Customer Reviews for

Fragile Eternity (Wicked Lovely Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 715 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

#3 and still intriguing

Fragile Eternity returns to the story of Seth and Aislinn and Keenan and Donia, the main couples in Wicked Lovely. Seth and Aislinn are perfect for each other. They have been through so much, but there is one thing neither one of them can help. Aislinn will live forever...
Fragile Eternity returns to the story of Seth and Aislinn and Keenan and Donia, the main couples in Wicked Lovely. Seth and Aislinn are perfect for each other. They have been through so much, but there is one thing neither one of them can help. Aislinn will live forever, and Seth will not. Adding to the turmoil, as the Summer Equinox draws closer, so do Aislinn and Keenan, and Aislinn grows further apart from Seth. Seth decides to do the only thing he can do, which is exactly what EVERYONE else DOESN'T want him to do. Keenan still loves Doria, the Winter Queen, but if he has a chance with Aislinn, he's going to take it. And Doria is tired of waiting for her chance with him. In the first two novels, Keenan was not exactly my favorite character (THAT would be Seth) but in Fragile Eternity, his lovely, conflicted, not-all-as-it-seems personality fascinated me. I am just dying to know what he's all about. I am still not sure who is the good guy and who is the bad in this series, which just makes me want to keep reading. And, in case you're wondering, Donia is my least favorite character.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the others!

This book begins well enough, but as you get into it, it just seems to drag on, saying the same thing over and over just in a different way. I have to admit to really struggling with wanting to finish it, it got that repetitive and had very little substance to the stor...
This book begins well enough, but as you get into it, it just seems to drag on, saying the same thing over and over just in a different way. I have to admit to really struggling with wanting to finish it, it got that repetitive and had very little substance to the story. By the time that I finally reached page 252, only two things of any importance had happened, the rest was just saying over and over that Ash loves Seth and Kennan loves Donia, beyond that no other message came through. I would highly suggest that you save your money and spend it on a much worthier book. The other 2 books in the series were wonderful and captivating, but this one is boring, redundant and not worth your time. Nothing really outstanding in it.

posted by LydiainJoliet on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 349 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    #3 and still intriguing

    Fragile Eternity returns to the story of Seth and Aislinn and Keenan and Donia, the main couples in Wicked Lovely. Seth and Aislinn are perfect for each other. They have been through so much, but there is one thing neither one of them can help. Aislinn will live forever, and Seth will not. Adding to the turmoil, as the Summer Equinox draws closer, so do Aislinn and Keenan, and Aislinn grows further apart from Seth. Seth decides to do the only thing he can do, which is exactly what EVERYONE else DOESN'T want him to do. Keenan still loves Doria, the Winter Queen, but if he has a chance with Aislinn, he's going to take it. And Doria is tired of waiting for her chance with him. In the first two novels, Keenan was not exactly my favorite character (THAT would be Seth) but in Fragile Eternity, his lovely, conflicted, not-all-as-it-seems personality fascinated me. I am just dying to know what he's all about. I am still not sure who is the good guy and who is the bad in this series, which just makes me want to keep reading. And, in case you're wondering, Donia is my least favorite character.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenal!

    I love this series, the second book (Ink Exchange) was my favorite. The emotional struggle Ash is going through makes my heartache. I don't want to give too much of the book away so I can't say much! Ms. Marr's eloquent use of language paints gorgeous pictures of an otherwise mythical world, helping it pop to life in the reader's mind!
    one pet peeve..I think she found a new word: nonplussed....it's over used and you'll notice when it shows up...please use a thesaurus ms marr! argh!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ANXIOUS!

    Im so excited for this book to come out!. the series was awsome. Ink Exchange made me cry at the end *sniffle* i hope we get to know more about Seth in this book. he's like, the ideal guy!!! i really hope this isnt the end to the series though...AAHH i cant wait any more!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Love Melissa Marr!

    Once again Melissa Marr did an amazing job! Just like Wicked Lovely, the cover is amazing. Having loved the first book of this series so much, and having fell in love with Aislinn, Seth, and Keenan, I decided to skip over the second book and go straight to the 3rd.

