BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fractured

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    second in a great series

    I was glad when Karin Slaughter started a new crime series two years ago with Triptych, as I was tiring of her Grant County novels (especially after the way she chose to end the most recent, Beyond Reach.) Fractured is a sequel to Triptych and again features Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent Wil Trent. A wealthy Atlanta housewife kills an intruder in her home after discovering the dead body of a girl whom she initially mistakes for her daughter. Her nightmare is just beginning, however, as it soon becomes clear that her teenager has actually been kidnapped. Agents Amanda Wagner and Wil Trent of the GBI are called in to investigate the crime and recover the girl they are assisted by Atlanta State Police detective Faith Mitchell, who has major issues with Trent after he helped end her mother's career on the force. The plot barrels forward inexorably, sometimes focusing on the distraught parents, sometimes on the cops and sometimes on the villains, and the suspense is excruciating. Slaughter also uses the city of Atlanta to great effect, exploring wealthy Ansley Park (where the mystery begins), grimy slums and the university campus. But the conflicts between the flawed investigators really made this book stand out for me, and I can't wait to hear from them again. Also recommended:'A Stranger Lies There' - an exciting, moving crime novel based in the desert around Palm Springs, it won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Good read

    Gosh, I have so enjoyed Karin Slaughter books. This one did not disappoint. I loved it. Is it me, or do her books keep getting better and better? I know this book features a character from Triptych, but I don't think you have to read it first - this book stands on its own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Good read

    I have enjoyed this series. Interesting plot and characters. Recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    A good read

    I just started her Will Trent series and really enjoyed the first three. It is nice to have another author to add to my "must read" list. My only negative is that there are very few pages that do not contain vulgar language. A little of that goes a long way and to me adds nothing to the story. If that does not offend you then give this book a try. It is a hard one to put down.
    Ddog

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This book along with all her other books whether be in a series or a stand alone book are must read! She pulls you in from the beginning and has you on the edge of your seat the entire time! You get caught up in the lives of her characters and will want to read the following book so you can see where they are going! A very good author and I hope she continues to write!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Fantastic

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No Michael Connely

    However, a good writer and storyteller. I was looking for a new author to read and glad I found this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    pretty good

    Good thriller, reads fast and story kept me interested. I do find the fact that Will is dyslexic a bit annoying - I keep thinking about how he managed to make it in law enforcement as that seems a bit unrealistic. Overall, I did enjoy this book but not quite as much as the previous book "Triptych."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!

    What would you do if you came home to find an intruder leaning over the bloodied body of your daughter? That is what Abigail Campano must decide in a split second, because the intruder has a knife and is coming toward her. Enraged she kills the young guy. But when GBI Agent Will Trent gets to the Ansley Park mansion, he sees something that Atlanta PD Detective Faith Mitchell and her team missed. The girl in the upstairs hallway is not Emma Campano. Her father, Paul, believes the girl is Emma's best friend Kayla Alexander, and insists that the Georgia Bureau of Investigation take over the investigation from the Atlanta Police Department. Paul Campano wants the best team in GBI to find his daughter, not "Trashcan" Trent. But Trent stays on the case and is partnered with Mitchell. Faith has reasons also to want Will off of this high profile murder/kidnap case. But the Bureau Chief prevails. The case twists and turns leading them to the girls' school, to the University, and ultimately to a run down house in an unsavory part of Atlanta. But will they find the teenager alive in that house, or is she closer than they think? Time is running out for the teenager. Will and Faith have lost precious hours, because Detective Mitchell wrongly assumed Emma was dead as well as her killer. But the dead boy was Emma's boyfriend. No clues. No suspects.

    Slaughter creates layered characters, both good and bad. Every relationship is fractured. While the story gets bogged down some in these relationships and characterizations, the plot is strong and well paced. Dyslexia is central to the story, and is an unusual twist in a police procedural to have the lead investigator battle the condition. FRACTURED is without a doubt one of the best mystery/thriller I've read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Very good

    Exciting crime story sort of concludes rapidly at the end of the story but good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    This series is very good. There is an interesting twist in the whole storyline. I did find that towards the end of the series, I was becoming a little bored with it, so i did not read the last 2 novels. It was confusing that Karin Slaughter did not put these books in an order, so I ended up reading the first three out of place, and had to look up on her website the order of the books. That was a downer. But all in all, a good set of what I read.

    Lisa Corkern

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Great

    Karin Slaughter does it again. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2