Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: Lost Souls

Average Rating 3.5
( 480 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Onward clomps our hero

The Frankenstein is a fun read, a bit overplayed but still a page turner. This new one has only one flaw, it is too short, and obviously, leaves you hanging....

posted by Grandpa on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

This book will leave you feeling TOTALLY RIPPED-OFF!!!

Imagine yourself going to see a play (and not even a very good play), only to be ushered out of the theater in the middle of the second act. Then you're told that you'll have to pay the full ticket price again to see he second half of the play. To top that off, you ma...
Imagine yourself going to see a play (and not even a very good play), only to be ushered out of the theater in the middle of the second act. Then you're told that you'll have to pay the full ticket price again to see he second half of the play. To top that off, you may have to wait a full year to see the rest! I have bought and read every book ever published by Mr. Koontz, but that's one habit I plan to break. I have never felt so cheated by any author as I did by this one.
As I approached the final 50 pages, or so, I kept wondering how this story would be wrapped up in so little time. You can imagine my shock when I got to the final page and nothing was wrapped up and the whole story line was just left hanging! This book was nothing less than an appalling waste of my time and money.
I won't even bother commenting on the storyline. It was just too farfetched even by Dean Koontz's standards. If you've already bought this book, you have my sympathies. If you haven't, DON'T BOTHER! Only a masochist could enjoy this read.

posted by 312935 on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    This book will leave you feeling TOTALLY RIPPED-OFF!!!

    Imagine yourself going to see a play (and not even a very good play), only to be ushered out of the theater in the middle of the second act. Then you're told that you'll have to pay the full ticket price again to see he second half of the play. To top that off, you may have to wait a full year to see the rest! I have bought and read every book ever published by Mr. Koontz, but that's one habit I plan to break. I have never felt so cheated by any author as I did by this one.
    As I approached the final 50 pages, or so, I kept wondering how this story would be wrapped up in so little time. You can imagine my shock when I got to the final page and nothing was wrapped up and the whole story line was just left hanging! This book was nothing less than an appalling waste of my time and money.
    I won't even bother commenting on the storyline. It was just too farfetched even by Dean Koontz's standards. If you've already bought this book, you have my sympathies. If you haven't, DON'T BOTHER! Only a masochist could enjoy this read.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Half a book

    I feel like I was only given half a book after paying for the whole thing. I read this on my nook in 2 short days of reading while on vacation. The whole book leads up to a confrontation, then abruptly ends. It seems to be a short 290 page preamble to the next book, not a story on its own. I enjoy this series, but this is ridiculous!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Should be used to this by now, but keep on hoping!!

    I have been a hard and fast Koontz fan for over 25 years, but the last 5 of those have been rather hard to hang on to. It isn't just this book that has the problem of leading up to...........NOWHERE!! I remember one, can't recall the title (that's sad for a Koontz book!), where our hero is snowbound in a ?monastery?, ice creatures coming out of the snow!, save the children!, it all built to be a great thrill! Then just DUDS with a man in the basement controlling everything. That's how I felt with this. My hopes and excitement level were high when I saw this book released, went into "Oh No" mode when I saw the reviews, then being the fan that I am, I bought it anyway and was horribly, HORRIBLY disappointed, again!
    Mr. Koontz, PPPLLLLEEEAAASSSEEEEE go back to writing books like "Watchers", "Twilight Eyes", "Night Chills", "The Vision","Whispers", "Door to December", etc...There are lists and lists of great, fantastic books you've written. Why, oh WHY, have you taken this route to a dead town in the middle of nowhere? WHAT has happened to you? I WANT YOU BACK!! Please, dig deep inside and find that writer from the 70's and 80's that thrilled so many of us. I couldn't read them fast enough, I read them over and over, I passed them on to my children!! Now, I have nothing for anyone, except to say....."I don't know what happened to him". A stroke maybe? Mayhap the wonderful, exciting, imaginative side of his brain died. Maybe he just got tired. But Mr. Koontz needs to quit leading his fans on with any more wasted words, and either stop writing, just call it quits, say you had a good run; or find out where the old you went, dredge him up from wherever he is deeply buried, and let him loose on us all once more! I mourn the loss of your wonderful stories and have moved on to look for that next, new, wonderful talent, because yours has expired. I'll say a few sad words over this dead book, bury it and forget it as fast as I can.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    A disappointing read coming from Dean R Koontz

