Customer Reviews for

Fragment

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Darwin's Nightmare

Warren Fahy pushes the theory of evolution to it's breaking point with his debut environmental thriller, Fragment. The book opens with the Trident, a 182 foot exploration ship scheduled to circle the globe in a year long journey to film a new cable reality show, Sea Li...
Warren Fahy pushes the theory of evolution to it's breaking point with his debut environmental thriller, Fragment. The book opens with the Trident, a 182 foot exploration ship scheduled to circle the globe in a year long journey to film a new cable reality show, Sea Life. At first the show's ratings soar but due to a series of storms, filming comes to a halt and the ratings go flat. That is until the crew stumbles onto a distress signal from a ship, one that has been lost for over three years. Nell Duckworth, the Trident's botanist is familiar with the area. She tells the crew that the island where the distress signal seems to be coming from has only been sighted three times in the past 200 years, with only one recorded landing in 1791. Cynthea, the producer of the reality show questions pursing the signal but as her career has had some bad breaks she sees this as a way to get it back on track. From this point on you might start to second guess the plot and think the the book is taking on a Jurassic Park theme but what Fahy hatches next is not a creation of man but of nature run amok.
This book is the perfect read to escape with. I'd love to see Fragment as the next summer blockbuster. But for those naysayers who want more complex characters, more subplots, more whatever; your better off finding another book to read... but before you go would you please pass the popcorn? This book is too good to put down.

posted by BevE on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Excellent beach novel

This science fiction thriller takes a page or two from Michael Crichton and asks the question: "What happens to the evolutionary path if a tiny island were isolated from all other land masses for the last 500 million years?" The answer is Warren Fahy's FRAGMENT.

In r...
This science fiction thriller takes a page or two from Michael Crichton and asks the question: "What happens to the evolutionary path if a tiny island were isolated from all other land masses for the last 500 million years?" The answer is Warren Fahy's FRAGMENT.

In response to a distress beacon, a seafaring American reality TV show sets its sights on Henders Island, a tiny speck of land in the South Pacific a thousand miles away from anywhere. Upon arrival, the ship's crew and its team of photogenic scientists discover an amazing array life forms so alien, the only answer to their existence is an alternate evolutionary path. But not only are these creatures unbelievably strange, they're unbelievably deadly, having evolved into killing machines of startling efficiency, with a phenomenally accelerated reproductive cycle to compensate for their extremely short life expectancy. Said reproductive cycle is the most frightening thing about these creatures: if they were ever to leave their island, they would overrun the rest of the planet's ecosystem within weeks.

As the scientists race against time to learn as much as they can about these murderous creatures and their strange and wonderful alternate ecology, the US military and its allies prepare to bomb the island out of existence. Petty scientific infighting, conflicting ecological worldviews, and the hilarious effort to make TV ratings history move the story along at a breakneck pace.

Although his character development is barely two-dimensional -- one or two characters are so unpleasant, in fact, that I was actively hoping they'd get eaten -- Fahy tells an entertaining plot-driven story. The pacing is lightning fast: so fast, in fact, that the reader tends to barely notice the somewhat improbable leaps of logic. There's too much gore for my taste, and the constant name-dropping of various brands of equipment or apparel can be annoying. And, while I'm not a scientist by any means, I expect Fahy has stretched the suspension of disbelief for this premise to its breaking point.

This isn't to say I didn't enjoy the novel. I did, very much, even through the "ewww" moments, and even though I saw the major plot twist coming a mile away. FRAGMENT is a good summer vacation novel: fast, fun, and even somewhat thought-provoking.

I believe genre novels just like this are necessary in any literate society. If a "literary" novel such as...umm, Mistry's A FINE BALANCE, let's say...is a box of Godiva dark chocolate, FRAGMENT is a Milky Way bar, and sometimes a Milky Way bar is the perfect choice. If the reader is looking for the next great American novel, he needs to keep looking, but I'd recommend this to anyone looking to kill a few hours in the airport and on the plane.

posted by avanta7 on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Darwin's Nightmare

