Customer Reviews for

Fragments: Poems, Intimate Notes, Letters

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Essential for Marilyn fans (from The Tealeaf Review)

I want to start off by saying that I can't really give this book any kind of true rating. There are hardly words to describe this book, much less a handful of stars. It's a rare thing when I pick up a non-fiction title, but when it contains Marilyn Monroe, I have to mak...
I want to start off by saying that I can't really give this book any kind of true rating. There are hardly words to describe this book, much less a handful of stars. It's a rare thing when I pick up a non-fiction title, but when it contains Marilyn Monroe, I have to make an exception. Fragments is a beautiful book, full of her original thoughts, poems, and letters. It's unlike any Marilyn biography out there, because it is her. From the minute you see the first letter, you can just feel her coming off the page. She's there in every misspelled word and scratched out sentence. If you like your Marilyn as the picture of blonde perfection, this is definitely not for you. There's a real pain and humanity in her words, the overwhelming need to be loved and accepted. She was witty, shy, vulnerable, innocent, and remarkable. This is essential for any fan of the true Marilyn Monroe.

posted by LizTea on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't buy this in ebook format

Very difficult to read the original pages that were typed by Marilyn Monroe because the original typed pages are scanned into the book and the print is very small. Because the pages are scanned, the font can't be increased nor can the page be enlarged. I was very disapp...
Very difficult to read the original pages that were typed by Marilyn Monroe because the original typed pages are scanned into the book and the print is very small. Because the pages are scanned, the font can't be increased nor can the page be enlarged. I was very disappointed

posted by lolo2259 on November 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Essential for Marilyn fans (from The Tealeaf Review)

    I want to start off by saying that I can't really give this book any kind of true rating. There are hardly words to describe this book, much less a handful of stars. It's a rare thing when I pick up a non-fiction title, but when it contains Marilyn Monroe, I have to make an exception. Fragments is a beautiful book, full of her original thoughts, poems, and letters. It's unlike any Marilyn biography out there, because it is her. From the minute you see the first letter, you can just feel her coming off the page. She's there in every misspelled word and scratched out sentence. If you like your Marilyn as the picture of blonde perfection, this is definitely not for you. There's a real pain and humanity in her words, the overwhelming need to be loved and accepted. She was witty, shy, vulnerable, innocent, and remarkable. This is essential for any fan of the true Marilyn Monroe.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Don't buy this in ebook format

    Very difficult to read the original pages that were typed by Marilyn Monroe because the original typed pages are scanned into the book and the print is very small. Because the pages are scanned, the font can't be increased nor can the page be enlarged. I was very disappointed

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Not compatiable with NookColor

    This was a huge disappointment on my NookColor most of Marilyn's original letters are unreadable...what I was able to read was interesting but since the book is only 83 pages for $14.99 it was a rip off. There should be a disclaimer that it's not recommended for Nook users. I am sure the book it self is wonderful unfortunately I was unable to enjoy on my NC

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A look into the brilliant yet tortured psyche of Marilyn...

    Her public persona was that of the blonde bombshell Hollywood star. She was married to the great Yankee baseball star Joe Dimaggio and famed play write Arthur Miller. She appeared to have lived a life most could only dream of, but behind the public persona was a tortured soul. This books brings to light fragments of Marilyn's diaries, letters and poems that have never been published along with some rare photographs that provide a unique look into Marilyn's private thoughts and psyche. I was skeptical that this book would be anything more than an attempt to capitalize on Marilyn's legend with a few scraps of her writings. I was wrong there is much of interest here, and perhaps some added layers of mystery to the ending of her life. This book should be interest to all fans of Marilyn Monroe. I also have to recommend "Marilyn, August 1953: The Lost LOOK Photos (Calla Editions)" for an amazing collecting of never before published, candid photographs of Marilyn at the height of her career; and "Misfits Country" for a look behind the scenes of the making of her final Film.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Have for any MM fan

    Marilyn Monroe has become known as one of, if not THE sex symbol of the 20th century. Though on screen, she often portrayed a "dumb blonde", she was extremely intelligent and constantly reading. She also wanted to be taken seriously as an actress, not just be a beauty to all of those she encountered. While some may find her acting not very great, perhaps after reading this book and her thoughts on acting, your perception may change. She constantly worked on perfecting her craft, and that is shown within this book. She also yearned for an understanding of herself in a way, and her notes of self-analysis aren't something to miss. Her poetry is very unique, I like it very much. It shows the fight for understanding. All in all, this book should not be passed up. It features rare photographs and a look into a very complex person. Behind the glitz and glamour, we are finally able to see a glimpse of the real Marilyn Monroe. Her life and untimely death are surrounded in mystery. Perhaps now, we may find answers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Absolutely enchanting

    Being a huge Marilyn Monroe fan it's fabulous to see these entries in her own handwriting. This shows a side to her that was heard about but never proven until now. So glad these fragments have come to light!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Monroe lovers, you must get this book! A truly stunning insight into the poetic talent and inquisative mind of Ms. Marilyn Monroe. Love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Just wanted to say a thing about Marilyn

    She was taken advantage of, in my opinion, from men and women who didnt really know how intellegent she was. In an era where men ruled. She knew she had to hide that wonderful mind and act like a dumb blonde if she wanted to go anywhere in this movie industry...how sad, how these people could not see this remarkable, kind, lady. Only to be used, by small minded people. I didnt know her. I feel so sorry for her, too bad she didnt have a child to love her! I am sure Joe Di Maggio was the only one who really did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Not a lot of people know much about Monroe's deeply personal life. This book sheds some light on it. The poems that she had written show a more vulnerable and emotional side of her. She wasn't just Marilyn Monroe, she was still a woman, who had normal problems like the rest of us. The only bad thing about this book is the cohesion. The dates are disjointed and some of the writing is hard to understand. Its entitled Fragments, I think because a lot of what she wrote were fragments. I don't think she ever finished her thoughts entirely. Overall though, it is a good read. If you're a Marilyn Monroe fan, you'll enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    loved it

    i have this book in hardcover. being a monroe fan i found it very interesting!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    FANTASTIC!

    I've taken a sudden interest in her over the summer, i'm 13 years old and had to do a report on someone from the past that we believe was misunderstood and i did my report on her,I didn't need any other books or research. It was fabulous,i usually take a lot of time to read books and I read this all in one weekend. It is phenomenally put together and helps us truly into her life. It was fabulous,if you take an interest in Marilyn Monroe,you WILL love this book,i promise(:

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    Must Read!!!!!

    Just finished reading Marilyn Monroe's brand new autobiography "Fragments: Poems, Intimate Notes, Letters". Bought is this morning and started reading it when I got off work. So great I couldn't put it down til I read every bit of it from front to back and I did! Read it all in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    You Had Me At Marilyn Monroe!

    I can't wait to get my hands on this book and devour it from cover to cover. I just finished "When God Stopped Keeping Score," which is on sale here on BN, that book is an eye opener about forgiveness. I dare you to take the time to read it. You will be so glad that you did.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Interesting

    Good book overall. Didn't like the way it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Christian daily devotion

    Light house chaple international daily devotional guid

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2