Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: Dead and Alive

Average Rating 4
( 359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Brisk Pace to Koontz's Frankenstein: Dead and Alive, Book 3 of Trilogy

Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, an...
Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, and gore. Victor Helios Frankenstein is the ultimate personification of evil and narcissism as he unleashes his New Race in New Orleans to eliminate the Old Race and to rule the world. You can't help cheering for Carson O'Connor, Michael Maddison and Deucalion as they race to stop Helios's deadly creations. Several New Race characters will touch your heart as well. "Dead and Alive" is jolly good fun and is a thrilling page-turner of a story. Is it possible that Deucalion will appear in another of Dean's stories in the future? Only time will tell. In closing, I recommend that Books 1 and 2 in the trilogy be read first ("Prodigal Son" and "City of Night".) You may also want to re-visit them if it's been a while since you've read them. And thanks to Dean for making the wait for Book 3 worthwhile.

posted by MAK-Attack on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Humph! Beyond Frustration

I waited three years for this? What happened? I am totally heartbroken. The first two books were so good; I mean really really really good, I could hardly contain myself waiting for this book's release. Did Koontz just spit this out to appease his fans not caring what ...
I waited three years for this? What happened? I am totally heartbroken. The first two books were so good; I mean really really really good, I could hardly contain myself waiting for this book's release. Did Koontz just spit this out to appease his fans not caring what it contained? I was soooooo let down. I am a monstrously huge Dean Koontz fan and I have never been more disappointed with his work until I read Dead and Alive. I expected so much from this book and got nothing but a TIPPY-TOING, JUGGLING, SKIPPING, JUMPING, CART WHEELING, PIROUETTING, TOE SUCKING, BUG EATING, ALBINO, TROLL. What in the world was that all about? What about Deucalion, Carson, and Michael? The first two books primarily featured those three characters, but in this third and last installment they were hardly spoken of at all. And talk about a disappointing ending. I expected a huge battle or something close to it, but all I got was...Well it was all just way too easy. If anything ever deserved a rewrite it's Dead and Alive.

posted by SoCalMom on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it and hated it!

    Like the rest of you I had been anticipating this book since finishing City of Night. I found the characters and story interesting but I was definitely disappointed. I had read somewhere that Dean didn't want to write this book. I think it showed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the Dean Koontz I'm used to.

    Mr. Koontz seems to have just written this book to shut up the fans who have been hounding him for it for years now. He didn't seem to put his usual strong writing style into it. He had some notes on what he wanted to do, but with his disappointment of book two, he didn't want to continue. I think he would rather have started over from book one, and gone another direction. Good book, but not the great book I was expecting from "Dean Koontz".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great title.

    The story is unique and classically strange-Koontz, but as a trilogy, this book takes a turn away from its heroes. Deucalion, the avenger, has the reigns stolen by some mystic monster. The intrepid cops, Carson and Michael, who fight the battle for humanity are lost in the gone-wrong plotline. It's a bit of a let down for saving the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    DISSAPOINTING

    for 3 years or more i looked forward to this 3rd book. i was so dissapointed it was no where near as entralling as the 1st too

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Long Awaited

    This book was good, but I'm just a little disappointed.

    There were so many loose ends that Koontz failed to wrap up.

    I fell asleep during a lot of this book and I kept waiting for something exciting to happen, but nothing ever did.

    Book #1 is the best, but book #3 picks up where Book #2 left off (I was not impressed with book #2 towards the last half) so maybe that should've kept me from bothering with Dead and Alive.

    All around I was not wowed. Sorry Dean.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Good, but. . .

