Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: Dead and Alive: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 355 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Brisk Pace to Koontz's Frankenstein: Dead and Alive, Book 3 of Trilogy

Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, an...
Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, and gore. Victor Helios Frankenstein is the ultimate personification of evil and narcissism as he unleashes his New Race in New Orleans to eliminate the Old Race and to rule the world. You can't help cheering for Carson O'Connor, Michael Maddison and Deucalion as they race to stop Helios's deadly creations. Several New Race characters will touch your heart as well. "Dead and Alive" is jolly good fun and is a thrilling page-turner of a story. Is it possible that Deucalion will appear in another of Dean's stories in the future? Only time will tell. In closing, I recommend that Books 1 and 2 in the trilogy be read first ("Prodigal Son" and "City of Night".) You may also want to re-visit them if it's been a while since you've read them. And thanks to Dean for making the wait for Book 3 worthwhile.

posted by MAK-Attack on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Humph! Beyond Frustration

I waited three years for this? What happened? I am totally heartbroken. The first two books were so good; I mean really really really good, I could hardly contain myself waiting for this book's release. Did Koontz just spit this out to appease his fans not caring what ...
I waited three years for this? What happened? I am totally heartbroken. The first two books were so good; I mean really really really good, I could hardly contain myself waiting for this book's release. Did Koontz just spit this out to appease his fans not caring what it contained? I was soooooo let down. I am a monstrously huge Dean Koontz fan and I have never been more disappointed with his work until I read Dead and Alive. I expected so much from this book and got nothing but a TIPPY-TOING, JUGGLING, SKIPPING, JUMPING, CART WHEELING, PIROUETTING, TOE SUCKING, BUG EATING, ALBINO, TROLL. What in the world was that all about? What about Deucalion, Carson, and Michael? The first two books primarily featured those three characters, but in this third and last installment they were hardly spoken of at all. And talk about a disappointing ending. I expected a huge battle or something close to it, but all I got was...Well it was all just way too easy. If anything ever deserved a rewrite it's Dead and Alive.

posted by SoCalMom on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Humph! Beyond Frustration

    I waited three years for this? What happened? I am totally heartbroken. The first two books were so good; I mean really really really good, I could hardly contain myself waiting for this book's release. Did Koontz just spit this out to appease his fans not caring what it contained? I was soooooo let down. I am a monstrously huge Dean Koontz fan and I have never been more disappointed with his work until I read Dead and Alive. I expected so much from this book and got nothing but a TIPPY-TOING, JUGGLING, SKIPPING, JUMPING, CART WHEELING, PIROUETTING, TOE SUCKING, BUG EATING, ALBINO, TROLL. What in the world was that all about? What about Deucalion, Carson, and Michael? The first two books primarily featured those three characters, but in this third and last installment they were hardly spoken of at all. And talk about a disappointing ending. I expected a huge battle or something close to it, but all I got was...Well it was all just way too easy. If anything ever deserved a rewrite it's Dead and Alive.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    we waited years for this

    What an enormous let down. We have all had better campfire stories. Jocko the troll, really? The two previous books to this trilogy deserved a much better effort to end what was building into a great story. If I had more than two thumbs to point down I surely would.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Short

    I gotta admit after waiting so long it seemed a little short and quick. I still liked it, finished it in one day. The first 2 are definately better. I think he went a little overboard with the new characters. Very different from first 2; I guess thats what happens when there is a such a gap between books in series. It was very annoying reading most of the characters talking like morons for many many pages. Jocko needs to get killed off immediately in Book 4.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brisk Pace to Koontz's Frankenstein: Dead and Alive, Book 3 of Trilogy

    Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, and gore. Victor Helios Frankenstein is the ultimate personification of evil and narcissism as he unleashes his New Race in New Orleans to eliminate the Old Race and to rule the world. You can't help cheering for Carson O'Connor, Michael Maddison and Deucalion as they race to stop Helios's deadly creations. Several New Race characters will touch your heart as well. "Dead and Alive" is jolly good fun and is a thrilling page-turner of a story. Is it possible that Deucalion will appear in another of Dean's stories in the future? Only time will tell. In closing, I recommend that Books 1 and 2 in the trilogy be read first ("Prodigal Son" and "City of Night".) You may also want to re-visit them if it's been a while since you've read them. And thanks to Dean for making the wait for Book 3 worthwhile.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    A great disappointment after a long wait

    The series started off with promise, but the wait for the conclusion was too long. After reading the final book, I feel like I was "brushed off" by the author... the book lacked depth, had a hard time remembering who the principal characters were, and introduced superfluous plot twists and characters that felt more like a bad movie than an indulgent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Disappointing;Preachy;Gory;Shallow

    Koontz thinks he now oozes life wisdom to pass on to his readers and obviously he is much more interested in sharing his narrow & naive philosophies (most people get over the Ayn Rand/Government Bad! stage in their twenties when they realize we live in communities that are dependent on interaction and the public sphere)-than in crafting a good story. Reading his books increasingly is like taking an entry level poly sci class from a not very enlightened Libertarian pit bull who just "wants everyone to think like him." Page after page of preaching. Reads like a Meritocracy primer; he overcame, so any one can... blah, blah; just get a super dog... blah, blah
    Koontz has been sheltered in his isolated authors life and Orange County/Newport Beach !THE LAND OF THE ENTITLED! (where I also live - so I know - just go shopping after all. you earned it!)
    This narrowness in his life and perspectives is expressing overwhelmingly in his books...Instead of becomeing richer and more complex - they are just getting boring, shallow, repetitive and tired.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Let Down!

