Customer Reviews for

Fractured Light

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    4 STARS Fractured Light is the first book in the series. I like

    4 STARS

    Fractured Light is the first book in the series. I liked it. Last year I had read Fractured Soul the second book in Fractured Light series and like it. I am going to read it again so I am ready for Fractured Truth the last book in the series I believe.

    Fractured Light is a young adult book that is centered around Llona Reese. She is a senior in high school. Llona has lived her life on the run hiding from the killer who killed her mom. Llona lives with her Uncle after her dad died. Llona ia a Aura like her mom.
    Aura can manipulate light and the Vyken want to kill Auras and take their power.

    Most Aura are at a special place to get trained. Llona wants to finish at a regular high school. She is learning a little about her power but not much. When the moon is full Llona has lots more power and is faster and stronger. When the moon is a sliver she can hardly do anything. Llona really likes Christian.

    May is a friend of Llona. May has lots of friends but she gets close to none. Where Llona has stayed alone but this year she has decided to be more outgoing.

    Christian is a football player sometimes he acts like he really likes Llona and cares about her. He is always watching and being protective of her.

    Jake is her Uncle that she lives with. Since her father died he mainly plays video games. He has mourned his brother. He is not much of adult for Llona to rely on. He has no job.

    Llona's father has left her plenty of money to live on. When she thinks they need to move for safety they do. She picked the house in UT. This time she does not want to run away she wants to finish high school where she is at. So when scary things happen around her she hides them from everyone.

    The setting for this book is Salt Lake City, UT. and Wasatch mountains.

    Lots of high school drama on top of super natural powers. Llona is not the only one who is different. I like the characters and I want to see where they go from here.

    I bought the book on Amazon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Yeah. What a fun, exhilarating series! I really liked this o

    Yeah. What a fun, exhilarating series!




    I really liked this one cause it was different! There is the whole Aura thing, romance, and a bestie with powers as well. Rachel McClellan tells an INCREDIBLE story that keeps you on the edge of your seat through the whole book just waiting to see what who the Vyken is (and if you guess before the end than you are GOOD!)




    The story was really well written and really pulls you in. I really loved the book and found it to be a really fast, totally engaging page turner.  I don’t want to say too much about either one, cause I’m afraid I’ll give away the story, but this one is one that you will enjoy! It really has such an other wordless to it that I can’t describe.




    I have to say something about the covers to, they what totally pulled me in and made me want to read the books! They are beautiful and totally evoke the mood of the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    **4 Stars** I received a copy of this book for an honest review

    **4 Stars**
    I received a copy of this book for an honest review as part of a blog tour.

    MY OVERVIEW: Wow. What a rollercoaster of a book. It was a great read and I breezed through it. 

    PROS: Llona was written beautifully. Her struggles with who she is seemed so real. I loved seeing how she progressed through the book, and especially once Christian came into the picture. (Another great character)

    CONS: There is a lot that is still confusing. One big question that hasn’t gotten answered is what Jake has to do with all this. Does he/did he hold the same position Llona’s father did? Also, who the Vyken is, isn’t that big of a stretch. Kinda saw it coming. 

    MY FINAL THOUGHTS: I really look forward to reading the next book in the series. The book left off with a big enough cliff-hanger to where you want to keep going, but at the same time, a small enough one that if there wasn’t another book, you would be ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan¿¿¿¿¿ Llona lost her parents

    Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan¿¿¿¿¿ Llona lost her parents at a young age and had been living with her Uncle Jake ever since. She was forced to be the adult since Jake was still in a depressed state. Llona was special and had to hide what she was and refused to go to the school that promised people like her. She didn’t have any friends other than May and kept everyone at arms' length... until Christian came into her life. She learned to let people in, and she learned more about herself and the power she held inside. This book was awesome, and I really enjoyed it. It took me a bit to get introduced to the story and learn the names of things; but once I got used to it, it was a fast, fun read. I enjoyed the characters and the subtle hints that were thrown my way. The book kept me guessing, but I got my AHA moment near the end. The characters felt real, and I really enjoyed seeing Llona change and the relationships grow between her and her new friends -- especially May and Christian. The author had a very nice writing style that I found fluid and kept me wanting to read more. When she ended a chapter, it was difficult to stop with how they left off, which propelled me to continue reading more. I met the author a year ago when she was at a book event at my college in Maine. I had seen Fractured Light around the blogging world and had already been interested in reading it, so I had to buy it when I saw her at the event. I love autographed books, of course. I actually had to leave the event, but she told me she was doing another event at Books-A-Million so I went to that one after, purchased her book, and got it autographed. My fiancé was with me and so was my friend Katie, and we ended up hanging out with her for the entire event and talking with her. I arrived at Books-A-Million before she did and, at the time, knew a lot of the employees because they were previous Borders employees. They somehow had communication issues and didn’t know about the event; so luckily, I asked and they were able to get something set up for her. I wish there had been more awareness for her because she was a ton of fun to talk to (well, maybe I don't feel too bad since I was able to talk to her as much as I did), and now I know that her books are awesome.  It took me a while to begin reading it because this year has been crazy, but receiving the ARC of Fractured Soul so I could be a part of the blog tour was great incentive and at least this way I can start reading Fractured Soul right away. I would definitely recommend this book to Fantasy readers. I’m really excited to start Fractured Soul and also look forward to reading more of Rachel’s work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really loved this book. When I read the blurb, I thought it s

    I really loved this book. When I read the blurb, I thought it sounded
    interesting, but I was so pleasantly surprised at just how good this
    book really is. Llona Reese is an Aura, which means she can manipulate
    light. This is a powerful thing, and a very dangerous thing. There are
    evil beings called Vyken who want nothing more than to drain the Auras
    and steal their light for their own pleasure and power. With both of
    Llona's parents dead, all she wants to do is stay alive. She has
    wrapped herself in a cocoon, trying to remain as invisible as possible
    to the world around her. It's her senior year at high school, and she
    wants nothing more than to make it through unscathed and unnoticed, only
    there are some kinks she didn't count on, interfering with her plan.
    One of those kinks is the hottie Christian, who is new at school and has
    taken quite the interest in Llona. Despite trying to talk herself out
    of it, Llona finds herself very interested in him to, which is quite
    strange, as she has never been interested in anyone before. Then there
    is her mysterious and smoking hot teacher, Mr. Steele, and she just goes
    into a complete brain fog when she is around him, having to consciously
    force herself to remain focused. As her powers begin to develop,
    strange things begin to happen. Suddenly Llona seems to be in danger,
    Christian is always showing up every time she's in danger,the people she
    thinks she knows are not who they seem, and Llona isn't sure who she can
    trust. Determined to survive she begins to take her destiny into her
    own hands, and she is determined to fight for it. I liked Llona. She
    was snarky and funny, even though she tried to remain low-profile. I
    especially loved Christian, though I did get rather frustrated with him
    "following the rules" for so long. I was really anxious for
    he and Llona to move past those barriers. I enjoyed all the secondary
    characters in the book also. The story captured my attention in the
    first chapter and kept me turning the pages throughout the whole book.
    There is quite a bit of action and mystery, and Rachel McClellan keeps
    you guessing with the twists and turns she has written. The romance was
    sweet, though I really would like to see a little more action between
    Llona and Christian. The plot was also imaginative and creative. If
    you love YA paranormal romance, with some action, combined with a little
    mythology and mystery, then this is one book you will want to check out.
    I thoroughly enjoyed Fractured Light and I am looking forward to the
    next book in in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It is rare to find a book that catches me by surprise, but that

