BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: Dead and Alive

Average Rating 4
( 359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Brisk Pace to Koontz's Frankenstein: Dead and Alive, Book 3 of Trilogy

Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, an...
Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, and gore. Victor Helios Frankenstein is the ultimate personification of evil and narcissism as he unleashes his New Race in New Orleans to eliminate the Old Race and to rule the world. You can't help cheering for Carson O'Connor, Michael Maddison and Deucalion as they race to stop Helios's deadly creations. Several New Race characters will touch your heart as well. "Dead and Alive" is jolly good fun and is a thrilling page-turner of a story. Is it possible that Deucalion will appear in another of Dean's stories in the future? Only time will tell. In closing, I recommend that Books 1 and 2 in the trilogy be read first ("Prodigal Son" and "City of Night".) You may also want to re-visit them if it's been a while since you've read them. And thanks to Dean for making the wait for Book 3 worthwhile.

posted by MAK-Attack on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Humph! Beyond Frustration

I waited three years for this? What happened? I am totally heartbroken. The first two books were so good; I mean really really really good, I could hardly contain myself waiting for this book's release. Did Koontz just spit this out to appease his fans not caring what ...
I waited three years for this? What happened? I am totally heartbroken. The first two books were so good; I mean really really really good, I could hardly contain myself waiting for this book's release. Did Koontz just spit this out to appease his fans not caring what it contained? I was soooooo let down. I am a monstrously huge Dean Koontz fan and I have never been more disappointed with his work until I read Dead and Alive. I expected so much from this book and got nothing but a TIPPY-TOING, JUGGLING, SKIPPING, JUMPING, CART WHEELING, PIROUETTING, TOE SUCKING, BUG EATING, ALBINO, TROLL. What in the world was that all about? What about Deucalion, Carson, and Michael? The first two books primarily featured those three characters, but in this third and last installment they were hardly spoken of at all. And talk about a disappointing ending. I expected a huge battle or something close to it, but all I got was...Well it was all just way too easy. If anything ever deserved a rewrite it's Dead and Alive.

posted by SoCalMom on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brisk Pace to Koontz's Frankenstein: Dead and Alive, Book 3 of Trilogy

    Buckle up and get ready for an exciting ride into the imagination of Dean Koontz. Book 3 has long been anticipated by Dean's fans, and "Dead and Alive" delivers a worthy finale in the Frankenstein trilogy. The story is fast-paced, with touches of humor, tenderness, and gore. Victor Helios Frankenstein is the ultimate personification of evil and narcissism as he unleashes his New Race in New Orleans to eliminate the Old Race and to rule the world. You can't help cheering for Carson O'Connor, Michael Maddison and Deucalion as they race to stop Helios's deadly creations. Several New Race characters will touch your heart as well. "Dead and Alive" is jolly good fun and is a thrilling page-turner of a story. Is it possible that Deucalion will appear in another of Dean's stories in the future? Only time will tell. In closing, I recommend that Books 1 and 2 in the trilogy be read first ("Prodigal Son" and "City of Night".) You may also want to re-visit them if it's been a while since you've read them. And thanks to Dean for making the wait for Book 3 worthwhile.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    WHAT A SERIES!!! I couldn't put it down!!!

    A-typical of Dean Koontz. I didn't realize it was #3 in a series so I had to go out and get one and two right away. I couldn't put them down. Of course I'm a fan of Koontz anyway. When you read this series keep in mind the monster is the monster from the original Frankenstein and Victor is Frankenstein from over 200 years ago. What's the best is that neither realizes the other is still alive which heightens the suspense. Victor is playing with science and creation and things are not going as he planned. His creations become more "human" then he expected, reacting differently then "programmed" and of course problems occur. I highly recommend the whole series. Don't read this one until you have read the first two. You probably could but you'll miss so much!!! Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    I love Dean Koontz!