    Not as good as the first two!! I was let down. It felt rushed through and not as much detail put into it as there was in the first two Frankenstein books. After waiting as long as I did, I felt cheated.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can't believe Dean wrote this

    I am a huge Koontz fan, but I can't believe what he did with this final piece to an otherwise terrific story. This was the worst edited and written book I have ever read from him and to do this after years of waiting for the final chapter was a huge disappointment to me. As I said, the editing was horrible, with mistakes it seemed almost page by page. Dean always does a great job of setting the "scene", but it was ridiculously overdone on multiple occasions. And I felt like the ending was too easy. One of the great things about Dean's stories is you are always guessing on exactly how it will end, how the ending will come about. I felt like I knew from the first few chapters, and it just seemed like he took a shortcut.

    If you took the time to read the first 2 books of this series already, then the last is obviously a must read. But if you have not, I wouldn't recommend reading the trilogy at all. That's how disappointing this final chapter is. It ruined the whole thing for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it and hated it!

    Like the rest of you I had been anticipating this book since finishing City of Night. I found the characters and story interesting but I was definitely disappointed. I had read somewhere that Dean didn't want to write this book. I think it showed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply put....

    A waste of time. I'm not sure what went wrong, but it seems like a lot of us here feel the same way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    I cannot believe Dean Koontz put his name on this!!!

    Awful ending to the series. I think Dean Koontz put this out there to end the series. He did such a disservice to this story! The first two books were awesome. I am a Dean Koontz devoted reader and I am EXTREMELY disappointed with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Awful

    I waited almost 3 years for the ending to the Frankenstein series and it seems as though Koontz just threw this together to get it over with. Simply awful. It will be awhile before I come back to his writings. He really disappointed me with Dead and Alive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    Koontz in a slump?

    Sadly, not much to add to the insights of the patient and disappointed readers of the 3rd Frankenstein trilogy. Koontz seems to be in a slump - and it happens to everyone. However - he did set this story up at the end (I think) to bring together Brother Odd and Deucalion - now, that could be fantastic if Koontz can leave behind his increasingly preachy/political ways and if he can develop his quirky characters without the cliches.
    Koontz claims to despise politics/politicians, but Koontz, what a fraud! Politics is literally hemorrhaging from your pages - that is- your Ayn Randian/Libertarian/anyone can pull themselves up from their bootstraps if they have enough gumption and the talented deserve what they get politics. All writers write their personal philosophies into stories - but pleeeeez! if you need to moralize this badly just get a bully pulpit. Give me a good story. And work on your dialouge; young people really don't talk like you write it. Sorry - it's almost as if your books get more shallow as you try so hard to be the wise sage of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Dust Collector!

    I waited years for this book & well I would rather still be waiting on a exciting ending then have wasted my money.

    If you visit Dean Koontz site he says that he has waited so long because he didn't want to let lose Victor in New Orleans right after Hurricane Katrina hit (Which I respect).

    However I started reading this book & within the first few chapters it was nothing but meaningless / pointless killing by the new generation. I was so disgusted by the killings that I have quit reading this book & can't pick it back up again.

    I feel this book was just shoved out there as to keep the "Frankenstein" fans at bay & then I hear that there are going to be more Frankenstein books relased as of June 15th, 2010. Since I was so let down by this series & I can't finish it, I'm not sure I will start the other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Dean Koontz I'm used to.

    Mr. Koontz seems to have just written this book to shut up the fans who have been hounding him for it for years now. He didn't seem to put his usual strong writing style into it. He had some notes on what he wanted to do, but with his disappointment of book two, he didn't want to continue. I think he would rather have started over from book one, and gone another direction. Good book, but not the great book I was expecting from "Dean Koontz".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Ugh

    I have read cereal boxes more interesting than this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    WHAT A SERIES!!! I couldn't put it down!!!

    A-typical of Dean Koontz. I didn't realize it was #3 in a series so I had to go out and get one and two right away. I couldn't put them down. Of course I'm a fan of Koontz anyway. When you read this series keep in mind the monster is the monster from the original Frankenstein and Victor is Frankenstein from over 200 years ago. What's the best is that neither realizes the other is still alive which heightens the suspense. Victor is playing with science and creation and things are not going as he planned. His creations become more "human" then he expected, reacting differently then "programmed" and of course problems occur. I highly recommend the whole series. Don't read this one until you have read the first two. You probably could but you'll miss so much!!! Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    I love Dean Koontz!

    I've been a huge Dean Koontz fan since my teens and can't ever wait for a new book to come out. When this 3rd (and final???) book finally came out, I read all three in the series in one weekend. I love the way Koontz can take something that seems so extraordinary and make it believeable. I would highly recommend anything by Koontz.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great title.

    The story is unique and classically strange-Koontz, but as a trilogy, this book takes a turn away from its heroes. Deucalion, the avenger, has the reigns stolen by some mystic monster. The intrepid cops, Carson and Michael, who fight the battle for humanity are lost in the gone-wrong plotline. It's a bit of a let down for saving the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    DISSAPOINTING

    for 3 years or more i looked forward to this 3rd book. i was so dissapointed it was no where near as entralling as the 1st too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18