BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fourth Comings (Jessica Darling Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Maybe my favorite of the series...

    I thought that Charmed Thirds would be a tough one to beat. I was was pleasantly surprised with Fourth Comings. Not the ending that I expected! But I loved it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect conten


    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect contentment I felt while being invited to stay in the wondrous world of Jessica Darling, queen of sarcasm and protagonist extraordinaire.
    In her five-book series Megan McCafferty allows us to follow Jessica on her way from being a teenager to a young woman, with all the responsibilities and decisions awaiting her in future. It was great to witness everything going on in her life over such a long span of time. I didn't want to miss one single of her thoughts. Because even though I am not a teenager anymore, it felt so good to read on page what makes these years so angstful and exciting at the same time.

    Every character contributes to the masterpiece of fun and hilarity -without ever forgetting that there's also the serious side of life- the Jessica Darling series stands for. I loved them all! Marcus Flutie, Jessica of course, her best friend Hope, the parents, her sister and her niece, to name only a few.
    Marcus Flutie is the main love interest and an extreme case of changeability. It's obvious that he hasn't found his place in life yet, always restless, always changing his mind and his heart about his future, his goals and even Jessica. I'd subtitle this series 'The metamorphosis of Marcus Flutie'. Alternative and surely not mainstream, he always seems to be on an experimental trip. We don't get him more often than we do, but when we connect, it's in all the right ways.
    Jessica is witty and her humour is the best. I laughed, I cried. I can’t believe how she always said and thought exactly what I was thinking. I wish I read this series much sooner. A revelation to every young adult reader!

    Jessica and Marcus make mistakes, get together, seperate again. Life comes in the way, wrong decisions play a part. It's just too much to point out every turn their relationship or lives make. There are so many scenes that need to be all time favourites! You. Yes. You. Marcus Flutie you stole my heart.
    The first two books SLOPPY FIRSTS and SECOND HELPINGS are about Jessica's time in high school. CHARMED THIRDS covers her years in college, from 2003 to 2005. FOURTH COMINGS is about time after graduation and what she wants to do for a living.

    We are very lucky, because Jessica is keeping a diary. And the writing is as appealing as it is, because the story is written in the style of numerous diary entries. It has a very personal character and feels like we are just inside her head, going through everything she experiences and feeling as much love for Marcus Flutie as she does. Her writing is changing over the course of the series, especially in the fourth book, which is great, because it's a fab way to express change in her person or her ways of thinking.

    This series is a guide for all young, sarcastic, lovable and insecure girls out there! Megan McCafferty, I thank you for all the hours of laughter and tears your novels brought into my house. You are a marvelous writer and I'm expecting to see many more books of you on my favourite shelves in the near future. I hope that we can find a version of that incredibly admirable and lovely Jessica Darling in all of us.


    5/5 ***** JESSICA DARLING series - Clever, romantic, sarcastic & so much more. YA at its best!

    SLOPPY FIRSTS recently had its 12th anniversary. Unbelieveable, but true. This series is in no way inferior to contemporary YA relatives in its originialty or actuality. This is a series that needs to be handed down to your kids, they will surely love to read about that Jessica Darling when they are growing up. And for everyone who hasn't read this series, I suggest you catch up on it now. It doesn't matter if you are 13 or 30, you will get and love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    Highly recommend this whole series. There are 5 books total.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fourth in line, but the most emotional of the series!

    (review for both FOURTH COMINGS & PERFECT FIFTHS)

    In the final 2 books of the Jessica Darling series, our wires-crossed, love-imperfect couple decide if they'll make it or break it for good. While Jessica enters the post-college "real world," Marcus finally decided to go back to organized education in the form of Princeton. Still physically distant in location, Jessica thinks she's too old to re-live the college scene again. Will she wait for Marcus to graduate? Will Marcus dump her for a fresh-faced frosh? Will they find their perfect endings finally together - or finally apart?

