Customer Reviews for

The Fourth Bear (Nursery Crime Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Fun, Whimsical, and answered the porridge issue

    So I always did wonder why Mama bear's porridge was colder than Baby bear's.... This was such a good piece of work and I'm hoping that we'll see the next Jack Spratt novel soon (almost to that boxed set!). If you're considering anything from Jasper Fforde, go for it! These are some of the best books I've read. I laugh out loud, am sad when the characters are going through rough situations and cheer when things are figured out. The Gingerbread Man made a great villian and I'm curious to who the next one will be!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Love!

    The combination of laughs and plot - top notch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Quirky

    I love this series because it is a quirky romp with your favorite nursery rhyme characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Brilliantly Hilarious

    This book is witty and has a mind-boggling plot. Every word, every sentence is important as the pieces start to come together. If you didn't like this book, it might simply be because you haven't got it yet (no offense). I will note that I did not read the first of the Nursery Crime Series, so I have no way of comparing it as part of a series, but as a single book it's delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Fforde Fan

    This book follows the usual Jasper Fforde pattern. While seemingly childlike and straightforward, the story is actually told on multiple levels. Mr. Fforde's use of language is witty and left me laughing. A simple and easy read - but with many thought provoking undercurrents. I think this is one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Tongue twisting good

    Set in an alternate reality, Jasper FFORDE continues the adventures of Detective Jack Spratt of the Reading Nursery Crimes Division and his sidekick Mary Mary. He invites us into the world behind the fairy tales and nursery rhymes. After all the characters do have lives of their own, don't they? Previously, in The Big Over Easy they saved the Nursery Crimes Division from being dissolved after Spratt failed to get a conviction for the three pigs' killing of Mr. Wolff, a.k.a. Big Bad, by solving the murder of Humpty Dumpty. In this second novel of the trilogy Spratt has been put on sick leave after rescuing Red Riding Hood and Grandma from the bowels of Mr. Wolff. Punch and Judy, marriage counselors prone to violence in their own marriage, move into the house next to his, the Gingerbread man escapes from St. Cerebellum's mental hospital for the Criminally Insane and Goldilocks the reporter has disappeared. She was last seen at the SommeWorld Theme Park where she was investigating strange giant cucumber explosions. The last people to see her were the Three Bears who live in Andersen Woods and have complaints about their porridge... An intelligent twist on nursery rhymes and riddles FFORDE creates compelling characters who are sure to keep you snickering throughout their surreal adventures with puns, satire and word plays. Full of literary allusions as well as delightfully entertaining (and a little mind-twisting as well) this series is great intelligent fun - perfect for light-reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    The Gingerbreadman has Escaped!

    Jasper Fforde never ceases to amaze and delight with his books and this is no exception. DCI Jack Spratt and Sergeant, Mary Mary, are back, and I for one couldn't be happier. I would suggest that you read 'The Big Over Easy' for a little background on the characters and a few of the running gag lines, but this book is throughly enjoyable on it's own as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    delightfully swift police procedural fantasy

    PDR, a Person of Dubious Reality to the illiterate, Reading Police Department Detective Criminal Investigator Jack Spratt of the Nursery Crime Division is as always in trouble with the brassy brass for literally his success in solving crimes. However, he wants to burn the book when he and his partner au contrary Mary, Mary is demoted to the Missing Persons department. He assumes this is to get him out of the way so that certain felonies turn cold case. --- They are assigned to learn what happened to Henrietta ¿Goldilocks¿ Hatchett. The investigation leads the two cops to the cottage of Mr. and Mrs. Bruin better known as part of the Three Bears where they find some relationship anomalies among the family members and their alibis seem phony especially the story about varying temperatures porridge pilfering. However, as the sleuths find clues, they feel their inquiry is continuously off kilter until they realize the dangerous serial killer Gingerbread Man is targeting Spratt the only man capable of bringing him down. With Goldilocks probably dead and the Three Bears seemingly innocent with that crime (fundamentally guilty of constitutional family infractions), Jack and Mary two times wonder if the Gingerbread man killed the girl or could there be a FOURTH BEAR? --- Using literally literary allusions Jasper Fforde provides a delightfully swift police procedural fantasy that as with the first Nursery Crime tale, THE BIG OVER EASY, uses a fairy tale to tear apart the hypocrisy of society. The prime story line uses Goldilocks and the Three Bears to show how easily one can purposely misinterpret information with questions such as why Mr. and Mrs. Bear sleep in separate rooms. Other characters skewer the up and down of I did not know corporate leaders, the three plus decade war on drugs, lying leaks, and no taxation or representation as the latest Jack Spratt tale is a witty satire. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2