Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: Prodigal Son

Average Rating 4
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Phenomenal Read

Fantastic first book to this series. I was poring through the pages as fast as I could. It was a phenomenal book. I give it an A+ all the way around.

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

reductio absurdum

It's a page turner but glosses over any of the complex arguments over bio-technology turning the narrative into one long cartoonish and reductio absurdum argument against human intervention in the natural world. Many worthwhile questions about bio-tech could be addresse...
It's a page turner but glosses over any of the complex arguments over bio-technology turning the narrative into one long cartoonish and reductio absurdum argument against human intervention in the natural world. Many worthwhile questions about bio-tech could be addressed in an interesting way: Where do you draw the line between things like braces for teeth, repairs of cleft palates, or reconstructive surgery and other more advanced forms of human enhancement? Who will get to decide that? Why should we trust them to make those decisions for ordinary people? Why would we think the gatekeepers would have better, wiser, or more insightful knowledge than the rest of us? Should those decisions be made by the federal government, the states, or just by individuals themselves? Why? Who will appoint the gatekeepers? Would Bill Clinton or Newt Gingrich be in a better position to understand what your needs or interests are than you? Even if the U.S. were to stop all experiments in bio-tech wouldn't that just leave the world's illiberal states free to continue their own experiments? What's the difference between finding ways to foster one's child's intelligence in environmental ways and doing it through engineering? Again, who gets to decide these things and why them?

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Phenomenal Read

    Fantastic first book to this series. I was poring through the pages as fast as I could. It was a phenomenal book. I give it an A+ all the way around.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    A Very Good Book!

    This book surprised me in that I thought it would be a lot different from what it is. It is WAY better than even the original Frankenstein. If you like Mr. Koontz then you'll love this book. You'll love it even if you've never read any of his books...Highly Recommended!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    what a great book

    I can't wait for the third book. Never put it down. One of his best.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Suprisingly Engrossing!

    Not usually a fan of these type books, but I have to say, I could not put it down until the very last page. So...I rushed right out to buy Book Two and gobbled it up in no time at all....and, I'm STILL waiting for Book Three. What's the hold-up??

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Excellent!

    what a great book! It was entertaining, suspenseful, a bit funny, just great! Praises to Koontz. I look forward to reading book 2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Excellent book!!!

    I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Frankenstein I Can Really Enjoy.

    I have never in my life wanted a book to come out so badly as I do with the third installment of Dean Koontz Frankenstein series. I've read both books one and two twice and they are now one giant story in my mind so i will try to stick with just book one for this review.

    When I originally read that this was going to be about Frankenstein in modern day North America helping out with crime I laughed. I thought of cheesy movies like Robocop and shook my head. But I gave it a shot anyways because if nothing else it would be different from what I had read, (at that time only King novels). On that assumption I was correct, on the cheesy Robocop analogy...I was dead wrong.

    The characters are all likable or loathsome and some are downright sympathetic, even some of the monsters. The plot was not Frankenstein dressed in Louisianan PD Blues running around shooting and maiming perps either. Duchaleon (Frankensteins new name, pardon my spelling)receives word that someone close to him in the freak show circuit has passed and his creator Victor Frankenstein is still alive and looking the same as the day he created Duchaleon living under the alias Victor Helios.

    Duchaleon makes his way to Louisiana and ends up entangled in two police officers hunt for a serial killer who is amputating and collecting singular body parts from women. The two cops are both excellent characters, one male, and one female, the male is a sarcastic guy and adds needed comic relief throughout and the female cop is very rough and tumble (in the mold of Deb from Showtime's Dexter).

    The story is not entirely about a serial killer and the three's hunt for him or her. The book and sequel are a multi-layered story that really grabs hold of you and never lets go. The read is so enjoyable that it reads like an epic movie. You really wont want to put it down. I recommend that if you are considering getting this book or the audio version (which is also excellent btw) that you pick up its companion book, Dean Koontz Frankenstein: City of Night as you will want to read it right away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Tito Sun

    Whats going on here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Pearlkit

    She whimpered and then started to turn and pad away singing " There a stranger in my bed. There is a party in my head. Glitter all over the room. Pink flamingos in the pool. This is like mini bar. Dj pasted out in the yard. Barbies on the barbeque. Is this a freckle or brouse? Pictures up last night ended online. We're screwed. Oh well. Its a blacked out blurr but im pretty sure it ruled. Da*m. LAST FRIDAY NIGHT!! Yah we danced on table tops. And we took to many shots. Think we kissed but i forgot. LAST FRIDAY NIGHT!! Yah we maxed our credit cards. Ended kicked out of the bar. So we hit the pool at ours. LAST FRIDAY NIGHT!! We were drinking in the park. Skinny dipping in the dark. Then met up at metric park. LAST FRIDAY NIGHT!! Yah i think we broke the law. Allways say we're gonna stop. Owao!!!!" Her voice trailed off as she walked back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    T. Ally

    "Hello, Get OUT or Get HURT."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Gorse

    He cheered up. [Thats probably true]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Excts blood

    Pads in scenting the air but not noticing the mouse cowering between her paws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Tito Leaf

    She nodded, then decided to use her pelt color and size as a hunting use. She crouched on a spot with no leaved or moss, and her spots looked like sun filtering through the trees. A rabbit hopped over, sniffing at a nearby clump of clover. She pounced, sinking her claws into its throat. It died. She lugged it along, her prey to big for her to carry, and went back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Tito Rising

    She crouched and pounced on a rabbit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Tit dapple

    Battle. Sh meowe gtg bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Tito Tiger

    We're gonna raid, so maybe we could do it later?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Tito lotus

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Sanctus Arguet

    ((That's only because I've had that name for so long.)) <br>
    <p>
    He curled around his son. "You don't need to be afraid of me."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Great series

    What can I say, it is a fantastic series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11