Customer Reviews for

Fractured

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Great read

    I loved this book. It had alot of twists & turns. I finished it in 1 1/2 days. I hated to see it end. Ms Slaughter took alot of heat on this site for her last book (which I liked)I think she is terrifc & I am looking forward to he rnext book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    second in a great series

    I was glad when Karin Slaughter started a new crime series two years ago with Triptych, as I was tiring of her Grant County novels (especially after the way she chose to end the most recent, Beyond Reach.) Fractured is a sequel to Triptych and again features Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent Wil Trent. A wealthy Atlanta housewife kills an intruder in her home after discovering the dead body of a girl whom she initially mistakes for her daughter. Her nightmare is just beginning, however, as it soon becomes clear that her teenager has actually been kidnapped. Agents Amanda Wagner and Wil Trent of the GBI are called in to investigate the crime and recover the girl they are assisted by Atlanta State Police detective Faith Mitchell, who has major issues with Trent after he helped end her mother's career on the force. The plot barrels forward inexorably, sometimes focusing on the distraught parents, sometimes on the cops and sometimes on the villains, and the suspense is excruciating. Slaughter also uses the city of Atlanta to great effect, exploring wealthy Ansley Park (where the mystery begins), grimy slums and the university campus. But the conflicts between the flawed investigators really made this book stand out for me, and I can't wait to hear from them again. Also recommended:'A Stranger Lies There' - an exciting, moving crime novel based in the desert around Palm Springs, it won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Great Read!!

    I usually read a variety of books but I've always been a crime suspense thriller girl. Actually this is the first book I've read from this author and I loved it from start to finish. If there is anything I despise its books that start off extremely slow where I lose interest altogether but it was exciting to read and definitely keeps you going until you figure out the next detail.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Police procedural fans will love this book

    Affluent attorney Abigail Campano returns to her mansion in Atlanta's upscale Ansley Park section only to see a dead girl lying on the upstairs hallway. Without getting a close look, a stunned Abigail assumes the victim is her teenage daughter Emma. The apparent killer had not yet left the premise and the outraged Abby kills him. Georgia Bureau of Investigation Agent Will Trent investigates along with Atlanta police Detective Faith Mitchell. The father Paul arrives filled with belligerence and bluster. Paul looks at the body and notices the lack of a birthmark he insists the corpse of the teen is not his daughter he and Abigail feel guilt and relief as Emma's friend Kayla Alexander lies dead on the floor.-------------- Will concludes that besides the obvious murder, someone kidnapped Emma. His fear is that they are too late to save the life of the seventeen year old girl but he and Faith remain determined to try while the case is already confusing with the homicide and the death of the alleged killer by the lioness in her home, neither expected the twists that the investigation takes. Still both cops fear they are too late.------------- Police procedural fans need to set aside time for this one sitting 400-page thriller as the audience will keep on adding one more exciting chapter after another to read. The two cops Will and Faith are a wonderful pairing as both are dedicated, but flawed those personal defects augment a strong thriller. Filled with twists, FRACTURED will leave Karin Slaughter fans clamoring for the next GBI installment (see TRIPTYCH for the previous one).-------------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Fractured is simply amazing !!! before i read this i was saying

    Fractured is simply amazing !!! before i read this i was saying to myself well i wanna read Triptych first but i realized very quickly that it didn't matter,
    Karin's writing style is so good and her characters are amazing and thought provoking it seemed like a stand alone book to be honest..  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Amazing twists and turns what keep you reading into the night!

    Slaughter's treatment of 'damaged souls' like Will Trent and Lena Adams (Georgia County series) is amazing. The reader is so caught up in the characters that when the twists and turns occur in the plot, it hits you out of nowhere! I could not put this book down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Good read

    Gosh, I have so enjoyed Karin Slaughter books. This one did not disappoint. I loved it. Is it me, or do her books keep getting better and better? I know this book features a character from Triptych, but I don't think you have to read it first - this book stands on its own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Good read

    I have enjoyed this series. Interesting plot and characters. Recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    I really have enjoyed reading Karin Slaughters books! I am now hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Could not put it down...

    I have read Karin Slaughter before and have always enjoyed her books. But 'Fractured' was the book that I could not wait to see what happened next. I received the book 2 days ago and I have already finished it. It is outstanding. I recommend this book to anyone that loves a good mystery with twists and turns. T. Lovell

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    ) Amazing Storyline, Heart Pounding Action, Superb Character Development and Intensity Spread Across the Pages

    Karin Slaughter¿s latest release, Fractured is completely deserving of the acclaim and high praises it has received. Abigail Campano arrives home to discover her door unlocked and shattered glass around her feet. Her first response is fear for the well being of her daughter, Emma. As she rushes upstairs, she comes face to face with the battered and bloody body of her daughter and a man kneeling over her body with a knife in his hand. Pure adrenaline and rage consumes Abigail and she strangles the man to death. Enter Will Trent, member of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Will struggles with the crime scene and determines that the brutalized body upstairs does not belong to Emma Campano, but to her best friend Kayla, and the murdered man Abigail strangled with her bare hands was actually Emma¿s boyfriend, whose attempt to save Emma and Kayla got him killed. The shift from the murder to the reality of the kidnapping of Emma, forces Will to pair up with Atlanta officer Faith Mitchell. Running against the clock and without any suspects or leads, Will and Faith must work together to find Emma and catch a killer. Fractured is filled with plot twists and heart pounding intensity. Beyond Karin Slaughter¿s ability to provide her readers with an excellent storyline and superb mystery, she is able to delve into the characters emotions and backgrounds so deeply that readers feel they know these men and women. The return of our favorites like Will and his boss Amanda paired with new intriguing characters like Faith, Abigail and the monstrous villains will surly please its audience. Fractured is by far one of Slaughter¿s best works, she gives her readers everything and them some more. Valerie Jones

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Great read from the first page. Bought this book off the bargain

    Great read from the first page. Bought this book off the bargain bin at B&N and loved it. Looking forward to reading more from this author and of the Will Trent series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    Love, Love, Love this book! I am a huge fan of Karin Slaughter

    Love, Love, Love this book! I am a huge fan of Karin Slaughter and once again she didn't let me down. This is a fast pace thriller that once you start reading you will get nothing else down. It is a must read for the Will Trent Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    A good read

    I just started her Will Trent series and really enjoyed the first three. It is nice to have another author to add to my "must read" list. My only negative is that there are very few pages that do not contain vulgar language. A little of that goes a long way and to me adds nothing to the story. If that does not offend you then give this book a try. It is a hard one to put down.
    Ddog

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This book along with all her other books whether be in a series or a stand alone book are must read! She pulls you in from the beginning and has you on the edge of your seat the entire time! You get caught up in the lives of her characters and will want to read the following book so you can see where they are going! A very good author and I hope she continues to write!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Good read Sissy 3/15/2013

    Sissy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Blank....o rating

    Bought this book and entire 351 pages are blank ..where's my refund? Jan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    This was the first book I read by the author before I realized that it was the sequel in the Will Trent Series. I really enjoyed it and plan to read the first book in the series. Really liked the characters, especially Will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Fantastic

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No Michael Connely

    However, a good writer and storyteller. I was looking for a new author to read and glad I found this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7