    Warren Fahy pushes the theory of evolution to it's breaking point with his debut environmental thriller, Fragment. The book opens with the Trident, a 182 foot exploration ship scheduled to circle the globe in a year long journey to film a new cable reality show, Sea Life. At first the show's ratings soar but due to a series of storms, filming comes to a halt and the ratings go flat. That is until the crew stumbles onto a distress signal from a ship, one that has been lost for over three years. Nell Duckworth, the Trident's botanist is familiar with the area. She tells the crew that the island where the distress signal seems to be coming from has only been sighted three times in the past 200 years, with only one recorded landing in 1791. Cynthea, the producer of the reality show questions pursing the signal but as her career has had some bad breaks she sees this as a way to get it back on track. From this point on you might start to second guess the plot and think the the book is taking on a Jurassic Park theme but what Fahy hatches next is not a creation of man but of nature run amok.
    This book is the perfect read to escape with. I'd love to see Fragment as the next summer blockbuster. But for those naysayers who want more complex characters, more subplots, more whatever; your better off finding another book to read... but before you go would you please pass the popcorn? This book is too good to put down.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I loved this book

    Warren Fahy: Fragment, reviewed by Joel Hacker
    353 pp. 3 pp. Delacorte Press. www.randomhouse.com. Hardback. US $25. 9780553817530. paper

    Before I write anything else, I would like to say that I loved this book. That in itself poses some unique problems for me as a reviewer. J. Michael Straczynski once wrote, through the mouthpiece of a character of course, that art is never improved by compliment. Reading that, it struck me as a revelation, and as a truth with a capital 'T'. Not only do I agree with that statement, but also feel there is the additional danger inherent in reviewing something we've enjoyed of simply illustrating a long list of virtues with no real eye towards constructive criticism. I have the additional problem of being a huge fan of science fiction. And while Fragment is more speculative science fiction than 'hard' sf, it still falls comfortably into that familiar niche for me. Taking all that into account though, Fragment, does a great job at being what it is. It has hallmarks of good science fiction of any kind, that being a certain logic to this new and different world it represents, an internally consistency to how the world works. Perhaps that is even more important in such an imaginative genre than in fiction set in a more real-world environment. On this point, as on so many others, Fragment doesn't fail to deliver.

    Fragment deals with the discovery of an Hender's Island, more properly a lost fragment of an ancient super-continent, on which life has continued to evolve in a drastically different direction from the rest of the world for millions of years. Life very different from that with which we are familiar, and vastly more dangerous and aggressive. This discovery is made by an ill-fated crew filming a reality show about oceanographic scientific investigation. I'll admit I took perverse pleasure in what I took to be poking fun at the entire genre of reality shows, and many of the reality show stars' gruesome fates. With the obvious lethality of the indigenous life now apparent, Hender's Island is quickly barricaded by the U.S. Armed Forces, and a full scale scientific investigation is launched to determine what exactly to do about this new and alien ecosystem. There's some nifty bits for the hard sf fans out there about experimental NASA designed technology used in this investigation, though the life on the island ultimately proves to be far too dangerous to deal with. Just before a final solution is implemented to protect the rest of our planet's ecosystem, a startling discovery is made: intelligent life has managed to evolve and survive, with an albeit limited population, in this hazardous environment. The final parts of the novel deal with the scientists attempting to save this unique creatures dubbed Henders. The novel is put together in, well, fragments written in the third-person centering on different characters. We're given the time of day each fragment takes place, and they very in length from a few sentences to more traditional chapters. I feel like the format really helps drive the story forward and keep the reader engaged, especially early on when there are still a couple of B stories without obvious connections, other than ideological ones, to the A story.

    From the beginning, Fragment reminded me of Michael Chrichton, a connection I'm not alone in making from the looks of other reviews I've read. Its present day setting and a scientific basis for this speculativ

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Fragment" - an exciting ride!

    "Fragment" grabbed me from the beginning and the more I read, the more I wanted to read. Warren Fahy blends science with fiction to weave a story that compelled me to continue on. The characters are real and the story one I think many have pondered.

    The story begins in 1791, but quickly comes forward to present day as a reality television show. Nell tried out for the show just to get to the island. Little did Nell know, that while the island is a scientist's dream, it is also a scientist's nightmare. The entire novel takes place in 28 days, and sometimes Mr. Fahy tells his story minute by minute, or hour by hour. I felt like I was there - I was on the boat; on the island; I knew the characters. Most of the island creatures terrified me, but there is one....

    If you like books that keep you engrossed, books that make you think, you will enjoy "Fragment." Come, take a journey on the Trident. Come meet the scientists and listen to their story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent beach novel

    This science fiction thriller takes a page or two from Michael Crichton and asks the question: "What happens to the evolutionary path if a tiny island were isolated from all other land masses for the last 500 million years?" The answer is Warren Fahy's FRAGMENT.