    Aislinn's adventures into the world of the Fey continue. She and Seth are finally together, but she is also taken her place with Keenan as his Summer Queen over the Summer Court. Aislinn tries desperately to keep a foot in both worlds, while fighting her unexplainable attraction to Keenan, and keeping Seth safe from the other Courts in the Fey world. Aislinn also struggles to keep her Court and Earth in harmony and aware from destruction.

    Seth is very aware of Aislinn's new role ...more Aislinn's adventures into the world of the Fey continue. She and Seth are finally together, but she is also taken her place with Keenan as his Summer Queen over the Summer Court. Aislinn tries desperately to keep a foot in both worlds, while fighting her unexplainable attraction to Keenan, and keeping Seth safe from the other Courts in the Fey world. Aislinn also struggles to keep her Court and Earth in harmony and away from destruction.

    You really feel for Seth in this book. He is very aware of Aislinn's new role as a Fey Queen. He is also very aware of his mortality. Seth struggles to find and keep his place with Aislinn while reassuring himself that she loves only him and not Keenan. In this book he search for a way to maintain that assurance.


    In the first book of this series, Keenan was mainly portrayed as a selfish character (even though his search for a Queen was for his Court's good). However, in the third installment, we see a side of him never presented before. Keenan suffers. He knows he is supposed to be with Aislinn, and cares for her deeply, but is it love? Just like Aislinn, he struggles to keep a foot in two worlds, one where he knows he belongs and even wants to be in, another his heart calls for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    :)

    I loved this book.That's prolly gonna be said about any book written by Mrs.Marr here,she's an amazing author.This is the sequel to Wicked Lovely and we learn what happens to the relationship that were formed and broken in Wicked Lovely and the companion novel Ink Excahnge.Aislinn(the summer queen) is in love with Seth and fears the day he will die because he is mortal.Seth wants to become a fey to be with Aislinn forever and protect her(he's really breakable around the strong fey)Donia(the winter queen) is still in love with Keenan(the summer king) and Keenan loves Donia but wants Aislinn (queen/partner) too.We find out what happens when Seth seeks immortality from the High Court queen Sorcha and what relationships will hold and break.I really hope if you haven't read anything by Melissa Marr you will go and get a book by her now. She's up there now as one of my favorite authors,the three books I have read of hers so far are amazingly good and entertaining. And we get these books from the woman who was voted most likely to end up in jail in high school lol!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fragile Eternity

    After reading both WICKED LOVELY and INK EXCHANGE, i had ver high expectations for this book. And let me tell you, i was not disapointed. From the first page, Melissa Marr cages you into this insane, twisted, wonderful world of Faery. I was hooked. Marr writes so beautifully it is hard not to believe tht you are there (in the court of your choosing) watching it all play out. i loved seeing new insight on all of the courts. you learn so much more about the Summer, Dark, Winter, and even the ever-mysterious High Court. Also i love the development of Seth (Aislinn's mortal). i love how twisted my feeling got. i'd always loved Seth but then as the story goes you start to question whether he is best for her. Marr does that. makes you feel whatever the characters are feeling. it was so magical. i loved every page. i know we all tend to do the paragraph skipping thing, but this one will have you going over every word to get the most out of it. LOVED LOVED LOVED, worth buying your own copy. cant wait until the other stories! you should defiately invest in your own hardback copy of this book! it's one of those ones you're gonna take with you everywhere, and you're not gonna want it to get messed up!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written, intriguing characters, and a fantastical world to disappear into.

    Fragile Eternity is just as beautiful as Wicked Lovely and Ink Exchange. The characters are compelling, the style is graceful, the series is addicting, and the wording is beautiful - you simply can't ask for more out of a book.

    This book follows the story line of Wicked Lovely rather than the direct story of Ink Exchange (although it perfectly encompasses the world of Ink Exchange) and it is a perfect third book. I had several people tell me, "You'll wish it never ends!" and I absolutely, wholeheartedly agree.