    It is rare to find a book that catches me by surprise, but that is
    precisely what happened with Fractured Light. I had not previously
    heard of the author and did not know what to expect, but it definitely
    was not what I found. When I sat down to begin reading this novel, I
    did not expect to finish it in less than 48 hours. I did not expect to
    be so sucked into the story that life around me would cease to exist.
    And I definitely did not expect to be so drawn to the characters that I
    would feel as though I was experiencing everything with them. You
    quickly find that everything around Llona is not as she thought it was
    going to be. Life takes many unexpected turns for her and you will find
    yourself unable to walk away. I am writing this at four o'clock in the
    morning as I have finished reading this novel because sleep seemed
    unimportant as the pages flowed out before me. I just had to keep
    reading. I had to know where the story was going to go next. There
    were many unexpected surprises in this novel that will keep the reader
    on the edge of their seat until the very end. Throughout the ebook
    text, I found some minor grammatical errors and misspellings, but am
    willing to chalk that up to the typesetting portion of the process and
    they in no way detracted from the story at all. The characters were
    believable and the "good guys" were likable. The bad guys are
    the kind you love to hate, but have to almost feel sorry for. Overall,
    this was an excellent read, and I cannot wait for book two in the
    series, Titled Fractured Soul. Maybe the author will chime in and tell
    us when we can purchase that one as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    I don’t read many YA novels, but Rachel McClellan’s

    I don’t read many YA novels, but Rachel McClellan’s “Fractured Light” came highly recommended, so I gave it a proverbial spin.

    McClellan does a great job in helping the reader visualize her world. The settings and the scenery are well described, but not overdone. She also does a great job with her characters; especially the main character, Llona, a damaged and vulnerable young lady who maintains a high level of compassion for others even as she faces ever-increasing danger.

    McClellan introduces readers to Auras, Furies, and Vykens (similar to vampires), while doling out bits and pieces of a long, shared history that is both intriguing and promising. Of course, the reader knows there’s much more to the story—to all the stories, that is—than they’ll ever receive in this installment … so we’ll forgive McClellan for toying with our innate curiosity because the main story in “Fractured Light” offers enjoyment enough.

    And thank you, thank you, thank you, Ms. McClellan, for avoiding that dreadful YA staple—the love triangle. I admit that I full expected two things upon meeting Matt and Christian: 1) that they’d vie for Llona’s heart; and 2) that I’d vomit in my mouth when they did (not because the love triangle wouldn’t be thrilling and oh-so-romantic, but because it’s just something I like to do while reading!). I was pleasantly surprised that the former didn’t occur and pleasantly relieved that the latter didn’t, either.

    With that said, I would’ve welcomed somehow working a love angle with Mr. Steele into the mix—a risky proposition in the YA world, I admit, but there was so much obvious chemistry …

    Nevertheless, McClellan’s readers will thoroughly enjoy this tale. The characters are compelling, the settings are appealing, and the storyline is intriguing. I highly recommend “Fractured Light” to YA and paranormal fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's Review of Fracture Light

    The first emotion that I felt when I started reading Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan was…sadness. From the very opening of the story, I felt sad. I could feel the sorrow and sense of loss that main character Llona Reese goes through at the funeral/cemetery. It was at this point that I knew that this was going to be a promising read. If the author is already able to conjure up this emotion in a matter of a few pages, I knew that there was only more to come.

    I really enjoyed how McClellan introduces the characters in Fracture Light. Their interactions with each other were so addictive to follow. You could already see the budding relationships forming, which is always exciting to watch unfold. And of course, a Young Adult book is never complete without at least ONE character to hate…enter Brian. I mean, what a jerk! How he talks to Llana made me clench my teeth. Again, another sign that this was going to be a great read. EMOTIONS! McClellan does such a great job developing her characters throughout the book. You could really imagine them all as real people, not just an imaginary person in a book. Love, love her writing style.

    I found that McClellan’s concept of “light” very interesting and that it reminded me just a little bit of Buffy The Vampire Slayer’s “sister” Dawn, who was “the key” disguised as a human. For those of you who were die hard Buffy fans, you’ll understand what I mean once you read the book. I love those stories of “you can’t always see what’s staring you in the face” type stories. My mind went on different tangents throughout the book trying to decipher who knew what/who Llana was…like I was playing detective, but one who didn’t finger the right culprit. Good thing I’m not really a detective!

