Customer Reviews for

The Foursome: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    Entertaining and Hard to Put Down

    I actually picked this book up at a local Goodwill for a friend of mine who happens to be an avid golfer. After readng the jacket, I decided to read a few pages and then for two days couldn't put it down. I loved it. It was fun and the characters came alive in my mind and I felt like, at tmes, that I was right there on the course with them experiencing the moment. Today I purchased The Green and will buy his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    Are these comparison fair?

    There are a lot of reviews comparing this book to its predecessor, THE GREEN, which is reasonable. However, in rating it, it should be rated on its own, not relative to one other book. THE FOURSOME may not be quite the rare gem THE GREEN was, but it is still one of the best books of its kind you'll ever read, and is terrific on its own, and fully merits five stars. I'd hate to think that readers of these reviews will get a misimpression that THE FOURSOME is anything but a superb story brilliantly told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    <p>Historical novels don't necessarily appeal exclusively to history buffs, and the same can be said of novels about medicine, law, the police, politicians and any number of other genres. So why is it that sports novels appeal primarily to sports buffs? Are we awaiting only a breakthrough book so fun and powerful and profound and compulsively readable that it shifts the sad paradigm and interests the uninitiated? <p>Enter last year THE GREEN, an honest-to-God masterpiece by the pseudonymous Troon McAllister, whom by now everyone knows is in reality Lee Gruenfeld, a superb crafter of deeply intelligent and thought-provoking thrillers. And as if to prove that that remarkable novel about golf was no fluke, we are now offered THE FOURSOME, a slightly darker, more redemptive take on hustles, fakes and con artists that announces resoundingly that we have a new master in our midst. <p>Don't let 'em kid you: this is not a novel about golf. It's a novel about life, both the inner lives of unrepentant sinners and the more exterior manifestations of the grief they can cause. That McAllister manages to tell such a depressing-sounding tale within the context of an hysterically funny and spellbinding story is fulsome testament to his command of both his craft and our attention. You can read the synopsis elsewhere on this site, so I'll only tell you that THE GREEN's Eddie Caminetti, one of the most memorable characters in recent fiction, has gone from hustling for money to hustling for souls, and has lost none of his cleverness, cynicism and astonishingly deceptive honesty along the way. <p>Golf, as it turns out, provides the perfect metaphor and structure for all the crazy shenanigans that twist loopily throughout the book, and as much as you might detest the eponymous foursome in the beginning, you will come to understand them, if not necessarily like them. Best of all, in stark contrast to the kind of saccharine nonsense that passes for emotion in such twaddle as 'Touched by an Angel' and its ilk, you'll yourself lustily cheering the harshly unsentimental and therefore deeply emotional redemption that arises out of the hard-bitten -- and very funny -- pages that precede it. <p>If you're reading this, you're probably a golfer. Fine. But do those non-golfers you care about a favor and pass the FOURSOME along to them. Some good will undoubtedly come back to you from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    I love the way McAllister takes us right down to the characters' level instead of looking at them from on high; great ability to dive inside people's heads. Profound, yet still an exciting and very funny page turner. I don't know the first thing about golf but that sport is just a metaphor here - could have been lawn darts or cricket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    Every bit the equal of The Green - and that's saying something right there - but different in scope and ambition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    Terrific read

    Loved it. Highly recommended, whether you know golf or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    What a wonderful gift that McAlister didn't try to rewrite THE GREEN. This one is different and just as good, proving McAlister is a gifted writer and not a one-shot wonder. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    Very nifty, twisty story with really compelling characters and a hugely satisfying ending that draws everything together brilliantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    Never mind the golf it you don't like or understand golf - it's not really relevant, because this is a beautifully written story with richly drawn characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    Great story and characters, skillfully written. I recommend it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Excellent - read practically in one sitting

    Hate to use the cliche 'a page-turner' but it is in every respect. Haven't read The Green but ordered it as soon as I finished this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Foursome: A Novel

    I understand this is a sequel to The Green, but never having read that, I can say that The Foursome stands on its own as a terrifically exciting, suspenseful and often hilarious examination of golf, people and whatever else Troon McAllister felt like tackling. Not to be missed. (Excellent early feedback from a couple of my customers, too.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1