Customer Reviews for

Fourth Comings (Jessica Darling Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect conten


    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect contentment I felt while being invited to stay in the wondrous world of Jessica Darling, queen of sarcasm and protagonist extraordinaire.
    In her five-book series Megan McCafferty allows us to follow Jessica on her way from being a teenager to a young woman, with all the responsibilities and decisions awaiting her in future. It was great to witness everything going on in her life over such a long span of time. I didn't want to miss one single of her thoughts. Because even though I am not a teenager anymore, it felt so good to read on page what makes these years so angstful and exciting at the same time.

    Every character contributes to the masterpiece of fun and hilarity -without ever forgetting that there's also the serious side of life- the Jessica Darling series stands for. I loved them all! Marcus Flutie, Jessica of course, her best friend Hope, the parents, her sister and her niece, to name only a few.
    Marcus Flutie is the main love interest and an extreme case of changeability. It's obvious that he hasn't found his place in life yet, always restless, always changing his mind and his heart about his future, his goals and even Jessica. I'd subtitle this series 'The metamorphosis of Marcus Flutie'. Alternative and surely not mainstream, he always seems to be on an experimental trip. We don't get him more often than we do, but when we connect, it's in all the right ways.
    Jessica is witty and her humour is the best. I laughed, I cried. I can’t believe how she always said and thought exactly what I was thinking. I wish I read this series much sooner. A revelation to every young adult reader!

    Jessica and Marcus make mistakes, get together, seperate again. Life comes in the way, wrong decisions play a part. It's just too much to point out every turn their relationship or lives make. There are so many scenes that need to be all time favourites! You. Yes. You. Marcus Flutie you stole my heart.
    The first two books SLOPPY FIRSTS and SECOND HELPINGS are about Jessica's time in high school. CHARMED THIRDS covers her years in college, from 2003 to 2005. FOURTH COMINGS is about time after graduation and what she wants to do for a living.

    We are very lucky, because Jessica is keeping a diary. And the writing is as appealing as it is, because the story is written in the style of numerous diary entries. It has a very personal character and feels like we are just inside her head, going through everything she experiences and feeling as much love for Marcus Flutie as she does. Her writing is changing over the course of the series, especially in the fourth book, which is great, because it's a fab way to express change in her person or her ways of thinking.

    This series is a guide for all young, sarcastic, lovable and insecure girls out there! Megan McCafferty, I thank you for all the hours of laughter and tears your novels brought into my house. You are a marvelous writer and I'm expecting to see many more books of you on my favourite shelves in the near future. I hope that we can find a version of that incredibly admirable and lovely Jessica Darling in all of us.


    5/5 ***** JESSICA DARLING series - Clever, romantic, sarcastic & so much more. YA at its best!

    SLOPPY FIRSTS recently had its 12th anniversary. Unbelieveable, but true. This series is in no way inferior to contemporary YA relatives in its originialty or actuality. This is a series that needs to be handed down to your kids, they will surely love to read about that Jessica Darling when they are growing up. And for everyone who hasn't read this series, I suggest you catch up on it now. It doesn't matter if you are 13 or 30, you will get and love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fourth in line, but the most emotional of the series!

    (review for both FOURTH COMINGS & PERFECT FIFTHS)

    In the final 2 books of the Jessica Darling series, our wires-crossed, love-imperfect couple decide if they'll make it or break it for good. While Jessica enters the post-college "real world," Marcus finally decided to go back to organized education in the form of Princeton. Still physically distant in location, Jessica thinks she's too old to re-live the college scene again. Will she wait for Marcus to graduate? Will Marcus dump her for a fresh-faced frosh? Will they find their perfect endings finally together - or finally apart?

    Unlike its predecessors, fourth comings chronicles only 1 week of Jessica Darling's life - and yet it packs the most thoughtful and emotional punch of the series. Again, at the end, I find myself in deep contemplation of "forever" and "whatever" that play a role in Jessica and Marcus's romantic entanglements. Then comes along perfect fifths that gives us a whole fourth-wall phenomenon where we dive into third-person present instead of relying solely on Jessica's notebooks. Which means we get a delicious glimpse into the wonder of Marcus Flutie. perfect fifths is simply spot-on as far as reminiscing about the entire series and tying everything into a wonderfully bittersweet conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply amazing

    I don't think this measly review is going to succeed in summing up my immense love for this series. I adore Jessica Darling. These books have been some of the most memorable I've read in quite a while and possibly the only ones in recent reading history that don't allow me to put them down. Literally. I was babysitting this past Thursday and Friday and could hardly stand to part from Marcus and Jessica's story long enough to make mac 'n cheese and take the push-bike to the park.<br/>

    I'm surprised that I was so involved in this book out of all of them because it's drastically different than the first three. The previous books are Jessica's private journals - commentaries on the day-to-day events in her life. Fourth Comings was changed because this journal isn't private, and less significantly but still importantly, Jess isn't in school.<br/>

    This one is a journal kept by Jess during the week after Marcus proposes to her in his dorm room at Princeton, until giving him her response seven days later. She's all grown up and on her own in NYC. She's got a much more realistic and depressing view of the world because she's finally faced with providing for herself and living independently.<br/>

    In Fourth Comings actually get to meet Hope, which I loved. In the previous three books she was alluded to and addressed indirectly through Jess's letters and ramblings. Now there are conversations and conflicts and direct emotions. I liked it better this way. That's the way stories about best friends should be.<br/>

