Customer Reviews for

Fragment

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Darwin's Nightmare

Warren Fahy pushes the theory of evolution to it's breaking point with his debut environmental thriller, Fragment. The book opens with the Trident, a 182 foot exploration ship scheduled to circle the globe in a year long journey to film a new cable reality show, Sea Li...
Warren Fahy pushes the theory of evolution to it's breaking point with his debut environmental thriller, Fragment. The book opens with the Trident, a 182 foot exploration ship scheduled to circle the globe in a year long journey to film a new cable reality show, Sea Life. At first the show's ratings soar but due to a series of storms, filming comes to a halt and the ratings go flat. That is until the crew stumbles onto a distress signal from a ship, one that has been lost for over three years. Nell Duckworth, the Trident's botanist is familiar with the area. She tells the crew that the island where the distress signal seems to be coming from has only been sighted three times in the past 200 years, with only one recorded landing in 1791. Cynthea, the producer of the reality show questions pursing the signal but as her career has had some bad breaks she sees this as a way to get it back on track. From this point on you might start to second guess the plot and think the the book is taking on a Jurassic Park theme but what Fahy hatches next is not a creation of man but of nature run amok.
This book is the perfect read to escape with. I'd love to see Fragment as the next summer blockbuster. But for those naysayers who want more complex characters, more subplots, more whatever; your better off finding another book to read... but before you go would you please pass the popcorn? This book is too good to put down.

posted by BevE on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Excellent beach novel

This science fiction thriller takes a page or two from Michael Crichton and asks the question: "What happens to the evolutionary path if a tiny island were isolated from all other land masses for the last 500 million years?" The answer is Warren Fahy's FRAGMENT.

In r...
This science fiction thriller takes a page or two from Michael Crichton and asks the question: "What happens to the evolutionary path if a tiny island were isolated from all other land masses for the last 500 million years?" The answer is Warren Fahy's FRAGMENT.

In response to a distress beacon, a seafaring American reality TV show sets its sights on Henders Island, a tiny speck of land in the South Pacific a thousand miles away from anywhere. Upon arrival, the ship's crew and its team of photogenic scientists discover an amazing array life forms so alien, the only answer to their existence is an alternate evolutionary path. But not only are these creatures unbelievably strange, they're unbelievably deadly, having evolved into killing machines of startling efficiency, with a phenomenally accelerated reproductive cycle to compensate for their extremely short life expectancy. Said reproductive cycle is the most frightening thing about these creatures: if they were ever to leave their island, they would overrun the rest of the planet's ecosystem within weeks.

As the scientists race against time to learn as much as they can about these murderous creatures and their strange and wonderful alternate ecology, the US military and its allies prepare to bomb the island out of existence. Petty scientific infighting, conflicting ecological worldviews, and the hilarious effort to make TV ratings history move the story along at a breakneck pace.

Although his character development is barely two-dimensional -- one or two characters are so unpleasant, in fact, that I was actively hoping they'd get eaten -- Fahy tells an entertaining plot-driven story. The pacing is lightning fast: so fast, in fact, that the reader tends to barely notice the somewhat improbable leaps of logic. There's too much gore for my taste, and the constant name-dropping of various brands of equipment or apparel can be annoying. And, while I'm not a scientist by any means, I expect Fahy has stretched the suspension of disbelief for this premise to its breaking point.

This isn't to say I didn't enjoy the novel. I did, very much, even through the "ewww" moments, and even though I saw the major plot twist coming a mile away. FRAGMENT is a good summer vacation novel: fast, fun, and even somewhat thought-provoking.

