Customer Reviews for

Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    It might be too hard for absent-minded students to comprehend, but I loved it!

    This is an extremely powerful novel, and very moving. Yes, i found it to be rather racist, but the story was taken place in the 50's and that was common in that time. Yes, the the girls in the story DO have the right to call themselves a 'gang' because the word gang simply means 'to form a group of people', and in the 50's gangs were not anything like they are nowdays, they were not fueding over 2 colors of the rainbow (red & blue)! they were money and drug launderers, thieves, or people who enjoyed causing mischief. so yes, these girls could call themselves a gang. So to the two 'students' who wrote their comments, I say, you need to stay in school and learn more about the 50's, and learn what the word 'Gang' really means (amongst other words). This is a terrific book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Student Review

    Determined to tell nothing but the truth, the official chronicler of FOXFIRE, Maddy Wirtz, recounts the many adventures she and her friends endure during the abstract days of FOXFIRE. Being the only outlaw girl gang in Hammond, New York, five unique girls of FOXFIRE depend solely upon Legs Sadovsky, first-in-command, to get them through the day and out the Others' grasp.
    In Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang, Joyce Carol Oates instills in her captivated audience a novel that will keep one alertly focused and compelled to know what happens next to the young teenage girls of FOXFIRE. Throughout the novel, imagery and sensory details are clearly evident in each passage of every page, bringing forth a live sensation of actually being able to experience the scene(s). Known to have a single paragraph to go on for pages, Oates establishes in each elongated paragraph an empathetic emotion that literally pops out at the reader, creating an unforgettable moment that forces the reader to keep on reading. It also seems as though Oates wants her readers to understand that the sisterhood of the girls in FOXFIRE means something more than just a friendship that just so happened to take on the status of being an outlaw gang.
    Although Joyce Carol Oates develops well-defined characters that bring her story to a real-life level, one character in particular stands out above all the rest; Legs Sadovsky, the leader of FOXFIRE, a heroine among the gangs, the bringer of justice to friends. In her novel, Joyce Carol Oates portrays Legs to be a female Robin Hood, but more or less for the wrong reasons because of the way Legs and her friends go about justifying what they believe to be wrong.
    But, overall, Joyce Carol Oates has written a very unique book, from the intense feelings emitted through the pages to the personalities of the characters themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    a great book

    I enjoyed this novel. It's the kind of book that keeps you thinking about it even after you finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Confessions of a girl gang

    The novel Foxfire by Joyce Carol Oates is about a group of girls that become a well-known gang in upstate New York in the 1950¿s. Growing up these girl¿s lives never seemed perfect. Rita was heavy and slow when it came to school. She was made fun of and harassed be her teacher. Legs, the oldest, though rough around the edges was very hard on the girls. Her life was messed up causing her to lash out at her Foxfire girls. The others had just the same problems as Legs and Rita, but they became like sisters in their own family; doing anything to keep them all safe and happy no matter what that meant. The Foxfire girls were like tomboys and would do just about anything to keep their boyish figures making them look tough. They called themselves Foxfire swearing to the name and forever wearing the signs, all the while the world was clueless of them and their acts as well. One thing though that did not seem to make sense was if they were really a good gang then there would not be another wing of the Foxfire.<BR/><BR/>Overall I thought it was an okay book, very slow in the beginning but definitely picking up as the chapters go. Foxfire is a very detailed novel as well giving you a great idea of what the girls, places and just about everything looked and felt like. The only thing that was confusing was the flip flopping in the beginning, going from Maddy¿s (a Foxfire founder) thoughts and the over view of the narrator¿s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Really interesting but Could be Better

