Customer Reviews for

The Fourth Bear (Nursery Crime Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    2nd, but not last

    This is my second Jasper Fforde novel, but it won't be my last. I loved the characters and Fforde's clever way of explaining nursery rhymes as crimes. I think I would have found it even funnier if I had recognized the allusions to the more obscure Nursery Rhymes. Guess I'm going to have to get a book of them. "The Bumper Book of Berkshire Records, 2004 Edition" excerpts were delightfully hilarious. I'm waiting for the book to show up in the U.S....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Fun, Whimsical, and answered the porridge issue

    So I always did wonder why Mama bear's porridge was colder than Baby bear's.... This was such a good piece of work and I'm hoping that we'll see the next Jack Spratt novel soon (almost to that boxed set!). If you're considering anything from Jasper Fforde, go for it! These are some of the best books I've read. I laugh out loud, am sad when the characters are going through rough situations and cheer when things are figured out. The Gingerbread Man made a great villian and I'm curious to who the next one will be!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Love!

    The combination of laughs and plot - top notch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Quirky

    I love this series because it is a quirky romp with your favorite nursery rhyme characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Brilliantly Hilarious

    This book is witty and has a mind-boggling plot. Every word, every sentence is important as the pieces start to come together. If you didn't like this book, it might simply be because you haven't got it yet (no offense). I will note that I did not read the first of the Nursery Crime Series, so I have no way of comparing it as part of a series, but as a single book it's delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Little Boring, Still So Creative

    I absolutely LOVE this author's style. Anyone who can take nursery rhymes and create murder mysteries replete with humor and satire is a major plus in my book.
    In the second installment of the Nursery Crime series, the Goldilocks and the Three Bears are caught in a national conspiracy and the Gingerbread Man is blood thirsty as ever. Obviously this is not a nail-biter (unless you suffer from Mother Goose phobia) but it is certainly clever.
    My only issue is that there are times when the story was a little boring and nothing irks me more in a mystery than when characters are introduced at the last minute who end up playing a pivotal role in the plot. I feel like it's a cop out and it cheapens the story.
    In any case, I do recommend this book if anything for the humor and to marvel at the twisted lives of our much beloved nursery rhymes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Almost gave up on this one

    A slow start to this story had me almost giving up before I'd gotten through the first 50 of 378 pages. The main problem I had with the start was the scenes were jumping around a lot, so a bunch of characters and locations were introduced in a short amount of time and it was difficult to figure out what and who were important and needed to be remembered. Eventually the story began to stabilize and focus, so I was able to get into it more. It ended up being a creative story with bits of nursery rhymes and other literature thrown in, but overall the story was a bit hard to follow. I had a hard time keeping track of all the characters involved and maneuvering the turns of the mystery. People who enjoy light-hearted mysteries may enjoy this read, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Fourth Bear

    Jasper Fforde is something of a twisted genius. 'The Fourth Bear' is the second installment in his Nurserycrimes series (after 'The Big Over Easy' and Fforde brings the tongue-in-cheek commentary and hilarious wit in full force. 'The Fourth Bear' is a story about an escaped mass murderer (the Gingerbread Man), a conspiracy surrounding genetically modified vegetables, a missing reporter, ursine rights ("the right to arm bears"), domestic abuse, questionable existence and so much more. If Terry Gilliam were to write a book about fairy tale characters it is most likely this one. The plot goes from odd to manic at points, but if there is one thing Fforde does it's keeping the reader engrossed merely because of the interesting assortment of characters (human, paper mache, cake/cookie, alien, bear and more). This is one of the few books I will categorize as legitimately earning the "laugh-out-loud funny" description. But, don't be fooled by all the zaniness, there is actually a profound amount of social commentary and observation running in the lines of this story. Recommended for people who like to read, laugh, think and don't take themselves too seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Very funny read

    This is a wonderful parody of British polices dramas and novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quick Read

    I picked up Jasper Fforde's 'The Fourth Bear' and was pleasantly surprised by how fluid the writing is and how easy it was to get through. A quick, entertaining read for anyone who wants to see an imagining story about what happens if fairy tale characters lived in the 'real' world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Fourth Bear

    I am almost at the end of the book and loving it!!!!! It's escapist reading at some of its best. You won't regret picking it up for a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Fforde Fan

    This book follows the usual Jasper Fforde pattern. While seemingly childlike and straightforward, the story is actually told on multiple levels. Mr. Fforde's use of language is witty and left me laughing. A simple and easy read - but with many thought provoking undercurrents. I think this is one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Liked the Fourth Bear

    I wasn't sure if Fforde could create another good Nursery Crime book, but he did! It was funny and I enjoyed coming back to this world. His imagination has given us an awesome twist on nursery rhymes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Audio Version.....Sounded Fine

    I have listened to both audiobooks in the series and had no trouble adjusting to the different actors. Both do the job well. Give them both a chance before deciding not to have a go at this book. It was a wonderful listen. One only has to be flexable to change, and they will not have a problem adjusting to the actor's different styles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    WHAT WERE THEY THINKING???