    Reading about the “dark figure” was totally creeping me out! There aren’t that many books out there anymore that can creep me out, but Fractured Light was among the few that did. It probably didn’t help that I’m home alone most nights, up wayyyy late reading in the almost dark, alone…hearing noises…feeling eyes watching me…eep! McClellan is such great story teller. She provides the reader with such vivid descriptions of this shadow creeper, that this book was seriously giving me a complex. I really felt like something or someone was watching me!

    This is such a fantastic, suspenseful read! Each chapter will keep you guessing until the very end, when everything you’ve been questioning is finally revealed.

    I encourage everyone who loves a good paranormal suspense read to give Fractured Light a read. You won’t be disappointed, and maybe…JUST maybe, you’ll be looking over your shoulder every so often, or peeking at your window for a shadowy creeper… like I was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Llona's character is the main draw to this novel. She is brave,

    Llona's character is the main draw to this novel. She is brave, strong, and determined in the face of adversity. Llona is an Aura and can control light's energy. She has not had it easy at all, her parents were slaughtered by the Vykens and have made it clear that Llona is next on their hit-list. She tries to protect herself and ends up in trouble more often than not because of it. When she finally runs into Christian, who tells her he is her Guardian, and that he can teach her how to weaponize her light.


    Christian's character will be appreciated by the reader. He is protective and caring towards Llona. The reader knows that he truly cares for her. Their relationship is a little rocky at times. Christian does not know what he wants from Llona besides protecting her and Llona has a clear idea in mind. The other characters are not as focused upon, but they are fun to get to know, for the most part.


    This book is fast-paced. The reader will find her/himself turning page after page to find out what happens in the next chapter. Llona prepares for the final fight between her and the Vykens with Christian as a mentor. The reader will enjoy the tension and action that is literally palpable throughout the novel. This book is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was a very different story & had me hooked as soon as I started it! I loved the whole light vs. darkness idea from the beginning and was impressed with all the things that light could do! Llona is a spectacular heroine, too! She's seems like such a weak & fragile little girl who hides from the world, but as she learns more about herself & the world around her she grows & changes in some unexpected ways! There are lots of surprises - some good, some bad, and action & mystery around every corner. I will definitely be looking for more of this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Interesting Concept

    Llona has a tragic past. Her mother and father died tragically at different times in her youth. Her mother was also very special; she was a Aura. Auras can use the Light to help people, and this ability has been passed on to Llona. Llona is trying to hide as much as possible though to try and avoid her mother's fate. Her mother was killed by a Vyken, a being of pure evil who can feed off of Auras. The minute Llona decides to relax some, horrible things begin happening. Llona will have to face the fact that someone is after her, but she will also find allies she didn't expect. Now all she has to do to survive is learn to fight back.


    I thought this was a really interesting book. Llona was a character that took some getting used to. She was just so dreary in the beginning. I understand why, but that doesn't make her any more enjoyable initially. As she began to let loose and take charge of her life, she became much more interesting and enjoyable to read about. Also, I saw the reveal of the bad guy coming a mile away. That wasn't that surprising. Those things aside, I found it to be an enjoyable book. I became fairly absorbed in the book after the beginning, and I was able to read the book in one day. I found myself wanting desperately to know how it ended. Even though I knew who the bad guy was early on, there were some very interesting things and some twists I didn't quite see coming. So there was still some mystery for me.


    Overall, I enjoyed the unique aspect of this book. I really wanted to learn more about Llona's abilities. I hope we get a sequel with Llona's post-graduation education. I also loved her friends, especially May and Christian. I found Christian's waffling back and forth between friend zone and relationship zone a tiny bit sudden, although it was explained. I ended up not wanting the book to end, and I definitely look forward to reading more about Llona. Fans of YA who like unique paranormal books with some romance and adventure will enjoy this book.


    Book provided for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1