    I am exceedingly happy that this book has finally been published! I loved the first two books. The entire premise of the series is one of the best, and most original that Koontz has had in several years (excluding Odd Thomas!). The first two books had great character development and intricatly woven storylines.
    This final installment was good, and ended in typical Dean Koontz style, but it felt rushed and some of the final conclusions felt forced. The first half of the book picked up in the same manner that the others left off, yet the last half is where the rushing to nicely tie up the whole story begins. Victor Helios' demise was anti-climatic. Several great new characters were introduced with little or no development that played integral roles in the final chapters.
    Overall, I would categorize this as a great Koontz light read, but as a finale to a trilogy, it does not hold up to the entire series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    question Is this book recomended for a 13year old

    Is this book recomended for a 13 year old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Decent but starting to drag

    Good read but the stories starting to drag. Hope it picks up in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Good, but Not Great

    Being a huge fan of Shelley's novel, I was intrigued to read Koontz series. I was hooked right from the beginning with the first one of the trilogy turned series. Sadly, I felt the third one was a bit of a disappointment. Koontz throws in too many odd characters with odd behaviors that just seem out of place. If you start the series, I suggest reading it all the way through. Overall, they are fantastic and make for great conversation, but I think you'll find that they get less exciting the further you go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not quite as enjoyable for me as the first two in the series,

    however, since I must follow through to the conclusion, I found myself reading through this book in less then a day. (By the way, the nook battery DOES NOT last ten days when you're a junkie of a reader!) A couple of new characters were introduced in this story, and they were indeed entertaining. Koontz has put enough of a twist on things that I'm still hooked. I was compelled to purchase the fourth immediately upon the conclusion of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To much of a good thing

    I'm sorry to say that I was glad when I finished the book just to finish it. The overall storyline is great with the characters developing a bit but not being over-complex. My main gripe with the series is that Koontz repeats basic facts about the characters and story so dang much that I'm sure with some editing the 3-book series could be shrunk to 1 big book. In almost every chapter something is repeated that is stated in nearly every chapter. I did enjoy how at the end the characters are tied in with the Odd Thomas series. This series could have been much shorter with less repetition (filler to make a trillogy and sell more books in my opinion) and be more enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What was he thinking?????

    The first two books in this series were exceptional; and the third was well written, but the ending..........way less to be desired. He took forever to write this book and then you have all of this build up to an ending that is of the extreme let down. I don't know if he was trying to complete a deadline or what; but I could have done better than that! If you want a book to pass the time; go ahead and read it; but say that we did not warn you about the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another twist to the Frankenstein legend, Dean Koontz style

    An interesting story providing a good way to pass the time. Relatively easy to follow. Had I not known, I may not have guessed this was Dean Koontz's writing, since its basis was came from past literary works. Nonetheless, the author has created an eclectic cast of characters who are embroiled in life or death situations similar to "The Body Snatchers" from long ago. I like how the alternate life forms have programed and yet evolving personalities creating individuals among the clones engaged in a struggle between emerging ethics vs. internal programing. Equally interesting is how the seemingly eternal Dr. Frankenstein is portrayed as evil incarnate.

    The book is interesting and PURE fantasy, removing the element of empathic fear to the reader. But then, aren't most Dean Koontz written that way? Readers who enjoy the fantasy horror of Dean Koontz will most likely enjoy this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Not as good as Books 1 and 2

    After waiting so long for this third book in the series to come out, I was sorely disappointed. It was definitely not as good as the first two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    Frankenstein 3

    I was really surprised by this book, I thought it would be scary like his other 2. It was pretty good, but there's lots of humor in it also. It's nothing like first 2 at all. It's on ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    All Three Would Have Made One Good Book

    It is clearer with the last installment that this trilogy was written for the small screen. I also found the ending was too obviously a ploy to leave it open for more installments. While I felt the first of the series stretched the imagination, the last was lazily constructed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's too bad he reverted to form.

    I like Koontz books, generally. I waited impatiently for this one for a long time, and was thrilled when I finally found it out, but I was disappointed in the resolution of the tale. Koontz started strongly with books I and II, and I had high hopes for a real departure in terms of this plot. But in the end, he repackaged the themes and villains and heroes and victims that already exist in so many of his (albeit enjoyable) earlier books.

    Good for a first time Koontz reader (along with books I and II), or a die hard fan. I've been one of the latter, but my enthusiasm is definitely waning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4