Customer Reviews for

The Four Corners of the Sky

Average Rating 3.5
( 1288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(344)

4 Star

(375)

3 Star

(285)

2 Star

(150)

1 Star

(134)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A good read ...

This was the first book by Malone I've read. And though I enjoyed his writing style and the general premise of this story, I thought it was, at times, too long winded and repetitive.

There were plenty of plot twists, and some nice surprises, and the characters were ...
This was the first book by Malone I've read. And though I enjoyed his writing style and the general premise of this story, I thought it was, at times, too long winded and repetitive.

There were plenty of plot twists, and some nice surprises, and the characters were offbeat -- mostly in a good way. The story flipped and flopped and meandered from past to present, but once I got the hang of Malone's writing, I was able to handle the zigs and zags in timeline. I do feel the book could have done with a solid edit before being published, but I liked it nonetheless.

posted by book_book on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quirky characters, interesting story but long read

A lot of flashbacks and repetition in this story of rather odd family dynamics. The detail put into the characters was perhaps overdone though the individual quirks and motivation made them believable. The story itself was unique and interesting but this is not an eas...
A lot of flashbacks and repetition in this story of rather odd family dynamics. The detail put into the characters was perhaps overdone though the individual quirks and motivation made them believable. The story itself was unique and interesting but this is not an easy read with the way the author bounces between past and present. While much of the flashbacks tie back into the story, it was tedious at times. Ultimately, a good story with interesting characters. Could have used a bit more editing.

posted by Praetor on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky characters, interesting story but long read

    A lot of flashbacks and repetition in this story of rather odd family dynamics. The detail put into the characters was perhaps overdone though the individual quirks and motivation made them believable. The story itself was unique and interesting but this is not an easy read with the way the author bounces between past and present. While much of the flashbacks tie back into the story, it was tedious at times. Ultimately, a good story with interesting characters. Could have used a bit more editing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Wordy and long

    This book came as a free selection so I read it. While I found the story interesting enough and fairly well written, it's, in my opinion, just a middle of the road story. I am glad it's not one I paid for because it's just not good enough to plunk money down for. I found this book overly wordy and if I wasn't already so invested in it I would have stopped reading after 300 pages. The ending was also extremely drawn out. Malone should of ended the book about 100 pages before he actually did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Sloooooow Going, But Good

    I like this book, but it is very slow going. I usually can read a book in a couple of days, but I just hit page 100 (out of over 400!) on this one!

    The imagery in this book is great, but a little repetitive.

    All around, I'd recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    enjoyable

    This book would make a nice movie. A young girl abandoned by her father who passed along his obsession with flying at a time when women were not commonly pilots. Some events don't seem plausible, but good story overall

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Already FREE

    Why put this on the "Friday's Free Book" when it has been free for weeks. ui loaded about a month ago. Let's try to have a free book that is not already on the list.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Ok

    An ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Good

    Enjoyed Last Noel much more. Ending seemed rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Long Read

    I was constantly waiting for something with this book. It took me a while to read. It usually only takes me a week or two to get through a book and I was taking many breaks from this one a really faught to finish. 3 might be generous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Enjoyed this book

    I enjoyed this book although it did tend to drag in the middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    good- but long!

    It was a book I read but didn't get much from. One of those books I finish just to say I finished it. It drags on too long. It's an interesting story, but I wish the end was more exciting and less long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Okay Book

    I found myself bored at times, with certain parts. Otherwise it was put together pretty well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Don't recommend

    It was too long. The story could have been said in half the number of pages which made the story boring. The story line was too repetitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    A Long Way In

    For a free read, I can't complain. The storyline took z,a ehile to develop and I had to fight the urge to flip through 40 pages knowing I would still be able to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Good story, but.....

    too long and drawn out. Got you into the lives of the characters and then left you hanging. I hate it when the author gives you a big long drawn out set up and then wraps the whole thing up in a chapter or two. The length of the book (500 pages) didn't bother me, I just wish 150 of those would have been removed from the beginning and put at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Enjoyable, light read

    I did enjoy Four Corners of the Sky. It was enjoyable. The characters were fun and interesting. The language was way over the top. To the point that i almost stopped reading it because it was so offensive. It was a fun light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    High Recommend

    This is the first time I have ever read anything from Malone. I'm glad I did. This was a great book about family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Decent but drags

    Four Corners of the Sky has interesting characters, a complex and creative plot, but it is bogged down by it's pacing and language. I read the whole thing but it was definitely not a "can't put it down" kind of book. It might appeal more to big fans of the military or those fascinated by complex plots (a la The Sting), but I would not recommend it to the average reader. Too much time investment for too little pay off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    was hard to pick up

    just get to it!!! i have been on the same night for 100s of pages already!!!! drags too much. this will be the first time i move on without finishing and probably will delete from library. i like the story but i am so tired of wondering when, when will she get to the bottom of the mess with her dad!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Great story but repetitive

    I particularly like the story with its complex elements. The combination of family dysfunction, historical mystery, crime story and romance makes for compelling reading. Of course Malone is better at some of these than others. While I don't mind a 500 page book, there seemed to be parts that could have been left out. Quite often dialogues repeat material covered elsewhere, and some historical detail did not real enhance elements of plot or character. The book really gets going at p. 150. Nonetheless a cast of compelling characters that a reader can love. Annie seems desirable figure that you want to materialize in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Good Easy Read

    I enjoyed this as a light easy read. I enjoyed it alot. Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15