    Unlike its predecessors, fourth comings chronicles only 1 week of Jessica Darling's life - and yet it packs the most thoughtful and emotional punch of the series. Again, at the end, I find myself in deep contemplation of "forever" and "whatever" that play a role in Jessica and Marcus's romantic entanglements. Then comes along perfect fifths that gives us a whole fourth-wall phenomenon where we dive into third-person present instead of relying solely on Jessica's notebooks. Which means we get a delicious glimpse into the wonder of Marcus Flutie. perfect fifths is simply spot-on as far as reminiscing about the entire series and tying everything into a wonderfully bittersweet conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Improvement over the last

    This book was just as aggravating but better. A lot of growing up happened but sometimes I think Jessica is being an idiot. The fifth one looks awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply amazing

    I don't think this measly review is going to succeed in summing up my immense love for this series. I adore Jessica Darling. These books have been some of the most memorable I've read in quite a while and possibly the only ones in recent reading history that don't allow me to put them down. Literally. I was babysitting this past Thursday and Friday and could hardly stand to part from Marcus and Jessica's story long enough to make mac 'n cheese and take the push-bike to the park.<br/>

    I'm surprised that I was so involved in this book out of all of them because it's drastically different than the first three. The previous books are Jessica's private journals - commentaries on the day-to-day events in her life. Fourth Comings was changed because this journal isn't private, and less significantly but still importantly, Jess isn't in school.<br/>

    This one is a journal kept by Jess during the week after Marcus proposes to her in his dorm room at Princeton, until giving him her response seven days later. She's all grown up and on her own in NYC. She's got a much more realistic and depressing view of the world because she's finally faced with providing for herself and living independently.<br/>

    In Fourth Comings actually get to meet Hope, which I loved. In the previous three books she was alluded to and addressed indirectly through Jess's letters and ramblings. Now there are conversations and conflicts and direct emotions. I liked it better this way. That's the way stories about best friends should be.<br/>

    I also enjoyed reading about Jess's thoughts on personalities, relationships, and life in general. Even though I'm only around how old Jess was in Sloppy Firsts I feel like I've related to her more and more as the books went on. Maybe because she's gotten better at putting words to her thoughts - something that I think I'm very bad at. And maybe because I only wish that I could experience what she's going through. It's a phantom world to me. I'll get there soon enough though. If there's one thing I've learned from reading these books, it's to relish these years where I'm provided for and looked after.<br/>

    Once again, McCafferty has succeeded in authoring a masterpiece of a novel. I don't know how she's hit these homeruns almost every time. The Jessica Darling series is on its way to becoming one of my all-time favorites. It'll take a lot to remove them from that spot of honor. Because they really are phenomenal novels. I can only hope that Perfect Fifths, the conclusion to the series, doesn't disappoint.<br/>

    Another A+, of course.<br/>


    *According to Microsoft Word, snark is not a word. I wish I could come up with a snarky comment about that.

    From: livsbookreviews.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edgy & Fun!

    Megan McCafferty is a great author and has written very well as 'Jessica Darling' in this series. The rebellious girl that writes in her journal finally comes to her senses in this novel. Jess is witty, fun, edgy and wise, and you can def feel these traits throughout the story. She has really grown up from the past books and readers feel as if they are along for the ride too! Dont miss out on this novel, its enjoyable and entertaining! If you haven't missed the previous novels from the series you wont wanna miss this one! Classic-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    ...good

    i liked this book just like i liked all the rest...but i hope in the next book it doesnt showcase jessica and marcus' relationship i think that has been overdone in the first four..i hope it shows her on a new adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Disappointed...

    I couldn't wait to read this book because I absolutely loved the first three in the series. I recall reading each of those books in about a day. I knew this book was disappointing from the beginning when I started getting bored around the 50th page (and I had 250 pages to go!) The reason why it was a slow read because Jessica was actually writing to Marcus, and it wasn't set up in the typical journal entry (as in the first three). That was the main drawback. However, I'm not disappointed in the ending like other customers have stated. Her refusal to his proposal was justified by saying 'How can I possibly promise to love you FOREVER when I don't even know who you'll be by the time you get this notebook?' (p.301). I hear ya woman, coming from a girl who doesn't settle. I hope there's a fifth book in the future to showcase Jessica's new adventure as a single girl in a journal style of writing. Here's to hoping :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    fourth comings lives up to all the rest

    Megan McCafferty has come back full force with this novel. it was beautiful, truly stuning but the ending left me wanting more. but i could totally understand marcus' reaction and jessicas. it seemed right. like somethnig they would definantly do. i love this series and finished this book in about a week. if you havent read the books i strongly convince you to do, trust me you won't be let down! and i case you dont know i hear shes writing a fifth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    Nice Ending

    It was an unexpected ending, but i liked it because Jessica its really compatible with Marcus. So I'm satisified.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    True

    For anyone who was unhappy with the ending or format, all I can say 'speaking for myself' is that it felt true. It felt like what Jessica would really do and how she would do it. For the readers who felt disappointed with her rejection of Marcus' proposal, than I feel like maybe they don't really understand Jessica as a person 'or character, either way'. I feel like that is what Jessica would do and say and I am happy that Megan Mccafferty didn't just choose an ending that would tie it all up all nice and such. It was still awesomely funny and observant and that is what Jessica is to me. So, I'm happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    i loved the series i read the first three books in about a months time (i had to wait to go buy the next book) and when i got the fourth it took me about two months to finish it.. it seriously was a disappointment i wish it ended differently

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Disappointed.