I believe genre novels just like this are necessary in any literate society. If a "literary" novel such as...umm, Mistry's A FINE BALANCE, let's say...is a box of Godiva dark chocolate, FRAGMENT is a Milky Way bar, and sometimes a Milky Way bar is the perfect choice. If the reader is looking for the next great American novel, he needs to keep looking, but I'd recommend this to anyone looking to kill a few hours in the airport and on the plane.

posted by avanta7 on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Darwin's Nightmare

    Warren Fahy pushes the theory of evolution to it's breaking point with his debut environmental thriller, Fragment. The book opens with the Trident, a 182 foot exploration ship scheduled to circle the globe in a year long journey to film a new cable reality show, Sea Life. At first the show's ratings soar but due to a series of storms, filming comes to a halt and the ratings go flat. That is until the crew stumbles onto a distress signal from a ship, one that has been lost for over three years. Nell Duckworth, the Trident's botanist is familiar with the area. She tells the crew that the island where the distress signal seems to be coming from has only been sighted three times in the past 200 years, with only one recorded landing in 1791. Cynthea, the producer of the reality show questions pursing the signal but as her career has had some bad breaks she sees this as a way to get it back on track. From this point on you might start to second guess the plot and think the the book is taking on a Jurassic Park theme but what Fahy hatches next is not a creation of man but of nature run amok.
    This book is the perfect read to escape with. I'd love to see Fragment as the next summer blockbuster. But for those naysayers who want more complex characters, more subplots, more whatever; your better off finding another book to read... but before you go would you please pass the popcorn? This book is too good to put down.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I loved this book

    Warren Fahy: Fragment, reviewed by Joel Hacker
    353 pp. 3 pp. Delacorte Press. www.randomhouse.com. Hardback. US $25. 9780553817530. paper

    Before I write anything else, I would like to say that I loved this book. That in itself poses some unique problems for me as a reviewer. J. Michael Straczynski once wrote, through the mouthpiece of a character of course, that art is never improved by compliment. Reading that, it struck me as a revelation, and as a truth with a capital 'T'. Not only do I agree with that statement, but also feel there is the additional danger inherent in reviewing something we've enjoyed of simply illustrating a long list of virtues with no real eye towards constructive criticism. I have the additional problem of being a huge fan of science fiction. And while Fragment is more speculative science fiction than 'hard' sf, it still falls comfortably into that familiar niche for me. Taking all that into account though, Fragment, does a great job at being what it is. It has hallmarks of good science fiction of any kind, that being a certain logic to this new and different world it represents, an internally consistency to how the world works. Perhaps that is even more important in such an imaginative genre than in fiction set in a more real-world environment. On this point, as on so many others, Fragment doesn't fail to deliver.

    Fragment deals with the discovery of an Hender's Island, more properly a lost fragment of an ancient super-continent, on which life has continued to evolve in a drastically different direction from the rest of the world for millions of years. Life very different from that with which we are familiar, and vastly more dangerous and aggressive. This discovery is made by an ill-fated crew filming a reality show about oceanographic scientific investigation. I'll admit I took perverse pleasure in what I took to be poking fun at the entire genre of reality shows, and many of the reality show stars' gruesome fates. With the obvious lethality of the indigenous life now apparent, Hender's Island is quickly barricaded by the U.S. Armed Forces, and a full scale scientific investigation is launched to determine what exactly to do about this new and alien ecosystem. There's some nifty bits for the hard sf fans out there about experimental NASA designed technology used in this investigation, though the life on the island ultimately proves to be far too dangerous to deal with. Just before a final solution is implemented to protect the rest of our planet's ecosystem, a startling discovery is made: intelligent life has managed to evolve and survive, with an albeit limited population, in this hazardous environment. The final parts of the novel deal with the scientists attempting to save this unique creatures dubbed Henders. The novel is put together in, well, fragments written in the third-person centering on different characters. We're given the time of day each fragment takes place, and they very in length from a few sentences to more traditional chapters. I feel like the format really helps drive the story forward and keep the reader engaged, especially early on when there are still a couple of B stories without obvious connections, other than ideological ones, to the A story.

    From the beginning, Fragment reminded me of Michael Chrichton, a connection I'm not alone in making from the looks of other reviews I've read. Its present day setting and a scientific basis for this speculativ

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Fragment" - an exciting ride!

    "Fragment" grabbed me from the beginning and the more I read, the more I wanted to read. Warren Fahy blends science with fiction to weave a story that compelled me to continue on. The characters are real and the story one I think many have pondered.

    The story begins in 1791, but quickly comes forward to present day as a reality television show. Nell tried out for the show just to get to the island. Little did Nell know, that while the island is a scientist's dream, it is also a scientist's nightmare. The entire novel takes place in 28 days, and sometimes Mr. Fahy tells his story minute by minute, or hour by hour. I felt like I was there - I was on the boat; on the island; I knew the characters. Most of the island creatures terrified me, but there is one....

