Customer Reviews for

The Fox

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

The Fox will lead you into another world

I sought out this book after seeing it listed as recommended reading on The Celtic Myth Podshow website. I was further surprised to find that it was free as an ebook. After reading it I can honestly say that this book was way beyond my expectations. I could not put t...
I sought out this book after seeing it listed as recommended reading on The Celtic Myth Podshow website. I was further surprised to find that it was free as an ebook. After reading it I can honestly say that this book was way beyond my expectations. I could not put this book down and when I did have to (for such things as food and sleep), I found myself thinking about the characters as though they were real. Even now, after having finished the book, I find myself reflecting upon the characters often. I miss them!

The characters are the strength of Radasky's book. She creates multidimensional, living breathing characters both in a modern setting, and through her meticulous research, in the Iron Age Scottish Pictish age. Radasky uses her knowledge of the period in time expertly, never over handed or lectured. Instead she uses just enough to create a vivid picture in the reader's mind. Radasky is able to bring to life the traditions, spirituality and politics of a culture that is mostly unknown to many of us, and she does so with care and respect. There is no overt fantasy and grandiose speculation that often happens with fictionalizing the Celtic or Pre-Celtic people.

I am an avid reader, but there are few books that really reach me as deeply as this book did. I admit that I was mostly interested in the story of Lovern and Jahna over that of Aine. But, I thought that Aine's story was written with such honesty and depth that her character felt just as real.

I highly recommend this book if you like historical fiction, are interested in archeology, Scottish history, things Celtic, romance and pre-Christian spirituality. I think you will be pleasantly surprised by this first novel by Arlene Radasky. Oh, and if your second toe is longer than your first, you may just find this book all the more interesting!

posted by asgalbraith on March 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

"A" for effort

This is an interesting read. I like the concept of the past speaking to the present and it is relatively well meshed. In a story like this the author usually seems to struggle with the characters of the past, but the opposite is true here. Radasky does a good job of ...
This is an interesting read. I like the concept of the past speaking to the present and it is relatively well meshed. In a story like this the author usually seems to struggle with the characters of the past, but the opposite is true here. Radasky does a good job of bringing the ancient characters to life while struggling with the present-day ones.

The main characters speaking in the first person was not at all confusing, although why an important yet secondary character was allowed his own chapters to speak in the first is beyond me. Lovern could easily have stayed a secondary character.

I was somewhat turned off by the sex scenes that seem so out of place and unnecessary. I got the feeling that Radasky added them just to say her book had sexual encounters in it. The most ridiculous of the scenes involves making "soapy love" in the shower. What??

Also, a good editing is in order. The abundance of commas literally drove me to distraction. It would be interesting to count how many were actually used, and how many of them were used correctly.

In all, I found this to be an easy and mostly enjoyable read and recommend it.

posted by amydague on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Fox will lead you into another world

    I sought out this book after seeing it listed as recommended reading on The Celtic Myth Podshow website. I was further surprised to find that it was free as an ebook. After reading it I can honestly say that this book was way beyond my expectations. I could not put this book down and when I did have to (for such things as food and sleep), I found myself thinking about the characters as though they were real. Even now, after having finished the book, I find myself reflecting upon the characters often. I miss them!

    The characters are the strength of Radasky's book. She creates multidimensional, living breathing characters both in a modern setting, and through her meticulous research, in the Iron Age Scottish Pictish age. Radasky uses her knowledge of the period in time expertly, never over handed or lectured. Instead she uses just enough to create a vivid picture in the reader's mind. Radasky is able to bring to life the traditions, spirituality and politics of a culture that is mostly unknown to many of us, and she does so with care and respect. There is no overt fantasy and grandiose speculation that often happens with fictionalizing the Celtic or Pre-Celtic people.

    I am an avid reader, but there are few books that really reach me as deeply as this book did. I admit that I was mostly interested in the story of Lovern and Jahna over that of Aine. But, I thought that Aine's story was written with such honesty and depth that her character felt just as real.

    I highly recommend this book if you like historical fiction, are interested in archeology, Scottish history, things Celtic, romance and pre-Christian spirituality. I think you will be pleasantly surprised by this first novel by Arlene Radasky. Oh, and if your second toe is longer than your first, you may just find this book all the more interesting!

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    What A Surprise!

    I was expecting a mildly mediocre novel quite frankly.I mean-it was free-right?But it was a well constructed,well thought out book instead.I both wanted to read it as fast as I could and yet dreaded the end because it was THAT good!I am a wiccan and my pantheon so happens to be Celtic and I was a little worried about how the author would handle the entire pagan issue.I have read some pretty wooden depictions of pagans as thoughtless savages.But The Fox handled this with a delicate and understanding touch.The story that crosses time like this could be a muddled mess in clumsy hands but this is by far not the case here.I would buy this book for cash money in Nook form and in print so I could add it to my wiccan library-after all my friends and family had borrowed it of course!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Well based in sound archaeological background

    A superb tale that is based on some well-researched archaeological discoveries. The atmosphere is redolent with realism - you can almost feel the mist in the air under the trees and the heat from the smoke from the fire sting your eyes in round houses. The main characters are believable and the story reaches across the centuries into our times both literally and figuratively. I cannot recommend it highly enough! Well done, Ms. Radasky!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book is sooo good. I love the sweet romance and the history. The way the author put this together is perfect. I loved the way it ended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    what an amazing story

    this is such an amazing story,one the likes ihaven't read in a long time.i became lost in the past and present, became part of this beautiful tale of love and lost. the characters became clear tome and a part of my soul. would love to read more from this great storyteller

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Wonderfully Written.

    This was an amazing read. I dont normally like historical books but this was a great find. It is definitely a tear jerker but worth every tear.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Its amazing.....

    I usually skip through some books like this but this one is amazing. I love it. It's addicting. Everytime i turn the page it gets better and better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    compelling!

    A beautiful compelling story wih characters to love and a love story that is crushingly truthful. Read this book but consider waiting if you have plans or are out of tissues!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Please Fix This Book

    **UPDATE**
    To the author: Thank you for the additional information on where I can find the complete story. I had no problem downloading the book from one of the other sites. Must be a problem on B&N. Thanks!

    I have tried several times to download this book and it won't load past the title page......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Wonderful

    I really enjoyed this book! It took me to another time and was such a comfortable read I felt as though I truely knew the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Entrancing

    I fell into this book. It all felt so real...i was smiling and crying along with them. Phenominal reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great!!

    Great book!! I was sad for it to end!! Loved the past linked to present. Very good book and so surprised it was FREE!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    I enjoy historical fiction.  This one is exceptional for a first

    I enjoy historical fiction.  This one is exceptional for a first novel.  Hopefully the author will provide more great stories.  I am glad this one is on my Nook since I will be reading it again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Addicted reader

    This was a good read. It will make you think. It will make you

    cherish your roots & most of all it will help you to understand the love & the sacrifices that those who have gone befor us have made for us. Read it I promise you will not be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Really Good Book. Highly interesting with the ability to direct

    Really Good Book. Highly interesting with the ability to direct the reader into its world. It will be worth your time. I hope to see more from this author soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    What does the fox say

    Wapapapapapow! Hateehateehateeho!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Ylvis

    Ike4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Lerf that soooonnng

    -GUESS. o3o *cough cough* Peasants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    What does the fox say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Very Interesting

    Interesting read, different but I did enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6