    I also enjoyed reading about Jess's thoughts on personalities, relationships, and life in general. Even though I'm only around how old Jess was in Sloppy Firsts I feel like I've related to her more and more as the books went on. Maybe because she's gotten better at putting words to her thoughts - something that I think I'm very bad at. And maybe because I only wish that I could experience what she's going through. It's a phantom world to me. I'll get there soon enough though. If there's one thing I've learned from reading these books, it's to relish these years where I'm provided for and looked after.<br/>

    Once again, McCafferty has succeeded in authoring a masterpiece of a novel. I don't know how she's hit these homeruns almost every time. The Jessica Darling series is on its way to becoming one of my all-time favorites. It'll take a lot to remove them from that spot of honor. Because they really are phenomenal novels. I can only hope that Perfect Fifths, the conclusion to the series, doesn't disappoint.<br/>

    Another A+, of course.<br/>


    *According to Microsoft Word, snark is not a word. I wish I could come up with a snarky comment about that.

    From: livsbookreviews.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edgy & Fun!

    Megan McCafferty is a great author and has written very well as 'Jessica Darling' in this series. The rebellious girl that writes in her journal finally comes to her senses in this novel. Jess is witty, fun, edgy and wise, and you can def feel these traits throughout the story. She has really grown up from the past books and readers feel as if they are along for the ride too! Dont miss out on this novel, its enjoyable and entertaining! If you haven't missed the previous novels from the series you wont wanna miss this one! Classic-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    fourth comings lives up to all the rest

    Megan McCafferty has come back full force with this novel. it was beautiful, truly stuning but the ending left me wanting more. but i could totally understand marcus' reaction and jessicas. it seemed right. like somethnig they would definantly do. i love this series and finished this book in about a week. if you havent read the books i strongly convince you to do, trust me you won't be let down! and i case you dont know i hear shes writing a fifth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    True

    For anyone who was unhappy with the ending or format, all I can say 'speaking for myself' is that it felt true. It felt like what Jessica would really do and how she would do it. For the readers who felt disappointed with her rejection of Marcus' proposal, than I feel like maybe they don't really understand Jessica as a person 'or character, either way'. I feel like that is what Jessica would do and say and I am happy that Megan Mccafferty didn't just choose an ending that would tie it all up all nice and such. It was still awesomely funny and observant and that is what Jessica is to me. So, I'm happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Jessica Darling is back

    I must say that after just finishing the fourth Jessica Darling installment, 'Fourth Comings', I am blown away, as usual. Although, this isn't my favourite of the series, I was still just as impressed. Anyone who has read the previous books will love this one just the same. Jessica Darling continues to live, mature, and talk about Marcus Flutie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    READ THE WHOLE SERIES IN FOUR DAYS

    This book, and well this series is amazing. I know not so creative in how to sum it up. If you read for fun, and love a book (or books) that draws you in, this is it! Its a quick page turner that will leave you wondering if there will be a fifth. Oh how I long for a fifth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Empty

    Like its predecessors, the ending of Fourth Comings left me feeling satisfied, yet empty. I so badly want to find out what comes next, but i feel aggravated that i have to wait for it. After I finished reading this book i desperately tried picking up another book so that i wouldn't have to think about the ending too much, but i just couldn't do it. So, i am left in Jessica's wake of thinking far too much for my own good. My only suggestion is that Marcus should get rid of the Beard. :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Megan McCafferty comes through again.

    I've read Sloppy Firsts, Second Helpings, and Charmed Thirds several times because they are such good books and Fourth Comings is just as good. These books are so real that I actually find myself blushing because I've been there. Or I'll laugh out loud and maybe even shed a tear or two. Put Fourth Comings on your Books-To-Read-List and you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really loved the book but I was so shocked when i found out some off the things Hope and Marcus were quote hiding unquote from Jessica.I realy Hope(ha!) there is a Fifth, I would'nt mind a Sixth, and I could most definently live with a Seventh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Praise for Fourth Comings!

    This book was set up differently than the other three and I must say that it made the book flow better. Jessica Darling is a character that everyone in some way can relate to, and that is proved yet again in the fourth installment of this series. All of Megan¿s characters are amazing from Hope, Jessica¿s best friend for the last ten years, to Dexy, Jessica¿s friend from college that is always dressed as a different character. The story was powerful and moving but also full of the humor that makes these books so great. Of course Marcus Flutie must be mentioned¿.but what is there to be said about him. yes. him. He is as mysterious as he was in book one and still as irresistible. This book is a must read for any fan of the series but also for everyone else. You will not be sorry for picking this book or any book by the amazing author, Megan McCafferty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Best Jessica Darling Book Yet

    if you are a jessica darling fan, you will be very satisfied with this book. it takes place in the course of a single week, but that doesn't mean that it doesnt have alot of drama. the book has everything you would expect from mccafferty and more. we now see jessica as a just out of college young adult that is trying to figure out what to do when her long time boyfriend marcus flutie asks her to marry him. but then things get tricky when we learn something about jessica's bbf hope, that might just change her decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    different but still fantastic

    Fourth Comings is different from the rest of the books. It takes more of a serious tone, as it is dealing with something very serious. Yet Megan still writes with such humor that it's hard not to laugh aout loud. THe story carries easily and you can't help but want to find out the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    The most hilarous series ever written!

    I ADORE these books. Everytime I read them, I find myself wishing I'd written them myself. Jessica Darling is so funny and down to earth, and reading her diary feels like meeting the best friend I never had. These books are outstanding and a must read. If you have yet to read these books, I HIGHLY recommend you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2