    I've been a huge Dean Koontz fan since my teens and can't ever wait for a new book to come out. When this 3rd (and final???) book finally came out, I read all three in the series in one weekend. I love the way Koontz can take something that seems so extraordinary and make it believeable. I would highly recommend anything by Koontz.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    Worth the wait

    We waited a long time for this book. Although I don't think it was up to par as the first two, it was an exciting, fast paced book that kept me hooked until the end.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Ending To The Series!!!

    Dean Koontz is my all-time favorite author. I just discovered him this year (January 2009) and I'm SO glad I did! After reading about 20 of Koontz' books, I read Frankenstein 1 & 2. I avoided the Frankenstein books because I presumed the story would be about a tall green monster with bolts in his neck, walking stiffly around the city, chasing people as he muttered "FIRE!" and "ARGH!".
    When I finally was convinced from other DK fans that the books were a completely different story and that I should give them a chance, I was rewarded w/ some of the best plotting and characterization that I've ever read!
    Deucalion is a very well-developed and endearing character. The relationship between partners Madison and O'Connor feels real and is chock'full of wit, cleverness & more (I won't spoil anything for any non-readers).
    The "villains" and "monsters" in this last book are amazing and very entertaining. Koontz forces the reader to continually wonder "how in the WORLD are they gonna get out of it this time??".
    This novel was well worth the wait. I love how the series ended & will come back again & again to revisit the characters!
    My only complaint is that there won't be a 4th book to follow. =)
    BRAVO Koontz!

    Here's what I've read by Koontz so far & how I rank them from most to least favorite:

    1-Odd Thomas
    2-Frankenstein 1 (a very very close second!)
    3-Frankenstein 2 (a very very close third!)
    4-Frankenstein 3 (a very very close fourth!)
    5-Watchers (a very very close fifth!)
    6-From The Corner Of His Eye
    7-Shadowfires
    8-The Bad Place
    9-Life Expectancy
    10-Lightning
    11-Hideaway
    12-Strangers
    13-Velocity
    14-Brother Odd
    15-By The Light Of The Moon
    16-Darkfall
    17-The Key To Midnight
    18-Fear Nothing
    19-Odd Hours
    20-Forever Odd
    21-Intensity
    22-The Taking

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Annex Flame

    She dragged Raven's body in, dumping it the stream with a disgusted look on her face, like she had just swallowed something nasty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Extus Thunder

    Sits and stretches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Annex Snow

    She ran in, looking around wildly. She spotted some rasberry (bushes?) by a tree. She grabbed a dozen or more leaves and ran back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Tito Scourge Bio

    Name: Scourge <br> Rank: Tito or whatever. <br> Age: 9 moons <br> Description: Small black cat with dark gray stripes and paws. She has ice blue eyes. Her voice is high pitched, like claws scraping against ice. Scourge has a long tail and her face is narrow with a gray nose. <br> Personality: Mean, fierce, loyal, hates DayClan because of their cheerful attitude. Likes blood and death. <br> No Mate/Kits/Crush because no toms really like her personality. She decided to go to Ethreal because their personality's matched her fiery one. <br> Other: Ask but you won't need to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Astrosol to ss

    Srry my post wont load if i swear properly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Sanctus Star 2 黦

    None of your business, Shadow. Get out and back to main camp. -_- Nosy people these days...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Shadow

    Rolls her eyes. Im curias,(excuse my spelling) not nosy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Extus bloodheart

    "Depressing really." Ate the borage than grabbed her kits and lugged them back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    OceanCoral

    She came back and seated herself in a tree. "No cat will drive me away."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    &tau&f彫 (囘)

    Watch silently

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Tito Rising to Tito Rising

    Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    To mossflame

    Where is she? Dont worry. Im a good cat. <p>IvyShard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Exceed Arguet

    ((Monster storm + night time = Creepyness. If I disappear, my wifi went out.)) <br>
    <p>
    "So it's agreed?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    E. Moss

    Im sorry. I fell asleep. Im to tired i gtg bbt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Exceed fern

    Same)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8