    If you like books that keep you engrossed, books that make you think, you will enjoy "Fragment." Come, take a journey on the Trident. Come meet the scientists and listen to their story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Science and fiction rarely blend together better than this winning thriller

    On board the ship Trident are the crew of the reality TV show SeaLife and several scientists who were promised a year of sort of Darwin like research into the exotic ocean and island life on the planet in exchange for filming the contacts. So far, the voyage into the South pacific has been filled with ennui until a beacon help signal comes from nearby Henders Island. The vessel heads there to assist those in need.-----------

    However, what greets the seafarers is a shocker. There is flora and fauna like nothing ever seen anywhere else on the planet. As several scientists are killed by the intelligent animal life, botanist Nell Duckworth realizes what has happened on this remote island; evolution took a different path approximately a half billion years ago and miraculously survived. As the US Navy blockades the island and quarantines the Trident fearing anything escaping could prove hazardous to the rest of the world's ecosystem, the natives prove sentient and resourceful as they seek off the island.---------------------

    Though an obvious link to Jurassic Park, FRAGMENT takes a different scientific spin using evolution as the basis of what lives on the island. Warren Fahy provides an exciting story line yet loads his narrative with scientific terminology and theories without dumbing it down. Readers will appreciate this super science fiction thriller that explains the evolution of reproduction and the possibility of such an island like Henders existing with the unique marsupial population of Australia that superseded mammals as the dominant species. Science and fiction rarely blend together better than this winning thriller.-------------

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Micheal Crichton Lovers!!!

    If you are a Micheal Crichton fan and are looking for someone new that fills that void of your love for his writing, than look no further. Warren fahy's Fragment is exactly what you sre looking for! This book will be perfect for someone who loved jurassic park and the lost world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Interesting Science Fiction

    I found this book very interesting reading. It's a little out there as far as subject matter is concerned, and the pictures catch you off guard as you are reading (a little creepy); however, I enjoyed it very much and cannot wait until the author publishes his next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read For Adventure Lovers!!

    Let me start off by saying I read for pleasure pure and simple, so plausibility is not a factor for me when reading a novel. I love a good adventure story and two of my favorites are Amazonia by James Rollins and The Ice Limit by the duo of Preston & Child, so when I picked up Fragment I was not expecting it to give those two a challenge for the top spot but man did it ever. The book is about the reality TV show Sealife based on the ocean adventures of a research vessel named the Trident. SeaLife is on the verge of being canceled by the network,so the crew was out searching for something significant that would ensure the Sealife and its team of scientists another year on the air. When they receive a distress signal coming from mysterious island they believe that they just found their ticket to securing their spot on the air. Henders Island is largely inaccessible being surrounded by a 700 ft vertical wall and it is so far from the normal shipping lanes and sea traffic that very few people have ever laid eyes upon it. When the team of scientists finally approach the island half of the them are attacked and killed in a blink of the eye by an unknown assailant all while broad casting live on the air. The killings are considered a hoax even by some of the shows own network staff and fellow scientists claiming that the Henders Island catastrophe was an elaborate setup just looking for ratings. Henders Island turns out not to be a hoax. The island has sat unnoticed to all of the world for hundreds of millions of years, no human contact to alter its evolutionary path creating some of the most dangerous creatures to ever walk the planet. Fearing the devastating effects these animals would have on the planet Henders Island is taken over by order of the president, the island and the staff of Sealife are quarantined until a team of scientists and military personnel can arrive to explore it. Fragment is a combination of scientific exploration and adventure sure to please fans of Michael Crichton and James Rollins. For a debut novel Warren Fahy has thrown his name in with some of the best in this genre. Fragment is filled with great action and adventure, great characters and fabulous creatures and I can not wait for Warren Fahy to pen another gem like Fragment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    My look at Fragment.

