Customer Reviews for

Four Trials

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Personal and effective

    If you want to know what makes John Edwards tick this is a must read. Takes you to the very heart of the man. Must read if you're a supporter or just want to learn more about the candidate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    Read This Book and You'll Understand John Edwards Better

    This is a great book. Very easy to read. What's more, it gives you an excellent perspective of how trial lawyers like John Edwards help people. It was very moving. I highly recommend this book to everyone because John Edwards could become our next vice president and it's important to understand his background and his motivation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    A Winner!

    I have been following Senator John Edwards' meteoric rise for some time now and was rooting for him during the Democratic primaries. When Senator Kerry picked him as his running mate, I was very pleased. But beyond being a wonderfully talented politician, Mr. Edwards is an extremely intelligent, empathetic man who relates four trials from the many he prosecuted in his career as a trial lawyer in North Carolina. His writing style is folksy and easy to read. His stories contain much human drama. You will chuckle and you will cry when you read this excellent book. You won't be able to put it down and like me, will probably read it from cover to cover in one spellbinding session!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Wonderful

    I liked John Edwards and decided to read his book. It has four wonderful stories and lets you know what kind of man John Edwards is. Never boring and a read for anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Edwards defends America from incompetence and indifference

    In this book, Senator John Edwards presents four court cases in which he represented clients who had been done grievous wrongs through the incompetence or indifference of others. The stories are riveting - Edwards paints pictures of the victims, showing how they were just plain folks with fulfilling lives, cut short or dramatically changed for the worse through no fault of their own. In dramatic court testimony, we see that the doctors, hospitals and corporations being sued are either incompetent or just can't be bothered about the reports that their products or procedures are dangerous. Edwards tells each jury that they are not just righting a wrong for his client, but protecting future potential victims by sending a message to Corporate America: This behavior will not be tolerated and will cost you plenty. However, there is a major cost to society of huge product liability and malpractice awards - prices rise for everyone to pay for insurance and awards, companies are wary of introducing new products, doctors refuse to practice. For example, if the cost of a single jury award is greater than the total income a doctor will earn in a lifetime, then only doctors who never make mistakes can afford to practice. A fundamental weakness of Edwards' book is that he never deals with this issue. From Edwards' point of view, lawsuits protect America; any limitation on the right to sue protects corporate greed. Most issues are not good vs. evil with obvious right and wrong answers. Anyone who aspires to be President of the United States must show an understanding of the complexity of the critical issues facing America. When it comes to the right to sue, Edwards sees only one side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    i havent finished it yet but....

    I cant put it down. I'm about half way through and Its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    A Great Leader

    In his book Four Trials, Senator John Edwards of North Carolina tells the story of his legal career fighting for average American citizens versus the big corporations. The book chronicles four separate trials that shaped the opinions and beliefs of Senator John Edwards. It is not a typical campaign book, however, an entertaining and moving show of courage and determination that Senator Edwards displayed in his twenty years as a lawyer, in his career in the United States Senate, and in his campaign for President of the United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Must Read for Health Care people

    I confess to a bias, since I support Sen Edwards in his candidacy for President. However, as a health care person I found the book to be a terrific look at the perspective of victims and their lawyers. An extremely moving personal story as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1