    In response to a distress beacon, a seafaring American reality TV show sets its sights on Henders Island, a tiny speck of land in the South Pacific a thousand miles away from anywhere. Upon arrival, the ship's crew and its team of photogenic scientists discover an amazing array life forms so alien, the only answer to their existence is an alternate evolutionary path. But not only are these creatures unbelievably strange, they're unbelievably deadly, having evolved into killing machines of startling efficiency, with a phenomenally accelerated reproductive cycle to compensate for their extremely short life expectancy. Said reproductive cycle is the most frightening thing about these creatures: if they were ever to leave their island, they would overrun the rest of the planet's ecosystem within weeks.

    As the scientists race against time to learn as much as they can about these murderous creatures and their strange and wonderful alternate ecology, the US military and its allies prepare to bomb the island out of existence. Petty scientific infighting, conflicting ecological worldviews, and the hilarious effort to make TV ratings history move the story along at a breakneck pace.

    Although his character development is barely two-dimensional -- one or two characters are so unpleasant, in fact, that I was actively hoping they'd get eaten -- Fahy tells an entertaining plot-driven story. The pacing is lightning fast: so fast, in fact, that the reader tends to barely notice the somewhat improbable leaps of logic. There's too much gore for my taste, and the constant name-dropping of various brands of equipment or apparel can be annoying. And, while I'm not a scientist by any means, I expect Fahy has stretched the suspension of disbelief for this premise to its breaking point.

    This isn't to say I didn't enjoy the novel. I did, very much, even through the "ewww" moments, and even though I saw the major plot twist coming a mile away. FRAGMENT is a good summer vacation novel: fast, fun, and even somewhat thought-provoking.

    I believe genre novels just like this are necessary in any literate society. If a "literary" novel such as...umm, Mistry's A FINE BALANCE, let's say...is a box of Godiva dark chocolate, FRAGMENT is a Milky Way bar, and sometimes a Milky Way bar is the perfect choice. If the reader is looking for the next great American novel, he needs to keep looking, but I'd recommend this to anyone looking to kill a few hours in the airport and on the plane.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Science and fiction rarely blend together better than this winning thriller

    On board the ship Trident are the crew of the reality TV show SeaLife and several scientists who were promised a year of sort of Darwin like research into the exotic ocean and island life on the planet in exchange for filming the contacts. So far, the voyage into the South pacific has been filled with ennui until a beacon help signal comes from nearby Henders Island. The vessel heads there to assist those in need.-----------

    However, what greets the seafarers is a shocker. There is flora and fauna like nothing ever seen anywhere else on the planet. As several scientists are killed by the intelligent animal life, botanist Nell Duckworth realizes what has happened on this remote island; evolution took a different path approximately a half billion years ago and miraculously survived. As the US Navy blockades the island and quarantines the Trident fearing anything escaping could prove hazardous to the rest of the world's ecosystem, the natives prove sentient and resourceful as they seek off the island.---------------------

    Though an obvious link to Jurassic Park, FRAGMENT takes a different scientific spin using evolution as the basis of what lives on the island. Warren Fahy provides an exciting story line yet loads his narrative with scientific terminology and theories without dumbing it down. Readers will appreciate this super science fiction thriller that explains the evolution of reproduction and the possibility of such an island like Henders existing with the unique marsupial population of Australia that superseded mammals as the dominant species. Science and fiction rarely blend together better than this winning thriller.-------------

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    An Engaging Can't-Put-It-Down Thriller

    I picked this book up on a whim and decided to purchase it after reading the summary. I was hooked after the prologue and literally couldn't put it down. Fahy's imagination is stellar and the scientific plausibility he lends to his ideas creates one heck of a thriller. The characters are believable and intriguing and the plot puts a new, unique twist on an older theme. This is an engaging afternoon read and would make for great discussion on the evolutionary impact mankind has had on the progression of species. I'm sure a movie couldn't do it justice, but I would definitely spend my money at the box office on this one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Micheal Crichton Lovers!!!

