BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Four Days to Glory: Wrestling with the Soul of the American Heartland

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Great read

    this book definitely brings out the lifestyle of a wrestler and his/her family

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    A great novel to read if you are interested in wrestling.

    I truly enjoyed reading Four Days to Glory. It is an enlightening source of entertainment and first hand knowledge on the subject. The book keeps your interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brutality honest look at wrestling in Middle America

    The author takes an honest look at high school wrestling in the wrestling crazed stae of Iowa and how the personal goals of two high school grapplers attempt to become "four timers" winning four state titles in a row . The author gives a lot of insight into how the young men deal with family pressure , community backing, emotional baggage and depression. Overall, I found this book very enlighting and raw and real because I used to be a wrestler in both high school and college and now I am teaching the sport. This book is equal to Buzz Bissinger's Friday Night Lights!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    One of the Greatest Sports Books Ever

    Every real athlete vying for greatness understands the agony of defeat, the pain of training and the few glorious moments of victory. Kreidler offers an in depth viewing of not only one, but two, of Iowa's high school wrestling gods, Dan LeClere and Jay Borschel, as they leave everything on the mat to win four consecutive state titles. Kreidler's point of view is comparable to Bissinger's Friday Night Lights and carries just as much drama. The book follows both athletes not only in their respective gyms and matches, but also into their family and personal lives. The stress and emotion roused by the sport because of its intensity in Iowa is exposed and the book shows the raw effects of the parental and societal pressure found surrounding the sport. The book follows the trials and tribulations of two very different young adults, both of whom merely share a passion and a talent for wrestling. Both are three time state champions in the beginning, yet are both vying for a fourth title. Winning four titles is considered legendary in Iowa high school wrestling. For one of the boys, Jay Borschel, the stakes are even higher as Jay, a motivated and driven young man, attempts to win a fourth title after moving up a weight class every year. That type of movement among the ranks stirs doubts among the people of the state, which only further fuels the fire within Jay. For the other young man, Dan, the fourth title is more what his father and his town wishes for, than for himself. Dan is Doug LeClere's hope for glory for the LeClere family after Dan's older brother quits the sport, a sacreligious act in the eyes of Doug LeClere. Dan hopes to use the final and definitive win as a gateway to bigger and better things in life. This book is a MUST READ for any current or former athlete who once dreamed of glory. Kreidler's portrayal of Dan and Jay's trek makes you laugh out loud, grit your teeth in frustration and yell in jubilation throughout the book. Kreidler's skill as an author is unquestionable as his writing lays down an understandable storyline of complex emotions and times in an intense sport in an even more intense atmosphere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Must Read!

    If you haven't wrestled, you will find this book interesting because it is about kids growing up and parents and coaches watching it happen. If you have wrestled, don't make any other plans. It is impossible to put down. Mr. Kreidler's writing pulls you from page to page. This book is such an accurate portrayl of the trials and tribulations (and lack thereof) that wrestlers know so well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    this is an amazing book especially if you have wrestled at some point in your life time. it really can hold your attention. i can honestly say this because i am not a big reader and have a hard time paying attention but this book really did it for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    It was a good book

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    4 days to glory

    The author of "Four Days to Glory" writes of the struggle and endurance of Jay Borschel and Dan LeClere. Both are senior boys who live a rural life yet look to win their consecutive fourth win at state champions; a triumph only fourteen other Iowans had accomplished. Given the boys luck, nerves, injuries and adolescent bodies, this was a nearly impossible achievement. LeClere and Borschel embrace on a journey "right on through hell, an extended stay replete with wind sprints and projectile vomiting and blood and contortionist acts and stinging, salty sweat."
    The "four timers" are an elite group of high school wrestlers who win four consecutive state championships. There are many people who doubt Jay Borschel yet he feeds off of criticism and doubt. A fourth time victory would mean justification that his doubting peers will have been wrong. For Dan on the other hand, the dreams of his stern father and the burdens he carriers from his diminutive farming community, a win is only a necessary outcome.
    Many of the details from the novel are quite familiar to me as I have been wrestling since I was young. The way which the author, Mark Kreidler, creates clear images of the wrestling room, the mentality of the wrestlers and the matches they took part in all were vivid seemed natural to me. Both Jay and Dan have different mentalities to overcoming their triumphs compared to the rest of the team. They both appeared to have difficulty in finding quality sparring partner which I have found to be a challenge for myself. There were countless aspects in Kreidler's writings that I could relate to which made the novel even more inspiring and touching.
    For me, the most interesting part of the book was Jay's and Dan's family lives. Their lives outside of school completely affected their performance as wrestlers. I have never been able to relate to such characters so easily and can understand how their family life does take a toll on their wrestling. Yet, back on the matt the boys dealt with the issues wrestling brought upon their bodies such as a stunted growth due to weight loss and cauliflower ear. As I take wrestling to heart, I appreciated Kreidler's attention in his writing to the effects which wrestling can have on one's life. Cutting weight has always been a difficulty for me yet the mental and physical achievements from the sport push me to do so.
    However, Kreidler tended to have several of his facts wrong within the novel. This became an annoyance to me as I felt he did not do the research he should have in writing a wrestling book. For example, what was especially impressive from Dan's match in the championship was not that he won all of his matches, but that no one had scored against him. His careless mistakes became a distraction to me.
    Although Mark Kreidler made some mistakes within his writings, his novel was overall very relatable and kept me interested page after page. It was refreshing to find a book which I could compare my own sport life to and the effects it has on the wrestler. As I am extremely passionate about my wrestling, I found that Dan and Jay's journey on the way to a state championship became an inspiration to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1