    I cannot say enough good things about the first three Jessica Darling books. They were so fun and exciting, but Fourth Comings really left something to be expected. I still liked the book because I've fallen in love with Jessica Darling and Marcus Flutie, but sadly, the book left me feeling discouraged. Throughout the book, Jessica was whiny and critical. The worst part for me was the ending. I read and re-read it 20 times because I thought for sure that I had missed something. It made me feel like I should've just stuck with the ending I had read in Charmed Thirds. That one made me happier and more hopeful for a brighter Jessica Darling future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Jessica Darling is back

    I must say that after just finishing the fourth Jessica Darling installment, 'Fourth Comings', I am blown away, as usual. Although, this isn't my favourite of the series, I was still just as impressed. Anyone who has read the previous books will love this one just the same. Jessica Darling continues to live, mature, and talk about Marcus Flutie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Jes' Darlin'!

    As the fourth book in the series, Megan McCafferty does not let me down. With exceptional writing style and complete up-to-date look on culture, this book was everything I expected and more. With its continual predictable unpredictability, this book never ceases to amaze anyone. You think you have the plot all figured out, but a few pages over and you¿re back to square one. I found that I could not put this book down. Although my favourite will always be Sloppy Firsts, this one is a great follow up to what happened. I was eager to get through it it never lost its appeal. And though the journal wasn¿t exactly written like the previous three (this one had only been written over the course of a week, while the others were expanded over years) I never felt ripped off once. The language was superb. Megan McCafferty paid extra careful attention to the ever changing pop culture of the 2006 year. What I found really enjoyable in this book was the fact that we finally got to see the bond unfold between Hope and Jess. Yes, Hope has been on the scene since day one, but in this one, Hope and Jess share a room in a cheap New York house, as well as two other girls. A lot of unanswered questions that I had from the first three novels were finally answered in the latest edition. I only hope that in the next (and final) book that my last and only question gets answered. Forever, whatever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    My fourth favorite in the series.

    Megan McCafferty is an amazing writer and by far my favorite author. I have loved reading all four of the Jessica Darling books, including 'Fourth Comings.' However, compared to the other three, this book left me feeling empty. I didn't get the same satisfied feeling after I finished this book as I did with the others. According to Meg Cabot's blog, a fifth book is in the works though, and the slight disappointment of the fourth book makes me even more excited to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    READ THE WHOLE SERIES IN FOUR DAYS

    This book, and well this series is amazing. I know not so creative in how to sum it up. If you read for fun, and love a book (or books) that draws you in, this is it! Its a quick page turner that will leave you wondering if there will be a fifth. Oh how I long for a fifth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Satisfying but left me craving more

    I just finished reading Fourth Comings and I generally enjoyed the whole book, though it is not my favorite of the series. To be completely honest, I was not satisfied with the ending, though it made sense, I was hoping for a different outcome. I almost wish that I had just ended with Charmed Thirds because at the end of that book I was feeling hopeful for Jessica's future. I am left with an unsettled and slightly anxious feeling like waiting for a chord to resolve. I am really glad that there will be a fifth book and I just hope that Megan McMafferty had this in mind considering the way she finished off Fourth Comings. The way I see it is that just as Jessica and Hope describe Marcus as an 'all or nothing' guy who thrives off of the thrill of dramatic moments, McCafferty ended Fourth Comings leaving us lingering for more 'like Marcus always does to Jessica' and in the fifth book she will finish the series with something more settling. I wasn't aware of the possibility of a fifth book when I first finished reading Fourth Comings but it makes sense to me now because Jessica Darling's life did not feel resolved and it seemed that too many things were left up in the air. It would be really interesting to read a book written from Marcus' perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    disappointing...sadly.

    I loved the other three books, and I was so excited when Fourth Comings was released. This fourth book just didn't do it for me. I think the journal style the book was written was almost boring to follow. I really wanted to love this book, and it was just okay. Hopefully there will be a fifth to redeem my love for this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4