Customer Reviews for

Fragile Eternity (Wicked Lovely Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 715 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

#3 and still intriguing

Fragile Eternity returns to the story of Seth and Aislinn and Keenan and Donia, the main couples in Wicked Lovely. Seth and Aislinn are perfect for each other. They have been through so much, but there is one thing neither one of them can help. Aislinn will live forever...
Fragile Eternity returns to the story of Seth and Aislinn and Keenan and Donia, the main couples in Wicked Lovely. Seth and Aislinn are perfect for each other. They have been through so much, but there is one thing neither one of them can help. Aislinn will live forever, and Seth will not. Adding to the turmoil, as the Summer Equinox draws closer, so do Aislinn and Keenan, and Aislinn grows further apart from Seth. Seth decides to do the only thing he can do, which is exactly what EVERYONE else DOESN'T want him to do. Keenan still loves Doria, the Winter Queen, but if he has a chance with Aislinn, he's going to take it. And Doria is tired of waiting for her chance with him. In the first two novels, Keenan was not exactly my favorite character (THAT would be Seth) but in Fragile Eternity, his lovely, conflicted, not-all-as-it-seems personality fascinated me. I am just dying to know what he's all about. I am still not sure who is the good guy and who is the bad in this series, which just makes me want to keep reading. And, in case you're wondering, Donia is my least favorite character.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the others!

This book begins well enough, but as you get into it, it just seems to drag on, saying the same thing over and over just in a different way. I have to admit to really struggling with wanting to finish it, it got that repetitive and had very little substance to the stor...
This book begins well enough, but as you get into it, it just seems to drag on, saying the same thing over and over just in a different way. I have to admit to really struggling with wanting to finish it, it got that repetitive and had very little substance to the story. By the time that I finally reached page 252, only two things of any importance had happened, the rest was just saying over and over that Ash loves Seth and Kennan loves Donia, beyond that no other message came through. I would highly suggest that you save your money and spend it on a much worthier book. The other 2 books in the series were wonderful and captivating, but this one is boring, redundant and not worth your time. Nothing really outstanding in it.

posted by LydiainJoliet on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fragile Eternity

    Finally...a look into Ash's boyfriend, Seth. While this book doesn't necessarily revolve around him, it takes a long, hard, honest look into the relationship between the Summer Queen and her mortal boyfriend. We see how complicated and frustrated both are with the situation. While is immortal, she lives knowing that Seth will age and die and she will be without him for the majority of her life. Seth is terrified of losing Ash to the emotions and needs of her Faery Summer Court, and especially her Summer King.

    Seth must find a way to stay with Ash forever, but his options are incredibly limited. To top it all off, Bananach, a faery that craves nothing but war and chaos, has her hands in the pot stirring away, hoping to start an all out war between the factions. Seth finds himself stuck in the middle, being used as a pawn to further various courts desires. Will he make the correct decisions, or will he cause the devastating war that Bananach hopes for?

    This volume of Melissa Marr's series was quite intense. Everyone is at everyone else's throats over something. We are also introduced to the High Court, the court that almost never fully leaves the Faery realm. All the characters are forced to make hard decisions, decisions that could effect the balance of things everywhere. I did get a little tired of hearing Seth and Ash complain about their mortal/immortal situation. We realize this upsets you, I don't want to hear about it every 20 pages or so. However. this series just keeps going strong and it sounds like there may be more to come. I certainly hope so!

    4/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could've Been Better, But I Liked It

    Well if you've read the first two books (Wicked Lovely and Ink Exchange) in this series then of course you must read Fragile Eternity.

    About:
    So, in this book Seth, Aislinn's mortal boyfriend, is struggling to keep Aislinn. He is determined to spend eternity loving Aislinn, not wanting to die and leave her with Keenan. Keenan wants to strengthen the Summer Court by really being with Aislinn, and throughout the story he tries to convince her.

    My Thoughts on the Book:
    Fragile Eternity was an alright book, not nearly as good as Wicked Lovely and Ink Exchange (Ink Exchange is my favorite ^.^). In fiction books there is usually a problem that is set out to be resolved through the plot. In Fragile Eternity, I felt that the "problem" was not the core of the book as I feel it should have been. As I was reading, the plot seemed to move along slowly and there were several unnecessary parts used just to fill pages. The story ended too abruptly; it felt more like the end of a chapter than the end of a book. I felt the story was not wrapped up well enough. The reader is left hanging with hardly a clue of what is going on, having to wait for the next book to get the rest.
    Please, do not get me wrong, although Fragile Eternity was disappointing, I did enjoy it. Having read the other books in the series, there was no way I could not.

    I hope I helped :D Happy Reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent addition, can't wait till the next one!

    I had been wondering how Seth really felt about Aislinn being the summer queen, I found out. This book seemed to bounce through more characters than the others but still kept the story together and didn't let me get lost. I love the new realtionship between Seth & Sorcha, I think it is very sweet & fits the series well. I really didn't feel sorry for Aislinn eventough she is torn between what was & what is and I still don't understand why Donia can't find love & move on from Keannen I hope she can find love in the final book to come. I can't wait.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    This book

    It gets boring sometimes but i guess the whole picture is really quite beautiful.. try it if you read first and second..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is the second time I have read this series. So ready for a next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    This book was wonderful!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Great Read

    I like that this series branches off and goes into detail about other characters. It was a great read! I think these books have the perfect amount of fantasy and flare to keep them interesting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Had to stop reading after this

    I really liked these books but i had a feeling Ash would end up with the character i didnt like, so i looked it up and she does....so i had to end it before i got too much more involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fragile Eternity

    I started this novel with hopes and came out simply allured by it,It did start out slow and in this novel the high court is introduced and you even experience how it feels like to live there as Seth does later in the novel in his "quest" to become a faery and have forever with his love Aislinn ,Past the half way mark the plot picked up and did not let me go till the last page the plot goes very deep and explain it here would take a lot of space so i will not,Fragile Eternity is romantic,seductive,riveting and simply stunning.Recommended for those who read Wicked Lovely and Ink Exchange and enjoyed those too,The bonus story about Leslie,Niall and Irial was refreshing,I was curious to know how her life was going since i last saw her in Ink Exchange I definitely enjoyed the short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Fearie.