    If I had three thumbs they'd all be pointing up for Fahy's Fragment - a very imaginative thriller describing creatures and events that could well be real. Scientists just don't know what all is out there waiting to be discoverd - or maybe 'they're' waiting to discover us. The story demands a rigid read-through, not something to be picked up and spot-read as spare time permits. Some of the other-worldly life forms existing on a remaining 'Fragment' of an unknown world, until chance discovery by a reality TV crew,send shivers up one's spine, while another seeks salvation through association with human beings. In short, Fragment is a hair-raising thriller that can't be set aside until the conclusion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Excellent novel

    I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys scientific thrillers. It presents a very interesting picture of what might have happened if other life forms evolved on earth. Those who enjoyed Jurassic Park would enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    I could not put this book down. It is fast-paced and great fun.

    This book is exciting and a wonderful escape. The author surprised me on every page and managed to maintain the same level of interest until the end. I look forward to Mr. Fahy's next book because I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    We¿re just here to collect data!  In the acknowledgments at the

    We’re just here to collect data! 
    In the acknowledgments at the end of this book there’s a nod to Michael Crichton, which put a big smile on my face, as no book I have read since Jurassic Park has captivated or filled me with wonder as that book did, until this one. Don’t make the mistake of thinking this is a copy, or imitation of Jurassic Park. At most it’s a similar theme, but the ideas are carried forward in a new and exciting manner. It’s a very smart way to turn earth into an alien planet and then explore it.
    I love this book. It’s fun, exciting, imaginative and very quickly paced, just like Crichton’s best. I read it fast, in under two days. I had such a blast with it, I can’t wait to get my mitts on the sequel (Pandemonium).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Fantastic!

    This book kept me involved right from the start. I had a hard time putting it down, even for a minute. The vivid creatures and development of the plot were very detailed and despite the subject, not as outlandish and unbelieveable as I thought. I really felt like this could be a real event. The characters introduced in the end were a little more outlandish, but they were so lovable that you connect with them anyway. A great story in all, and most certainly one I'll read again in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    A very intesting read

    Fragment by Warren Fahy is a story written in prose set in during the present day on a small island in the southern Pacific Ocean. Nell, the main character, is a botanist for the reality show sea life. When the show lands on a small island she witnesses every single one of her friends get killed and eaten by creatures unknown to modern day science. When other scientists arrive along with military personal to quarantine the island they discover that the island inhabitants could kill all other life on Earth. The president orders the island to be destroyed Nell and a small group of scientist head out to collect specimens they discover the islands most dangerous inhabitant that could also be its savior. The stories plot makes you want to keep reading it all day. It has everything you are looking for in a good science fiction novel. Great books to read over the summer or while you are on vacation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Great Read

    I read this book in one day. Couldn't put it down. It is great escapist reading with a wild scientific base. If you liked Jurassic Park you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    All great fiction starts by tempting the reader with a thrilling

    All great fiction starts by tempting the reader with a thrilling "what-if" situation.  Fragment takes that situation in an inspired and amazing direction that kept me on the edge of my seat from cover to cover.  Perhaps even more impressive than the thrilling action was the convincing science that was used to backup the wild experiences throughout the story.  I found myself highlighting parts of the book for later reference.  I found so many of the background and substantiating facts thoroughly fascinating.




    This book was an amazing thriller and the perfect novel for fans of Michael Crichton style scientific adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Wow.Just wow.I just read a fantastic book.A thriller that rivals

    Wow.Just wow.I just read a fantastic book.A thriller that rivals Jurassic park.I felt like I was there,with the crew on the island the whole time.I cared about the characters and was pullled along like on a raging river.The writing is so smooth I forgot I was reading a book.The images so crisp I felt I had been watching a movie.The science ,although over the top,was not completely implausable. The terror was stark and relentless.The transition from fear to hope miraculous.The ending was satisfying.I can not wait to read the sequel.As an avid sci fi fan,I was in seventh heaven reading Fragment.Thank you Warren Fahy!As Henders would say 'thank you ,thank you ,thank you"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book....I totally enjoyed reading it..you will not be

    Excellent book....I totally enjoyed reading it..you will not be disappointed....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Awesome

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Fahy brings strange creatures to life in the same vein as Michae

    Fahy brings strange creatures to life in the same vein as Michael Crichton.,  I may never sleep with the lights off again for fear of wiggly things!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Scary and well written

    Imaginative, gipping! Can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3