    Readers please note: most of the complimentary reviews posted here are for the hardcover print version of this book & NOT for the audio. There is a reason for that....it is hard to write a complimentary review for the disappointing audio version of this highly anticipated book! I will never understand the concept of changing actors mid-series, unless someone has died. Did they not read the reviews? What could they have been thinking? 'Well, that was grand! Let's get someone else?!' Or 'First act was marvelous! Let's replace Richard Burton with Mel Blanc & see if that works.' They have the inspired Simon Prebble, who gets rave reviews for 'The Big Over Easy' and they replace him???? And they replace him with an actor who obviously does not read the previous book to research who his characters are so he can make intelligent choices about their sound. Quiet,unassuming, put-upon Reading native Detective Jack Spratt is given a big, barrel-chested London Bow Street runner voice. Gretel's German sounds forced and Ashley is, in a word, BORING. He has the chance to do an alien & he's boring??? And Prometheus!! He's turned an intelligent, deep thinking rebel into Zorba the Greek. Possibly the worst of! his choices is that he sounds as if he is reading to small children. Word association: 'nursery' = 'talk down to'. We can only hope the hardcover is a success then when Fforde writes another they can bring back the right Simon!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Tongue twisting good

    Set in an alternate reality, Jasper FFORDE continues the adventures of Detective Jack Spratt of the Reading Nursery Crimes Division and his sidekick Mary Mary. He invites us into the world behind the fairy tales and nursery rhymes. After all the characters do have lives of their own, don't they? Previously, in The Big Over Easy they saved the Nursery Crimes Division from being dissolved after Spratt failed to get a conviction for the three pigs' killing of Mr. Wolff, a.k.a. Big Bad, by solving the murder of Humpty Dumpty. In this second novel of the trilogy Spratt has been put on sick leave after rescuing Red Riding Hood and Grandma from the bowels of Mr. Wolff. Punch and Judy, marriage counselors prone to violence in their own marriage, move into the house next to his, the Gingerbread man escapes from St. Cerebellum's mental hospital for the Criminally Insane and Goldilocks the reporter has disappeared. She was last seen at the SommeWorld Theme Park where she was investigating strange giant cucumber explosions. The last people to see her were the Three Bears who live in Andersen Woods and have complaints about their porridge... An intelligent twist on nursery rhymes and riddles FFORDE creates compelling characters who are sure to keep you snickering throughout their surreal adventures with puns, satire and word plays. Full of literary allusions as well as delightfully entertaining (and a little mind-twisting as well) this series is great intelligent fun - perfect for light-reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    The Gingerbreadman has Escaped!

    Jasper Fforde never ceases to amaze and delight with his books and this is no exception. DCI Jack Spratt and Sergeant, Mary Mary, are back, and I for one couldn't be happier. I would suggest that you read 'The Big Over Easy' for a little background on the characters and a few of the running gag lines, but this book is throughly enjoyable on it's own as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    delightfully swift police procedural fantasy

    PDR, a Person of Dubious Reality to the illiterate, Reading Police Department Detective Criminal Investigator Jack Spratt of the Nursery Crime Division is as always in trouble with the brassy brass for literally his success in solving crimes. However, he wants to burn the book when he and his partner au contrary Mary, Mary is demoted to the Missing Persons department. He assumes this is to get him out of the way so that certain felonies turn cold case. --- They are assigned to learn what happened to Henrietta ¿Goldilocks¿ Hatchett. The investigation leads the two cops to the cottage of Mr. and Mrs. Bruin better known as part of the Three Bears where they find some relationship anomalies among the family members and their alibis seem phony especially the story about varying temperatures porridge pilfering. However, as the sleuths find clues, they feel their inquiry is continuously off kilter until they realize the dangerous serial killer Gingerbread Man is targeting Spratt the only man capable of bringing him down. With Goldilocks probably dead and the Three Bears seemingly innocent with that crime (fundamentally guilty of constitutional family infractions), Jack and Mary two times wonder if the Gingerbread man killed the girl or could there be a FOURTH BEAR? --- Using literally literary allusions Jasper Fforde provides a delightfully swift police procedural fantasy that as with the first Nursery Crime tale, THE BIG OVER EASY, uses a fairy tale to tear apart the hypocrisy of society. The prime story line uses Goldilocks and the Three Bears to show how easily one can purposely misinterpret information with questions such as why Mr. and Mrs. Bear sleep in separate rooms. Other characters skewer the up and down of I did not know corporate leaders, the three plus decade war on drugs, lying leaks, and no taxation or representation as the latest Jack Spratt tale is a witty satire. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4