Customer Reviews for

Fraction of the Whole

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely worth the length

    A hilarious account of two brothers who both chose completely opposite ways to live, and saw completely different results from what they wanted. Incredibly fast-paced with tons of small stories that intertwine to create an extraordinary novel. Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    This delightful, deranged family story made me laugh until I cri

    This delightful, deranged family story made me laugh until I cried, read when I wanted to sleep, burn in the sun, not return phone calls, mourn the end when half-way through, relish my eccentricities, redefine madness and humanity, worship the author, question existence/reimagine suicide and cherish my misanthropy.
    Do I recommend it? Hell yes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    Fantastic

    A modern day epic journey following the story of a man from child hood up to adulthood and continues with some of his sons point of view. Philosophers of today, they today's society and try to always keep at arms length from it. One of my favorite books i recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    loved it

    very unique. it is poignant, funny, and full of wonderful life lessons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    I loved this book - glad it was so long and wished it was longer

    I loved this book - glad it was so long and wished it was longer!   When is your next one coming out Steve??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    The writing is beautiful first person perspective. Intelligent but not overbearing or boastful. It feels so deeply personal, and sad in a funny way. The story is something we can all relate to: heartbreak, feelings of worthlessness, but he is so honest and innocent of the hilarity of it all, not at all lamenting; which is ironically why it's so funny. What do you call this-- a tragicomedy? The stories within the story are so genius and so simple. His prose is beautiful without being flashy. Simple profundity. The character's voice is almost monotonous, lacking excitability, jaded and almost cynical...aaallllmost. Which also makes it funnier. The story is awesome, yet it's not incredible. It's awesome in its lack of effort at trying to be awesome. I love that. While I felt sad for the character, I was laughing out loud constantly because the way he describes tragic moments is hilarious. Love this book. This is definitely my new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Satisfaction of the Whole

    About a month after reading this book, I realized it was one of my favorites of all time. It didn't hit me at first, but took time to resonate. There are few books that can really characterize a nation. Midnight's Children did it for India. 100 Years of Solitude did it for Colombia. A Fraction of the Whole does it for Australia. The book follows the life of Jasper and his father Martin Dean. This book is funny, philosophical, historical, and everything in between. My only complaint is that it could have used some editing. Some sections do not add to the story, and at 570 pages, it could have used some trimming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious

    Fraction of the Whole is the sort of book which produces uncontrollable fits of laughter. The author provides the characters constant opportunities to voice their sardonic insights. By creating faulty and impossible characters, the author is able to offer healthy criticism of convention and human intellectual weakness without seeming pedantic. The book weaves tragedy into the ridiculous in order to build a three dimensional house of lunacy that the reader is happy to inhabit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Quirky and engaging

    Really enjoyabe with a compelling voice. Reminded my of Confederacy of Dunces, another winning first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    Seemed to drag

    I did not find the story compelling enough to continue beyond about one quarter of it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2