Customer Reviews for

Frances the Mute

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    best band today

    best band today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A must have, but not their best.

    This was my first Volta album. It takes a considerable amount of patience to get through this album, as they drift into several minutes of bizarre sounds (bizarre in a good way!) after almost every song. At some points I feel as though they almost lost control in this album, and some of the guitar playing comes across as unnatural to what Omar, their lead guitarist, usually plays. De-loused in the Comatorium and Bedlam in Goliath outdo this album.

    Each album they release is a concept album and all of the songs link together, so if you're an impatient listener who doesn't enjoy listening to whole albums at once (this one is 77 minutes), then this album isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Blech

    This music hurts my ears, and it scared my dog. The last track was kinda okay though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FANTASTIC...but

    in some Parts so redundant. and other Parts more Powerful than even Led Zeppelin. I would not want to be a music critic and have to review this, or The Mars Volta and try to sell this to a label. It Just NEEDS to be Listened to, in its entirety to be. Any band whose Lyrics include "He's got Festing Black Lungs, made of clove splintered Shards" you KNOW is gonna be good. Buy this CD, but don't expect to listen to one song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So, you liked the first album, eh? Well...

    Since nobody reviewed the Japanese import version with the DVD, I'll do that here since B&N doesn't offer it. First off let me just say the bonus DVD is worth it if you live in an area where the Mars Volta does not come around to. You get a short glimpse into their live show, and it will make you cry that you aren't able to see them because you live in Alaska, or some other weirdo state. Also, it has the title track ('Frances the Mute') on the DVD as well. You can't beat that, folks. The album is perfect that's really all I can say. I wish they would've kept it at 5 tracks, but you can't have everything. If you like early material by Yes, Mahavishnu Orchestra or even Santana, you will probably love this. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i wish i could give it four and a half

    please give this album a chance. Frances THe Mute spans a broad musical landscape with endless horizons. the songs won't let go of you, they'll sink into the tissues of your brain, and you'll start humming them without even realizing it. the singing is incredible. as is the guitar. as is the bass. as are the drums

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    frances the mute

    this is definatly a tough piece of music to review. It has a guideline, so don't be confused by the songs on the case. This is a brilliant work of music. The cunning and fast guitar is brilliant, and random.... This 77 minute long song is genius. Its a musical masterpiece, each second is gripping and compelling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a complex musical journey

    perhaps the most inventive band of the times, the mars volta has progressed significantly since the days of at the drive in. their music is deeply complex, taking the listener on a journey while telling a story and breaking ground all at the same time. the music transcends language as some of the best suites on the album are in spanish. frances is a unique blend of (what some would call) prog rock, electronica, and salsa. the album is unlike anything else out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome CD!

    The Mars Volta is like no other band out there. Their new album Frances The Mute is amazing. Their music puts you in a trance and lets you forget everything around you. When I first listened to it, it blew me away. Trust me when you listen to this cd you'll fall in love with it right away and you wont be able to stop listening or dancing to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PURE MUSICAL FUSION

    THE MARS VOLTA IS AN AMAZING BAND THAT WILL TAKE YOU THROUGH AN ADVENTURE..EACH SONG INTRODUCED A NEW SHED OF LIGHT ON MUSIC. TALENT. THATS WHAT THE MARS VOLTA HAS...TALENT. THIS ALBUM IS AMAZING...BUY IT. WORTH EVERY PENNY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    tmv kicks ass

    I could try and describe this and say that it's latin-experimental post-progressive jazz-rock, but that doesn't even begin to describe TMV's sounds. It's nothing but The Mars Volta, a whole new genre which no other band will ever fit in. Buy this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unmute frances!

    I loved this album. I love The Mars Volta. I think words would kill this...dare I say, masterpiece. I will only say that I highly reccomend this to anyone with an open mind, and an ear for great, new, different sounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not a short trip

    I'm curious if the diary the late Jeremy Ward found will be released as well. More disjointed than Ummagumma, but larger than Dark side of the Moon. More eccentric than Coda, but more listenable than Zoso. More schizophrenic than Quadrophenia, but more all-encompassing than Who's Next. This album is a rock-opera, latin jazz, stoner rock, spoken word, epic masterpiece. This won't be a short trip across town. It swallows you whole and leaves you in a furious huddle on the floor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing.

    Frances the Mute is definately a great album to follow up The Mars Volta's De-Loused In The Commatorium. I usually think albums get worse as artists release new ones, but Frances the Mute changed my mind. The music and vocals are mind-blowing. I recommend this to all Mars Volta fans, and to anyone who wants to find something new and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TMV = Amazing

    This 2nd full length album by The Mars Volta, is amazing. It fully lives up to the expectations after Deloused was released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely AMAZING.

    At first when I got the CD, I was a little taken back and just .. in a little confusion. But once I relistened to the cd, amongst the long tracks of pure genius, I really took it all in. The cd is just absolutely great. The lyrics portray the life of Vismund Cygnus, a man who is in search of his mother Frances. The lyrics, music and everything overall are just breath-taking. I could blast this CD for hours, and not get sick of it. AMAZING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A permanent fix in my cd player....forever

    I have probably listened to this whole album (including "Frances the Mute, which is not on the album, but the single) about 15 to 17 times all the way through. It is not an obsession, I am just simply marvling over the beautifull expression and feelings and soul they put into this. With every listen, you catch more of the story... and the more you hear it, the more you start to get it, and most importantly, appreciate it. A band like this and as talented as The MArs Volta are rare to come by. Anyone who says it's mindless noise is just simply afraid to open their ears. This album is definately more effective when heard a few times all the way through. And if you can get a copy of "Frances the Mute", it should be listened to right before you start the album... It sets the mood and the scene... for a musical journey unlike none other in thirty years or more... excluding radiohead. This is also one of the most suspensful albums ever recorded.. Each song builds you up, and the final result is far from disappointing.. You can't help but to start it over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Frances The Mute

    This cd is a defiantly one you should buy. It has its weak points and its strong points. Weak points are a lot of ambience, strong points are that when there actually is music, it is awesome. FTM doesn't quite top their 1st full length album, De-loused in the Comatorium, but is overall a groundbreaking album. buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't listen to this on mute, turn it up instead

    If you like to try new stuff, then you should try this cd, because it is delicious. The album begins with this sweet acoustic riff, which it also closes with. But there is a lot of rock in between. Cygnus Vismund Cygnus has 4 minutes of really rocking stuff, and then they jam in an odd time signature (9/16, 6/8, 2/4) for 8 or so minutes. After that comes the first single, The Widow. This song also rocks. John from the Red Hot Chili Peppers plays some hot licks one track 3, the spicy latino L'Via L'Viaquez. After that, Flea (also of RHCP) plays some trumpet on track 4. Then the massive Cassandra Gemini, spread out over eight tracks, closes the album. It's too good to be true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Impossible to Categorize or Define

    The Mars Volta had quite a task ahead of them in following up "Deloused in the Comatorium", a combination of virtually every musical and artistic influence imaginable. A difficult album to fully enter at first, Frances the Mute has really grown on me. I could say more, but you really need to experience it first-hand. Highly recommended to those who do not fear the abstract.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3