    I am a huge fan of faerie novels and until I read this book/series, I thought Holly Black was the queen of all that is Faerie. "Fragile Eternity" is definitely one of my top picks. The action in the novel is light, not as heavy as others, but it is very important to the story line. What I love most about this book is the way that the reader is allowed into every character's mind; the book does't focus on just one character throughout. The romance in the book is great and complicated, giving it a real life feel. Some parts annoyed me, as do most books. I do have to say, if you wait a good while between books, it might get a tad confusing on some rather nit-picky details. Overall: WONDERFUL book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Different Feel

    "Fragile Eternity" is a well-written continuation of the Wicked Lovely series. It is not quite as dark as the second book, but not as light as the first either. The whole series approach to world of faerie has a realistic feel to it that many fantasy novels lack, and the characters find themselves in emotional situations and thought processes that feel familiar to the majority of older teens. Melissa Marr stays focused on the emotional angst and development instead of a lot of physical conflict, although that is inevitably there as well. A definite recommendation for anyone who likes Charles de Lint (nom de plume Samuel M. Keys), Cassandra Clare or Laurell K. Hamilton's Merry Gentry series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fragile line..

    I absolutely loved the first two books in this series, so i had high hopes for this one. Once i finished the book, and then the short story, i found i had mixed feelings. This book exposes the faults, and pretty much only the faults, of every character. The short story completely caught me off gaurd, and now i can't feel the same way about one of my favorite characters. So, yes, the book is good, and Marr moves the plot along nicely, though maybe not always in the direction readers want it to go, but it also has completely changed the way i feel about every character in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    my expectations were wayy to highh :/ but still liked it :)

    well this is the sequel to wicked lovely
    and itz spring and summer is just beginning! Aislinn and Keenan are becoming too close for Seth to handle. Aislinn starts to think more about when the people she love die. But as she still thinks about that, Keenan starts to get a move on Donia AND Aislinn which just complicates things. Seth is desperate to become a faery but is wiling to do anything? While Seth is trying to find a way to become a faery, is he losing Aislinn to Kennan? Nial is really good in the story but is his character a good person?

    Well i have read al the bad reviews about this book & would wonder why it had so many bad reviews? when i was almost done & at the scene where THEY are at the river bank (soo cute!! <3) & I would say to myself why does it have a bad review i LOVE IT!!! but then i got to the ending & was like no wonder! :/ the ending is un-finished.

    Melissa Marr apparently wanted to make readers want to buy the next Aislinn based one but it didn't make me want to do that. I was very disappointed but maybe that was just because of my expectations :/

    good book just that the ending kills the whole good of it.

    && i absolutly LOVEDD Keenan in this book!!!!!!!!!!

    thank you for reading my review :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not the best in the series

    this is a love story basically a supernatural one. Normally when there is two guys fighting for the same girl I find myself routing for one, but not in this story I honestly have no idea who i want ash with which is why this story was frustrating to me... I cant wait until Melissa finishes this series so I can find out what happens to all the characters. This series in total is great I totally suggest people read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    eternally happy

    I am really happy with this book. i was a little worried after reading Ink Exchange; not that it was bad but definitely not the best book in the series. I like the series but Fragile Eternity was by far the number one book in the series. I love the way that Melissa Marr portrays Sorchas world of Faerie. So far in the other two books the High Court has been a mystery, but in this book Marr gives us a look at the other world. If you liked Wicked Lovely you will like this one even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series!!! OK book!!

    I love the series and the characters!!! Melissa Marr draws you in the first book and has you begging for more!!! But the book felt like it left you hanging totally unsure what is going on for any of the characters...like nothing got resolved!!! Don't get me wrong i still loved the book i just wish the ending would have finished on a better note!!! It has me dying to see what happens with the seth aislinn and keenan love triangle!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very nice read good series

    I liked this series. Story keeps evolving, and continues to hold your interest. Even though this series conceders to be young adult i found it interesting and i am in my late 30's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great installment to the series!

    The heart-wrenching triangle that is Aislinn, Seth and Keenan continues. My only real gripe with this book is that it left off with a cliffhanger! And I'll have to wait at least a year for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Excellent Read!

    I'm in my late 20's and fell in love with the Twilight series. After I finished that series I tried to find something similar to read. I have really enjoyed the Wicked Lovely Series! It is addicting! Fragile Eternity was great! I can't wait for her next book, so I can see what will happen!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The cost of eternity

    The third in Marr's series of Faerie novels, Fragile Eternity returns readers to Keenan and Aislinn's point of view, and the complicated politics of the Summer Court. Continuing to develop the often times frustrating love square between Keenan, Donia, Aislinn, and Seth; Eternity introduces Seth and Sorcha(Queen of the High Court) as co-narrators, and Bananach(chaos' harbinger), to further upset the tenuous peace surrounding three of the four faerie courts.

    Acting as more of an information giving book then the true sequel to Wicked Lovely, Fragile Eternity sets the stage for what promises to be an explosive next two books.

    Though not my favorite of the three, Eternity is still filled with characters you can relate to as they navigate the sometimes detail flooded prose, and poses one of life's most delicate questions - if you could change yourself for the one you love, is what what you might lose worth the risk and cost?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11