Customer Reviews for

Frank: The Voice

Average Rating 3.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Extraordinary and Highly Recommended

This is not just one more biography to join the innumerable list of one of the world's greatest entertainers, Frank Sinatra. Kaplan's exhaustive research and straightforward style reveal new and never before written details of Sinatra's extraordinary, tumultuous, and co...
This is not just one more biography to join the innumerable list of one of the world's greatest entertainers, Frank Sinatra. Kaplan's exhaustive research and straightforward style reveal new and never before written details of Sinatra's extraordinary, tumultuous, and complicated life. It is written with almost the same aggressive, in your face, larger than life way, in which Frank Sinatra lived his life. Kaplan tells it bluntly, yet exhaustively, always probing into one of the eras great and powerful entertainers and showing the reader what a gifted, troubled, and multi-layerd man he was. The cliche and over used claim of a book being a "page turner" actually is right on target here. it just never let's go. An important, meaningful addition to the legendary Frank Sinatra. Read it whether you are a life long fan or critic and you will come away with even more insight into one of America's singular talents.

posted by JacksonNYC on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Where's the rest of the story?

If you're looking for a comprehensive biography of Frank Sinatra, you won't find it here. Too much time spent on Ava Gardner and no time addressing the 1960's Sinatra and the classic Reprise recording era. I learned more than I cared to know about the young Frank and ...
If you're looking for a comprehensive biography of Frank Sinatra, you won't find it here. Too much time spent on Ava Gardner and no time addressing the 1960's Sinatra and the classic Reprise recording era. I learned more than I cared to know about the young Frank and his hijinks.

posted by StellaBee on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Extraordinary and Highly Recommended

    This is not just one more biography to join the innumerable list of one of the world's greatest entertainers, Frank Sinatra. Kaplan's exhaustive research and straightforward style reveal new and never before written details of Sinatra's extraordinary, tumultuous, and complicated life. It is written with almost the same aggressive, in your face, larger than life way, in which Frank Sinatra lived his life. Kaplan tells it bluntly, yet exhaustively, always probing into one of the eras great and powerful entertainers and showing the reader what a gifted, troubled, and multi-layerd man he was. The cliche and over used claim of a book being a "page turner" actually is right on target here. it just never let's go. An important, meaningful addition to the legendary Frank Sinatra. Read it whether you are a life long fan or critic and you will come away with even more insight into one of America's singular talents.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I feel like I was living with Sinatra through this book and can't wait for the next one. What a fascinating man and of course, I am a fan of his singing. Kaplan was so exacting and I wish I could have heard every song he discussed....and now I discovered how to on this machine. Great read ... I couldn't put it down. Whether you know who he is, read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I am excited to read about my old freind.

    I was on Franks arm for 12 years back in the 60's in Las Vegas .
    we had a blast together. No one knows about me yet my book Breaking My Silence: Will tell it all for everyone to read. I must tell my story to help other gals in the life style I lived in Vegas.


    best Jane McCormick

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Where's the rest of the story?

    If you're looking for a comprehensive biography of Frank Sinatra, you won't find it here. Too much time spent on Ava Gardner and no time addressing the 1960's Sinatra and the classic Reprise recording era. I learned more than I cared to know about the young Frank and his hijinks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    fascinating psychology of Frank

    great author (I am now reading one he co-authored with Jerry Lewis).
    emphasizes how great Sinatra becomes at his art, and also how flawed in his personal life. How he hates to be alone at night, how he behaved as a high roller, the promiscuity, alcohol and cigarettes. How he was spoiled and had tantrums if he didn't get his way or cut off a friend who he perceived offended him. How he always had muscle nearby in case of real or imagined enemies. All the while reaching the peak of his singing career. Theory about how the emotion came through his voice, making him an idol of teens. A wonderful study of greatness mixed with insecurity. It only goes past his comeback in From Here to Eternity in 1953. Covers the Ava Gardner years and some of the Vegas years. I loved the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    A great lesson in Hollywood history

    I thoroughly enjoyed this biography, not only because of the in-depth portrayal of Frank, but also because of the behind-the-scenes look at Frank's world. From recording studios to the big screen, as well as the people who made him great, I was intrigued and engaged in the life Frank led. I felt myself sitting on the sidelines rooting him on and praising the likes of Nelson Riddle and Jimmy VanHeusen for their efforts to protect Frank for the genius he was, thus helping him to be successful despite his personal issues. The only criticism I had is that the story ended way too soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    I couldnt put this one down

    I was so sorry to see this one end... i was totally absorbed into the life of Frank Sinatra while reading this book... rumor has it that its the 1st in a trilogy and man i hope so... i will keep my eye out for 2 & 3... Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Sinatra is very, very self-serving!!!

