Customer Reviews for

The Fourth Queen

Average Rating 3
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    One of my faves!

    This is a very engaging story of life as it is lived in a harem. That this book honestly portrays the full sized nature of the women is refreshing and historically accurate. It is not a distracting element except to the very shallow. This a good read that i thoroughly enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Let Down

    Up until the last page, I LOVED this book. I could not put it down. However, after reading the last page, I found myself examining the binding to make sure none of the pages fell out. Hopefully this means there is a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    thoroughly enjoyed it

    Anyone who says this is 'all about fat people' missed the whole point of the book. Maybe you should go back and read it again! My only problem was the ending~it just ended, leaving you hanging. I hope there is another book in the works I would love to know what happens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    not good

    this book was all about fat people i couldnt care less not that anything is wrong with that but come onn if you want to read about a harem read harem not this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    Thoroughly Enjoyable!

    I could not put this book down! The diverse characters and storylines kept you intrigued right to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    Couldn't Put this Book Down

    Thoroughly enjoyed this novel. Two characters tell the story, each with alternate chapters - Helen a Scottish 19 year old who flees her village, and the Chief Eunuch of the Harem - a dwarf named Microphilius. There are eclectic characters in this book that live such interesting lives. I found the story to be very believable and fascinating. Filled with love, tragedy, lust, hope, mystery, friendship, terror, betrayal and truth throughout the pages. An exciting story definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    A HUGE disappointment

    I got this book because I saw it was recommended from a bn book club online, but it was far from being anything memorable. You dont know whether its a love story or just another trashy romance novel. I can see where the author tries to show her obvious knowledge on the culture, but its still lacking some substance, some depth. Its one of those books, which you feel youve wasted time in reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    I Enjoyed It !

    Wow! I'm surprised by the total disappointment of the other reviews. I enjoyed this book. I particularly liked the diversity of the characters, ...Helen the Scottish girl captured, sold then to become wife of the Emperor; Microphilus the dwarf who overseas the Harem; Malia the crone who knows all that goes on inside the Harem and Batoom the Black Queen, to mention a few. I was pleasantly surprised by the bit of mystery within the story. I would read other books by this author and look forward to what I imagine will be the continuation of this one since there were a few threads to the story line left unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Don't read it!

    I chose this book for our first bookclub meeting due to the fact it was recommended by B&N--it was highly dissapointing. Most people didn't even finish, whereas those who did had nothing at all to say about it. It's one of those books that you forget the second you finish it. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    PEEEEEEEEEEEEWW

    THE worst book i've read.Polt skips way to much....and very confusing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Disappointing

    I was very disappointed with this book. It had potential to be a great novel, but I found it trashy and vulgar. I normally will not criticize the author's choice of material or the writing style, but I thought this book was just plain bad. I am amazed that it has been given so much press.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1