Customer Reviews for

The Fox Effect: How Roger Ailes Turned a Network into a Propaganda Machine

Average Rating 3
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

It'sabout time someone told the truth about the "Fake News Channel"

Great book. Well researched and tells the reason of why and how the "Fake News Channel" ie Fox News was developed to mislead the public. Anyone who believes in real journalistic integrity should read this book and discover what can happen when little to none exists in a...
Great book. Well researched and tells the reason of why and how the "Fake News Channel" ie Fox News was developed to mislead the public. Anyone who believes in real journalistic integrity should read this book and discover what can happen when little to none exists in a corporation and to the public who believe they are getting "real" news.

posted by 7015495 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Boring. Woodward and Bernstein they are not.

I was expecting more. The book seems more like a re-hash of other people's stuff. I struggled to finish it, expecting some revelation at the end. Waste of time. Last time I pre-order a book by writers with no track record.

posted by 6087718 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    It'sabout time someone told the truth about the "Fake News Channel"

    Great book. Well researched and tells the reason of why and how the "Fake News Channel" ie Fox News was developed to mislead the public. Anyone who believes in real journalistic integrity should read this book and discover what can happen when little to none exists in a corporation and to the public who believe they are getting "real" news.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    An eyeopener

    This is an eyeopening book. A must read for anyone interested in how opinions can be shaped to reflect a single point of view from an institution that we expect to be unbiased.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    If you really want to understand why so many people are falsely informed, this is the book to read!

    Very detailed, annotated and researched. I think every American who listens to Fox should read this book to understand how they are being minipulated by egotistical, power hungry liars.
    Those of us who are more liberal and open minded should also read this book to validate what we already know about media power and how you can be fooled. It is also a very disturbing, scary account of how we take what someone says and treat it as gospel without doing our own investigation.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Fox (faux) News exposed!

    Excellent documentation of how Fox twists current events and history to present politically biased radical right wing propaganda. Most people with an ability to think critically knew what Fox was doing. This book documents how and why this perversion of "the news" takes place. Fox is a threat to democracy and the free exchange of ideas must confront the lies that eminate from Fox broadcasts daily.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Truth


    From beginning to end, an honest discussion of who is truly running the GOP.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Boring. Woodward and Bernstein they are not.

    I was expecting more. The book seems more like a re-hash of other people's stuff. I struggled to finish it, expecting some revelation at the end. Waste of time. Last time I pre-order a book by writers with no track record.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Well written and researched

    The authors do an excellent job of documenting how Faux Newz uses the reich wing propaganda to bore into people's minds and brainwash them into believing Faux's version of current events. Faux does not want people to think for themselves and they have become masters at distortion. This book explains how this all came into being. An excellent read.

    Oh, and the reich wing trolls leaving their one star reviews for a book they have obviously not read is a true demonstration of the brainwashing. Freethinkers can see through the BS reviews of trolls.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Pure Garbage

    Looking to find substantial proof of the accusations against Fox.…There is none of that, just the ususal nonsense that crazy David & sidekick Ari comes up with..
    they are so angry that Fox still clobbers all their friends at MSLSD.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am waiting for the authors next book. An in-depth expose of a

    I am waiting for the authors next book. An in-depth expose of a Far Left organization funded by George Soros who's only goal is to push by any means including dishonest ones a very Far Left agenda. Media Matters.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Pure garbage from people that wouldn't know the truth or would d

    Pure garbage from people that wouldn't know the truth or would deny that it happened if it hit them in the face. Not even a shred of truth in this waste of paper. I'm sorry I spent my money and time. A great fan of Fox news I am not, I think Hannity is a blowhard,but I do watch it along with CNN and feel that they are far more truthful than NBC or the the rest of the media. Should have spent my $12 on lottery tickets instead, at least I would have received achance to get something for my money.

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Garbage!

    A waste of money!

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Folks, this is unhealthy.

    Im confused. What proof do you have? The book has... well rubish cited as fact. Im not sorry to say that this is a heavly biased volume. In no way am i trying to tell people not to buy this book (that would be an infrimgment of my own personal character) but seek truth from the SOIRCE. Not some secondary source. Thats how we remeber history amd preserveing primary soirces. That would mean to check the credibility of this books citations. (If it has any)
    Thats the bottom line folks.

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Sith lord news

    Some rehash but mostly an educational read for those unfamiliar with whats happening to American news.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Far left hate book.

    Far left hate book.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    A

    When all else fails,bash the only news channel that doesn't spout the liberal mantra.
    Which station gave Juan Williams the ax for speaking from his own concience before FOX hired him?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Lies

    Lies....

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    2013

    This book was telling me about fox

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Liberals own media matters

    Media matters is a left wing organazation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    The great gaspy

    I havent read it

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2