Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: The Dead Town

Average Rating 4
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad overall

I liked lost souls and dead town quite a bit but i feel they arent as good as the first three, the first three were alot more twisted and dark.

posted by 5248779 on July 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Someone had a deadline...and this book shows it was completed in the 13th hour!

I really got into the "new" Frankenstein story that D.K. started. Purchased the first book on a long flight from New Mexico because I didn't have the time to charge my Nook. Man...after the first book I bought the rest and couldn't wait for the final installment. Fin...
I really got into the "new" Frankenstein story that D.K. started. Purchased the first book on a long flight from New Mexico because I didn't have the time to charge my Nook. Man...after the first book I bought the rest and couldn't wait for the final installment. Finished it in 2 days! What a let down! D.K. gets you moving in the first hundred pages and you start to think "Oh, no...I see I'm going to have to wait for ANOTHER installment if I'm going to finish the storyline." No worries there. D.K. got lazy (or deadline...publisher hounding him??) and packed in the last 20 pages with quick notes about each character and then your done. NO CLIMAX!!! Hello! We readers...well.. if you haven't heard...we kind of like those things! I felt like D.K. got sick of writing the story and finished the end as quick as possible! Quite disappointed. Trust me, you will finish this book thinking, "Really? That's how ya gonna do us!"

posted by alphasense on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Someone had a deadline...and this book shows it was completed in the 13th hour!

    I really got into the "new" Frankenstein story that D.K. started. Purchased the first book on a long flight from New Mexico because I didn't have the time to charge my Nook. Man...after the first book I bought the rest and couldn't wait for the final installment. Finished it in 2 days! What a let down! D.K. gets you moving in the first hundred pages and you start to think "Oh, no...I see I'm going to have to wait for ANOTHER installment if I'm going to finish the storyline." No worries there. D.K. got lazy (or deadline...publisher hounding him??) and packed in the last 20 pages with quick notes about each character and then your done. NO CLIMAX!!! Hello! We readers...well.. if you haven't heard...we kind of like those things! I felt like D.K. got sick of writing the story and finished the end as quick as possible! Quite disappointed. Trust me, you will finish this book thinking, "Really? That's how ya gonna do us!"

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Glad to see the end of the series.

    Dean Koontz has a few books that I would give at least 4 1/2 stars, but The Dead Town isn't one of them. Koontz too often wraps up the plots quickly at the end. In The Dead Town he broke a record for swiftness and happy endings. At the same time, the plot bogged down in places when some actions were repeated with different (and new) characters. Example: scenes of the Builders doing their stuff, or Communitarians obsessing over something. The repetitions could be dropped and the ending be given greater development. The evil villain of the piece is a disappointment--arrogant and boring. But then, evil often is. The final scene between Deucalion and Victor Immaculate isn't particularly dramatic. And there is a last minute revelation about a replicant on a gurney that doesn't go anywhere, even though it's huge. (Is Koontz leaving the door open for a future novel?) The happy endings in the last two pages came fast and furious, and weren't all believable. I had to read the book to see how Koontz resolved everything, but found it disappointing. It felt as though Koontz was tired of the subject and wanted to get it over with. One light note was Jocko. He's always fun. And I have to say that I liked the reason for the breakdown of the Xerox Boze. So, read it, but don't expect great entertainment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Loved the Other Books - But This one was a let down.

    Loved the characters, and the book - up until the ending. Like the other reviewers, I felt the book may have been rushed, resulting in a terrible ending.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Pretty good read. Glad the series is finally over, hopefully.

    The book was pretty good. After four previous books in the series I felt pretty comfortable with the lead characters. This book though spent a lot of time on extra descriptions and information other than developing the characters though the climax and ultimate conclusion of the entire series. I don't know, I guess for me it was kind of a rushed finish leading into a minor personal let down after spending the time to read all five books in the series. Carson and Michael didn't have a ton of time interacting in this one. Their banter was pretty cool in the first four books. Deucalion was such a unique reinvention of the typical Frankenstein monster. In this one he just kind of did his thing and we had to kind of accept the fact that it was his destiny and that the ending was as it should have been. I'm okay with that I guess. I just wish this story could have gotten us there a little better and had a bit more of a fitting ending for a five book, six years in the making series. That's a long time to devote to a series of books and be left wishing that it could have given just a bit more. If you're a fan of Koontz, I am a big fan and will still read anything he writes, then give it a go also. I will say that I hope that he leaves this series here. It was originally supposed to have been a trilogy. The third book was a bit of a letdown too. The fourth book definitely redeemed the series and third book. The fifth book left something to be desired though. In the end I guess that if you've taken the time to have read the first four books then definitely go ahead and read this one so you can have the whole story. If you haven't read them all then make your own decisions on wether to embark on the journey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Decent, but not the best

    This book ends a series that began very well. It is timed as the "second half" of the fourth book. Neither the fourth nor fifth book is Koontz's best writing, and they are a let-down from the first three books of the series. Buy this if you want to know what happens, but don't expect the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2015

    Blake

    Parents: Unknown. Age:13. Looks: long black hair. Blue eyes. Really pale. Always wears silver glove on her left hand. Height: five feet four inches. Past: ask. Anything else: ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2015

    Ghost

    Parents: Unknown Birth place: Unknown Age: 15 Wears a ack sweater at all times. Dirty blond hair. Wears blue jeans. Has a pair of skull candy head phones around neck. Looks like the average teen. Scars on back. Cuts down arms and legs. Glasses. Wears DC's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Vote

    Annex Bloom. C: <p>
    Sure, l voted fur meself, but what are chu goin' to do about it? >:3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Extus sapphire

    She picka her catch back up, "i dont feel like dying. She runs back off to her cave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Tito Quest URGENT

    Eclipseclan is trying to gather allies so that they can attack us tomorrow. They are hoping to wipe us out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good overall, but disappointing.

    I am a Koontz fan,but this book was a bit of a let down for me. I liked the story line, but it gets repetitive having repeats almost from he fourth book. I didn't like how new characters were brought in near the end of the book, but what drove me crazy was how there wasn't much attention given to Carson and Michael's story; they became sort of second rate compared to the new characters in the last two books.

    The only saving grace for me was Mr. Lyss. He became one of my favorite characters of this series.

    Certainly worth a read if you read the previous books, but don't expect the same captivating experiences as in the first books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is there another book on the way?

    I really like the series and my favorite character is Jack-O for reasons unknown. However I am confused, is this the end of the series or has Mr. Koontz changed his mind and chosen to rake in the bucks by continuing the series. I wish he would have let his readers in on the joke,because this book ended without an ending. However the ending did give you the feeling that another book was in the future or perhaps the SyFy channel picked up the series. I don't know just grabbing at straws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Kind of rushed feel

    I don't know, Dean... is it just that you have so many great ideas that you just want to get them all out before a plane crashes on your house? I feel like The Dead Town had so much more potential than this. Definitely enjoyable parts, but kind of a let-down how it just wraps everything up at the end. This won't stop me from reading the next one of course, but just slow it down, sport!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2