    If you are a Micheal Crichton fan and are looking for someone new that fills that void of your love for his writing, than look no further. Warren fahy's Fragment is exactly what you sre looking for! This book will be perfect for someone who loved jurassic park and the lost world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Interesting Science Fiction

    I found this book very interesting reading. It's a little out there as far as subject matter is concerned, and the pictures catch you off guard as you are reading (a little creepy); however, I enjoyed it very much and cannot wait until the author publishes his next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling, great biological concepts

    Warren Fahy's Fragment was a delight to read, action-packed, gruesomely fun and exciting in a Jurassic-Park kind of way - but I think such comparisons are a little thin. Fahy deals with concepts of evolution and the mechanics of natural biology, whereas Crichten's theme was man's tampering with nature and causing unintended catastrophic consequences. In Fragment, nature just plain kicks our butts. We know the hapless TV-show contestants don't stand a chance against exotic creatures living in conditions requiring extreme violence for survival, but even soldiers with armored vehicles and flamethrowers don't last much longer against Fahy's twistedly-imagined monstrosities.

    All this, with its typical cast of heroes and villains-who-get-their-comeuppances, was great fun, but what really intrigued me - and made me wish Fahy went farther with it, was the startlingly-original and interesting theory at the heart of this story, revealed by one of the scientist types in a series of mainland discussion groups with his peers: that an organism's life-expectancy could be directly related to its reproductive tendencies. The detail he presents, calling out species after species, from single-celled organisms up to large complex beasts, and even man, was brilliant, and while the book explored this concept a little at the end with one of the species found on the island, it was kind of a let down for me, as I expected him to go a different way with this, perhaps even making a believer out of the villains, who then might plan to harness the potential of the island in order to transform themselves into near-immortals. But alas...

    Still, a brilliant concept, and a great book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book Worth Reading

    I was drawn to this book by the comparisons to Jurassic Park, and figured the price was right at 6 bucks to download it to my nook and check it out. I will let you know that this is no Jurassic Park, and I don't mean that negatively. The story is interesting but at times lacking. So it's not a huge home run, but at the same time I did find myself wanting to know what happens and got through with the book in a week. The story has it "more than predictable" moments, but again at times that's ok because you want that satisfaction of seeing people getting what they deserve(good or bad).

    There is another reviewer who complained about the brand name dropping - and I do agree that it is unnecessary. For example, the character isn't wearing "sneakers" but "Adidas 3TX performance sneakers". Which is not a huge deal, but you'll find these mini-plugs throughout the story and possibly distracting.

    I liked the escapism of the story, please be ready to suspend belief. The story does grip you, even when it breaks away from the good stuff. I do have a major complaint and that is the open ending. The author definitely finished the book with the door wide open to a sequel. My problem is I dont think there's enough for a second book. If that's the case, and you're the type of reader frustrated by unanswered questions, then be warned!!

    That should not stop you from getting this book, especially if you're on the fence about it. It's a good read and the author does well in taking facts and lending it to possible fantasy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read For Adventure Lovers!!

    Let me start off by saying I read for pleasure pure and simple, so plausibility is not a factor for me when reading a novel. I love a good adventure story and two of my favorites are Amazonia by James Rollins and The Ice Limit by the duo of Preston & Child, so when I picked up Fragment I was not expecting it to give those two a challenge for the top spot but man did it ever. The book is about the reality TV show Sealife based on the ocean adventures of a research vessel named the Trident. SeaLife is on the verge of being canceled by the network,so the crew was out searching for something significant that would ensure the Sealife and its team of scientists another year on the air. When they receive a distress signal coming from mysterious island they believe that they just found their ticket to securing their spot on the air. Henders Island is largely inaccessible being surrounded by a 700 ft vertical wall and it is so far from the normal shipping lanes and sea traffic that very few people have ever laid eyes upon it. When the team of scientists finally approach the island half of the them are attacked and killed in a blink of the eye by an unknown assailant all while broad casting live on the air. The killings are considered a hoax even by some of the shows own network staff and fellow scientists claiming that the Henders Island catastrophe was an elaborate setup just looking for ratings. Henders Island turns out not to be a hoax. The island has sat unnoticed to all of the world for hundreds of millions of years, no human contact to alter its evolutionary path creating some of the most dangerous creatures to ever walk the planet. Fearing the devastating effects these animals would have on the planet Henders Island is taken over by order of the president, the island and the staff of Sealife are quarantined until a team of scientists and military personnel can arrive to explore it. Fragment is a combination of scientific exploration and adventure sure to please fans of Michael Crichton and James Rollins. For a debut novel Warren Fahy has thrown his name in with some of the best in this genre. Fragment is filled with great action and adventure, great characters and fabulous creatures and I can not wait for Warren Fahy to pen another gem like Fragment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    My look at Fragment.

