Customer Reviews for

Francona: The Red Sox Years

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Excellent book

    Enjoyed this book cover to cover. Lots of stories i had not heard. I was looking forward to reading this book and i was not disapointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I was once a proud member of RSN, but doubt I will continue as s

    I was once a proud member of RSN, but doubt I will continue as such. The three gentlemen who own the Red Sox, shame on them. Go Tribe and long live Tito!

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Interesting that John Henry has shown up at spring training camp

    Interesting that John Henry has shown up at spring training camp. And the the Sox let Ben Cherrington sign a bunch of solid but no name players this off season.
    I can only thing that they have taken this terrific baseball book to hear. If you love baseball regardless of who you root for, you will enjoy this look at what happens behind the scenes. Of course, I loved Terry when he was managing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    You. Must. Read. This. Book.

    As a Red Sox fan living in the Philly area during Terry Francona's tenures with both the Phils and the Sox, I shared the optimism of both teams when they hired him. I admired the managing he did in both places, and never shared in the fans' souring on him in either place. This book vindicates my faith in the man.

    I have never been a fan of Dan Shaughnessy's negative outlook (his jinned-up "Curse of the Bambino" being just the best-known example), but he puts his bad attitude back in his pocket for this book and shows what kind of an engaging writer he can be when he isn't being an aselloch.

    I enjoyed this book a lot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Good Read for the Baseball Lover

    Good read into the insights of the Red Sox organization under Tito and Theo

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    To kat

    You here

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    RED SOX IS AWEEEEESOMEEEEEEEEEEEEEREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEER YANKEES IS NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!""!!""!!!!!!!!

    OH YEAH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Great read

    I purchased this book for my husband, he is absolutely enjoying the book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Francona

    As a die hard Yankee fan, I hate everything about the Red Sox. But this book made me a fan of their coach. Anybody who is a baseball fan... including yankee fans, should buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Highly recommended for any Sox fan (or baseball fan.)

    Great read! Interesting insight into the workings of a MLB team.
    The "voice" of Terry Francona is very true and sincere. If this book was written to make "Tito" a sympathetic character, it succeeded. He was caught between demanding owners and selfish, overpaid players and even after all his success, he was "thrown under the bus."
    I'm not a big fan of Shaughnessy, he did a great job of writing this story.
    Overall, 5 stars! Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Must read for any baseball fan

    I am a Bruins fan first, but love all Boston sports and am a long time Red Sox season ticket holder. Even with all I already knew about the Sox this gave additional insight into the loss of focus that resulted in the downfall of a great team

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    great book

    loved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Red Sox fans a must read

    the book is well written and had a lot of information i didn't know about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2