    Would not recommend this read at all. There is a lot of repetition through the narrative and a sense of disorganization of points in time, his life events, etc. Truly, I was looking for some redeeming qualities in the man, but unfortunately, other than a notable voice, he was a very selfish, uncaring individual unless it suited his fame. WOW! What an unfortunate eye opener.

    Also, no mention of the Rat Pack for which he was part of and a group that did have some familiar highlights in the 50s 60s 70s decades.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    recommended

    I would recommend this book if you like to read about Sinatra's ties to mafioso! And, if you want to get disillusioned by the goings on of
    Lana Turner, Marilyn Maxwell, Ava Gardner and so on and so on. All these people seemed to do in their lives was to drink and have sex......once in a while Frank would sing or sometimes not even show up because he was busy with one of those women. I read those 700 pages in a few days....did not bother with the mafia stories. I used to have these people on a pedestal, but not anymore. How sad for all of them....money makes strange bedfellows!! I do still like 'ole blue eyes, but just cannot believe all the drinking and sex that went on with these women who I used to think had some class. The book is written very well and is interesting if you like to read about what I stated. I would highly recommend The Help instead.....something which most people in The Voice could use !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Wont buy to pricey......

    Wont read till price drops

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable Reading of an Entertainer

    This was my first eBook and a good way for me to begin using this medium as a reading tool. Before discussing "Frank" I must offer that this style of reading is quite handy. This reading occured while simultaneously reading a hard copy of "Washington" by Ron Chernow. The ease of carrying my Nookcolor at distances away from home or work really will make you aware that your reading should not be deterred by any restricted location you may find yourself in. The reading of eBook technology is not a matter of a format replacing another, hardcopy. It actually expands your accessablility to reading and even greater. I was able to read in times and places where I never before would have considered. For example, two weeks ago in a concert auditorium before seeing Franc D'Ambrosio (remember The Phantom of the Opera?) What makes and how does an individual become such an outstanding vocalist? And what do they really go through to reach the top? How about their sideline interest, perks, achievements and failings, handicapps and etc? Frank was a pistol but unmistakably he could sing. It seemed he lived life in an upheaval of stress, his work, his women and family. The author, James Kaplan, does great here. He kept me entertained to the end. The photo entries are excellent and the story of Eva Gardner has led me to begin now a book on her, a fellow Tarheel. Kaplan uses colorful language that I feel is not misapplied considering his subject's experience. I liked this book alot and I understand that a followup is in the works, if I am not mistaken. I'm ready for it. Try this book out, you'll like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for any Frank Sinatra fan

    This is a very unique biography. I have been a Sinatra fan for many years and I thought I knew everything there is to know, but this book went into such depth and detail I walked away with even more respect for this man and feeling that I had been there with him through all his bad times and good. The writing and research is amazing. Good job!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Highly + recommended!!!

    As one of the "bobby sock" group, I especially appreciated reading more detailed info of Frank Sinatra. This book is well written with info I'd not read before. Will look forward to the next in the trilogy. Thanks to James Kaplan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    A slow read in spots...

    ...but overall this is a fabulous book. I can't wait for Part 2. James Kaplan is a GREAT writer. I read this as a library e-book, and was a little sorry about that because you cannot look up words in the dictionary. And Mr. Kaplan does use some $50 words. Again, I highly recommend this and since I liked it so much I will probably by the Nook-book version as soon as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    outrageous price

    can't imagine any reason for such an unreasonable price.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Price

    Why is the price of this NOOKbook over $7.00 more than the hardcover edition?

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4