    If I had three thumbs they'd all be pointing up for Fahy's Fragment - a very imaginative thriller describing creatures and events that could well be real. Scientists just don't know what all is out there waiting to be discoverd - or maybe 'they're' waiting to discover us. The story demands a rigid read-through, not something to be picked up and spot-read as spare time permits. Some of the other-worldly life forms existing on a remaining 'Fragment' of an unknown world, until chance discovery by a reality TV crew,send shivers up one's spine, while another seeks salvation through association with human beings. In short, Fragment is a hair-raising thriller that can't be set aside until the conclusion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Monsters!

    Okay, first off, the cover rocks. BUT it looks reptilian, which I think is a tad deceptive because the creatures in this book are NOT reptilian. What they are is cool. And I won't give anything away, but the author has created some really unique creatures that have evolved, alone, on an isolated island for millions of years. The story is fast-paced and fun. Its a good quick summer read.

    As for complaints and why this got 4 instead of 5 stars...the characters, at times, were a tad annoying. They're supposed to be smart people, but often make really dumb choices that get themselves brutally killed. And the use of exclamation marks throughout made it feel like everyone was shouting! Like is was an episode of Speed Racer! See what it's like! It's loud in your head!

    Despite those nitpicks, this was a very cool monster story that I found enjoyable. Well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Excellent novel

    I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys scientific thrillers. It presents a very interesting picture of what might have happened if other life forms evolved on earth. Those who enjoyed Jurassic Park would enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    I could not put this book down. It is fast-paced and great fun.

    This book is exciting and a wonderful escape. The author surprised me on every page and managed to maintain the same level of interest until the end. I look forward to Mr. Fahy's next book because I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Evolution...on Crack

    Fragment was exactly what I hoped and expected it to be: a pulse-pounding thrill ride through this author's VERY fertile imagination. There were a few parts that dragged a little for me when the story moved away from the island, but for the most part, the book moved along quickly. I can certainly understand some of the comments about the lack of depth for characters and the book seeming more like an outline for a movie. This, however, didn't bother me in the least. I was looking for a book to entertain and frighten me, and I certainly got it with Fragment! This author's writing style had me breathless at moments because I felt like I was right there being chased by the hideous and relentless creatures on the island. The critters in this book are some of the most original and frightening I've read about in a while. The detailed descriptions and illustrations throughout the book really helped bring them to life for me. I'll tell you, if I ever encountered any of these things I think I'd die of fright at the first glimpse. As it is, when I'm outside now and hear a strange noise or an insect buzz that's unfamiliar my mind immediately goes to this book. If they ever do make a movie from this book, I hope they handle the special effects right, because it would be one heck of a scary thing to see on screen! If you're looking for a novel with an intricate plot and complicated characters, this book is not the one for you. However, if you're looking for a story to transport you to an island full of hideous creatures and heart-pounding thrills, this book is the one to take you there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    We¿re just here to collect data!  In the acknowledgments at the

    We’re just here to collect data! 
    In the acknowledgments at the end of this book there’s a nod to Michael Crichton, which put a big smile on my face, as no book I have read since Jurassic Park has captivated or filled me with wonder as that book did, until this one. Don’t make the mistake of thinking this is a copy, or imitation of Jurassic Park. At most it’s a similar theme, but the ideas are carried forward in a new and exciting manner. It’s a very smart way to turn earth into an alien planet and then explore it.
    I love this book. It’s fun, exciting, imaginative and very quickly paced, just like Crichton’s best. I read it fast, in under two days. I had such a blast with it, I can’t wait to get my mitts on the sequel (Pandemonium).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    BORING...

    Let me first say that I actually read about half of this book. I am educated and an avid reader. I was looking forward to reading this novel but continued to run into page after page, after page of scientific jargon which would require a Ph.D. in genetics to understand. The author did a good job with his homework, but didn't translate the information into layman's terms. In fact, I normally love reading a book with good research inserted. This was ridiculous though. I once skipped through over thirty pages of scientific dialogue to get back to the plot. Then had to do it again later in the book. The characters weren't well defined and could have been interchangeable in a lot of cases. I could see what was coming WAY before something happened. PLEASE, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY.

    ~ DO

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Awful

    Do not bother

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Amazing

    Amazing read, especially if you have a great imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6