far too many!

    I got to page 113 and gave up. All this backstory but no forward movement. free friday offer that was a good efgort but ill never finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Too many words for too light of a plot

    Though I was impressed with the author's background, I believe this particular book he authored fell short of his works. There were constant references to movies, etc. throughout this work of fiction and I, for one, found it to be very distracting and in many places, unrelated or forced into the narrative at different points in time.

    Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Too long

    If a lot of the flashbacks were cut out this might be an enjoyable book. We may never know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    if you have a long time to read, then read this

    if he would have 20 chapters instead of 50 it would have been better. I didn't have to know all of the details of the Cubans family or a lot of other details about lots of other things for goodness sake. I liked Annie, i really liked her dad, Clarke and Sam were amazing. I loved loved loved Clarke's use of puns and the love he has for Annie. I was so intriqued to find out who Annie's mother was in fact that is what kept me reading those treacherous 30 unneeded chapters at the end. Linking the four corners of the puzzle to the story was brillant. It was JUST TOO LONG!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Don't recommend

    This book drags you thru lots of needless stuff that does not help the plot. This book could be alot shorter and still tell the same story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Snooze

    Probably would have made a good movie, but waaaay too long! Could have easily been abridged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Hmmmm

    Too many details. The author explains the main character's past over and over again. I got it the first time. This book could have been at least a hundred pages shorter. At least it was free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Couldn't make it to the finish line

    As I read the first 100 pages two things became clear. 1. The writer is talented. 2. The book is boring. It's a personal thing of course, but I like more dialogue and less description. I found some explanations or descriptions went on way too long and I just lost interest. Like I said, the author has talent, this was just not my style. I abandoned the book at page 100, and I rarely do that. If you like a quick pace, or action type novel, this is not for you. If you like Oprah's book club, you may have found a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Free was the right price

    The story was drawn out way too much with past / present jumping, and some of the situations were pretty out there. The characters were likable, and overall it was just okay for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Could not wait to be finished!

    I thought the back and forth jumping from past to present was a little dizzing. The book definately has parts you will want to just skip over. The writer has potential but this book was mostly a waste of time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8