    Overall this was a good book but not great. I wasn't really impressed with the ending. There was some really good scenes but at some point the story started to drag on. The story may have been more interesting if it was told from Legs point of view. Basically the book was about this group of girls that looked up to Legs and did everything she said. They werent allowed to date or hang out with other girls outside of the group. The group gets involved in all these small, petty crimes which eventually grow into bigger crimes but...the plot was enough to keep me reading but it couldv'e been better maybe if we knew more of legs and the other girls before they joined the gang?im not sure. I didnt feel a srong connection with the characters. And yes there was alot of racist terms used in the book...I do think Joyce was trying to capture the time period but she may have overdone it. This was my second book by Joyce and it was overall a good read but Man Crazy was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang

    this book is terrible!!! none of these girls had any right or reason to call their group a 'gang' because i know what real gangs are like and Foxfire wouldn't last a second running with the real gangs. i kept reading hoping these girls would wise up and get lives but instead their next ideas were worse than the last. all the girls except for one are racist and all are sexist. this is without a doubt the worst book i have ever had the displeasure of being forced to read for summer reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang

    i was forced to read this book as a part of my summer reading. my english teacher assured us it was a great book and we would love it. unfortunately she could not be any more mistaken. i found the book to be rather boring and pointless. basically this book is about a group of atheist, white girls who have nothing better to do than form a 'gang' and go along with whatever their 'first-in-command' wants to do. maybe if it was a true gang it would have been better. but these girls had no right to be calling their group a gang. they did not come from that kind a neighborhood and would be killed if they went to a neighborhood where real gangs are. this book is also extremely prejudiced. there are many examples of racism where the girls refer to blacks with the n word and one girl refers to herself as 'superior' to them. it is even worse to men. according to the gang 'men are the enemy'. they even take advantage of them by first prostituting themselves and then when the men think the girls want to move on to the next level the girls threaten to call the police inorder to take the men's money. in the end the girls decide to kidnap a wealthy man inorder to get a million dollars in ransom and never have to work again. well it doesn't work out, the leader dies, and the 'gang' falls apart. so basically if you are looking for a good read i suggest you do not read this book. and for all the english teachers, please never assign this book for the sake of your students happiness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang

    I have never read a book by Joyce Carol Oates but this is the best book I have read in years....I found that the story diplays true faith in your friends and realtionships developed between the girls that under normal circumstances would never accosiate with each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Fabuleous

    Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang, written by Joyce Carol Oates tells the story of five young girls joined in a gang in Upstate, New York during 1950¿s, and their experiences with the outside world. The book talks about the gang and how it was based on loyalty, dedication, pride, and power. The book dealt with themes like sexual abuse, exploitation, physical violence, and vengeance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    I wish I could give more stars

    Wow...brilliant...outstanding...compulsively readable. Each character has their own unique qualities and especially Legs who keeps the book alive. Its sincere, action packed, and thought provoking. Bravo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Foxfire Never Says Sorry!! (and for good reason; it doesn't have to)

    I absolutely loved this book!! Legs is the best character ever created by Joyce Carol Oates. The intense relationship between Legs and Maddy is what pulled me into this phenomenal tale. Read this book, and then see this movie!! Both deserve this 5-star rating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    FOXFIRE BURNS AND BURNS

    Foxfire is one of the greatest books I have read in a long time. The bond these girls share is unforgettable. The story is daring, imaginative, and heart wrenching. Legs is a awesome character. Foxfire will burn in your heart forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    It was great

    This is one of the best books. It convinces girls to stick up for themselves. I think anyone who liked to book should also see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2000

    my review

    This is a very good book. It compels girls to take care of themselves and not let other people hold them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    Compelling Novel

    Joyce Carol Oates is an impenatrable author and Foxfire is no exeption. She makes me wonder how to get a little bit of all the girls in me. Gripping. Brava!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    girl power

    Deeply moving. compelling. sensual and yet a wake up call.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    Burn Foxfire Burn

    Foxfire is one of the best books I have read. It holds a place for the time today, the female bond and sexuality was supurb. This is a must read for anyone who is faced with obsticals they cant really find a way out of. Legs Sadowsky is one great character!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2