Customer Reviews for

Four Feet Tall and Rising: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining and inspiring

I love Pit Boss and was excited to get my hands on this book. It certainly didnt disappoint! Its so well written that it feels like Shorty is talking directly to the reader and it's more inspiring than I thought possible. I couldnt put it down and finished it in less t...
I love Pit Boss and was excited to get my hands on this book. It certainly didnt disappoint! Its so well written that it feels like Shorty is talking directly to the reader and it's more inspiring than I thought possible. I couldnt put it down and finished it in less than 24 hrs. A must read for any fan of Pit Boss, any one who loves dogs (no matter what the breed), and anyone who just plain loves a good old pull-yourself-up-by-the-bootstraps type of story. Keep up the great work, Shorty!

posted by AuroraDora on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just finish the book.

This is a good book if you like tje show. You will learn alot bout him n what hehad to go through in his life.

posted by krazyangel on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Entertaining and inspiring

    I love Pit Boss and was excited to get my hands on this book. It certainly didnt disappoint! Its so well written that it feels like Shorty is talking directly to the reader and it's more inspiring than I thought possible. I couldnt put it down and finished it in less than 24 hrs. A must read for any fan of Pit Boss, any one who loves dogs (no matter what the breed), and anyone who just plain loves a good old pull-yourself-up-by-the-bootstraps type of story. Keep up the great work, Shorty!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    wow must read

    This is a great book and if you don't even watch the show you can still enjoy this book. How one person can come through so much and use it for good. Again must read but just know once you start you are not going to put this book down. Make sure you don't have any plans because you wont make them. Read in two days.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Loved It

    I'm a fan of the show and the work Shorty does. The book read exactly like he speaks, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. He's and inspiring human being.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Love it

    This book waas the best book everr

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    I love you Shorty! I have so much fun learning about you and seeing your show! I hope you see this message. You are very inspiring.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Amazing Memoir!!!

    I loved this book! I was already a fan of Shorty Rossi, but reading this gave me a new perspective on him! This is real, hardcore and heartfelt. I couldnt put my nook down.

    I have soo much respect for him and thanks for the great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Very Good

    I love the show, Pit Boss, and I admire Shorty Rossi for trying to dispell so many misconceptions about such a beautiful breed. The book is insightful and I can tell it is written from the heart. I enjoyed the book and I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I thought that Four Feet Tall and Rising by Shorty Rossi was a very good book. Bought it and finished it in one day, was the only book that I have read whole day :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Pit Bull's

    I really loved this book. Shorty is such an amazing person and such an inspiration. We have a wonderful and loving pit that saved my daughters life. I thank God she found us when she needed a home. Keep up the great work Shorty!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Janay , Atlanta.Ga

    Being an animal lover as well as doing animal rescues ,this book was so rewarding to read. This is a wonderful story and Shorty made the whole book interesting. What he does is so heart warming. I totally agree that humans are the reason this dog has gotten such a bad rap. I was bitten by a standard poodle that required a 10 day hospital stay and not one person in my subdivison said a word. God forbid it had of been a pit. Keep up the good work Shorty!!



    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Love

    I loved this book. Super fast read, but a fun and inspiring book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    A+ BOOK!!

    Love Shorty Rossi and all that he does for the Pitt Bulls. This is a great book and I loved learning more about Shorty's life and what turned him to dedicate his life to the pitt bulls! Wonderful Read!! Was finished with this big in hours... Didn't want to put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Must read

    This is a must read so glad I have it on my nook so I can read again. Not only will this give you tears it will give you laughter as well. Will not say anything other than must read. And if you are not a fan of the breed you will have a better understanding of them, but much more you will have a better understanding of shorty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great; as expected!!

    Great book. Written from the heart of the life experiences(thus far) of Shorty. I wish I could meet him at the Pet Expo in Atlanta this weekend but I have family plans. Such an amazing story of a life, not without its many challenges, and overcoming them through years in the penal system and a change of heart. Book does contain some "colorful" language but if you have seen the show Pit Boss, it won't come as a complete shock; just part of Shorty's personality; loveable and surly at the same time. I feel like I know Shorty a bit better now than I did from just watching the show previously (my newly acquired knowledge of Shorty's earlier years adds depth to my understanding of the experiences that Shorty and his co-workers/employees go through together). He has found an amazing purpose in life and that surely is a tremendous thing. I wish he and his dogs all of the best on their journey together in life. Thanks Shorty for sharing!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Christopher Ryan

    I am the hugest fan of pit boss. I am so happy that he rescues pit bulls. I hope that he does this for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Well-Written and Entertaining, but...

    I felt too much time was devoted to Shorty's time in prison, and not enough about his business and rescue. Ashley, Ron, and Seb were hardly mentioned.

    I think this book will mainly interest fans of the show, or possibly people that can relate to his time in prison. Fortunately, I just fall into the first category!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    VEry well done biography.

    Shorty was very open. even though he did some pretty bad things, he was honest and told his story very well. When telling what he did, he also didn't brag. He truly was telling all to help other not do the same things, and to help the Pit Bulls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Highly Recommend if you are a Shorty fan

    I am a Shorty fan. I enjoy his television program and his beautiful dogs. The book helps you to under stand Shorty and answers a lot of questions that I have had.
    Just a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great book

    I recommend to anyone who is a Pitt Boss fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Just finish the book.

    This is a good book if you like tje show. You will learn alot bout him n what hehad to go through in his life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4