    I won't review the plot hardly at all, as that can ruin it, but what I will say is simply: read it. You will not be disappointed - you'll only be disappointed when you reach the end of the book.

    I can't say enough how truly developed the characters are and what a beautiful world Marr creates-- really! It's breathtaking, but terrifying, real, but fantasy, beautiful and light, but dark and sinister; lovely but brooding. A perfect mix that only a beautiful writer could put together.

    Read it and enjoy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i am soooooooooo excited!!!

    I loved wicked lovely and ink exchange and now i can not wait till the new one!! i am so excited!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    When last we saw Aislinn, she had become the embodiment of Summer, and taken her rightful place as Summer Queen.

    Aislinn has had to adapt quickly to her new faery abilities, and it is certainly not easy. She struggles with her feelings towards Keenan, her Summer King, and her mortal boyfriend, Seth. She loves Seth, but is drawn to Keenan in a way that is inexplicable.

    Aislinn searches for a happy balance, but it eludes her.

    Keenan is also facing troubles of his own. Donia, the new Winter Queen, is his heart's desire, but she cannot bear sharing him with Aislinn. They also face a physical barrier that could destroy them both.

    Aislinn, Keenan, and Donia continue their search for middle ground, but it all comes crashing down when Seth disappears. Aislinn becomes lost and wonders if joining the Faery Court was the right decision.

    Melissa Marr's sequel to WICKED LOVELY is wonderful. She delves more deeply into the story of the Dark and High Courts, and gives a larger presence to Seth, Aislinn's mortal, and Sorcha, queen of the High Court.

    Fans of both WICKED LOVELY and INK EXCHANGE will not be disappointed. I am looking forward to further installments in this amazing series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm totally excited for this!

    I can't wait for the new book to come out! I emailed Miss Marr and she told me this book book be more in tune with the first book (wicked lovely) With Aislinn, Keenan, and Seth! I'm excited to see what's in store for them. But ever since reading Ink Exchange, I thought they became shallower, I kind of want to hear more about Leslie, Irial, and Niall.... Although their story is all over =(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    I enjoyed this book. I loved getting to see more of Seth's side

    I enjoyed this book. I loved getting to see more of Seth's side of things and getting to learn a bit more about the other court. I found myself angry with Niall and even angrier with Keenan though. It saddened me to be angry with Niall because prior to this book I really liked him. I'm hoping to get to like him again in the next installment of the series. I also found myself EXTREMELY angry with Don. I've always wanted to love her, and now I'm not sure that will happen. Again, I'm hoping she's redeemed in future books. The series keeps getting better for me, so I'm glad I still have a few more books to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Melissa Marr pulls you into her books and into her wonderful world of Faeries. Love this story line, you understand the Mortals point of view and feel for the Faeries you encounter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    While this book wasn't my favorite in the series, I still absolu

    While this book wasn't my favorite in the series, I still absolutely love it. The whole series is amazing overall, I would highly recommend picking it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Lovers of Faerie Must Read!!

    This book was such an amazing read, I absolutely loved it aswell as I have loved every other book in this well-written series. It has a lot more to do with Seth and his personal struggle with Aislin being the Summer Queen. I don't want to give too much a way, so just read the book and you'll be able to see what I mean. Like the other books, it also tells the story from different points of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Amazing series, okay book

    It was boring compared to the rest of the series, but it did explain a lot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    The pages started skipping, how do i fix it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    couldn't put it down

    This series gets better and better. New characters are introduced, but it isn't very difficult to keep track of who everyone is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    I know that some of the other comments say they hate the book and Ash.I for one enjoyed this book a lot. I think its really good and if you like books about faeries and legends then you may enjoy it. Yeah some of the characters may be annoying,but so is Bella from "Twilight". Every book has a character that will annoy you,but I think this book and this series is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    my favorite so far

    I love this series, at first i was feeling picky but it has been getting better. I could not put this one down because its getting more and more intese with all the charecters!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fragile

    This is a good book I loved how Seth seemed like he wanted to be with Aisleen forever, it was SO good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 349 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18