    Looking back on the third book of this installment (Frankenstein), the ending was a let down, not to mention the book. I was thrilled that book 4 was coming out. What a disappointment. I found the writing more of an elementary style, not for an adult. We know the characters well from the last books, but we don't need a whole book telling of a town being taken over by Victor's clone. Book 5 (which is coming out in spring of next year) should be with book 4. The price wasn't worth the hardcover book with nothing much to read inside.
    Seeing I collect all his books, we need to see his writing
    back up to par. I do not recommend this book to anyone.
    Phyllis

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Another Frankenstein disappointment.

    Glad to see it wasn't just me. This book will definitely be my last of the author's works.

    This is actually the fourth of a trilogy. Yes, you read that correctly. He initially announced three books based on the Victor Frankenstein / Deucalion characters. I devoured the first two only to learn the announced schedule for the third release would be ignored. It was some year, or more, overdue when finally released.

    Now Lost Souls, the fourth of the trilogy, truly simply stops, no ending, no resolution, just stops, as others have said. I can appreciate a cliff-hanger, heck, the third book ended as such with a hint that the story wasn't over but this one is the final straw.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    What the Heck

    It is very dissapointing when you turn the page and the story is over in the middle of the plot. He should tell you on the front cover that this is part 1 of however many it takes to get this story written. I realize that this story is continued, but in the middle of a battle?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Onward clomps our hero

    The Frankenstein is a fun read, a bit overplayed but still a page turner. This new one has only one flaw, it is too short, and obviously, leaves you hanging....

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Hard To read

    It has many, many characters but they are all left out in the end.
    The ending is not in Mr. Koontz's normal style. More like Stephen King's "Cell"

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    KIND OF A RIP OFF

    I was disappointed. Reading from my nook, I didn't realize I was near the end. Koontz had developed a good cast of characters, put them in danger, showed their fighting spirit, and them ended it in mid-air. It was like Pauline was tied to the railroad tracks, and the announcer says, tune in next week for another exciting episode.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    for serious Koontz fans

    As an avid koontz rader I read "Lost Souls", it was slow and a bit dull compared to his other works. The action if you want to call it that was slow & dull. twords the end it picked up some but the ending left the reader unimpressed. As one of his fans I must say he must have fallen asleep or maybe his mind wandered off the story. If not a fan I recommend either get it from local library or pass on this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    The ending was

    not expected. I didn't quite expect it to end when it did, I turned the page, ready to read more, but there wasn't anymore to read! It kind of felt like Mr. Koontz got up to take a break mid scene, and forgot to finish the book. I'm used to cliffhangers at the end of books, they don't always bother me, but this didn't feel like a cliffhanger, this felt unfinished. As always though, I enjoyed his writing style and the character interactions, Michael and Carson crack me up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Koontz can really churn them out...

    I read this on a recommendation from a friend, and it was okay. There are some lovely characters here, and some trite, lame characterizations. I felt I was missing out on much of the subtext having no knowledge of whatever happened with this same mix of characters in New Orleans, presumably in a previous book? In any case, this is a comfortable story and the husband and wife investigator team are humorous and readable. I was not a fan of the lack of ending, however. I felt as though someone had removed the final chapter / chapters; there is no closure of any sort. Worse, the next volume of the story isn't due out for months. Had I known that before going in, I doubt I would have bothered to read this, at least yet. I HATE waiting for the rest of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    1/3 of a story - three times the price.

    I didn't realize when I bought this book that I was buying into yet another series. I felt cheated. Just as it was becoming a page turner, the story abruptly ends. Why would I want to buy into yet another series about the same characters... Unlike the Odd series where each book stood alone these don't.

    Sure it is the same Koontz quality, but you are paying three times the price to get a complete story.

    Disappointing! I don't like buying 1/3 of a book for the price of a traditional story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I can see why most people are upset... but...

    I've read most of the reviews people have written on this book and I can definitely understand where most everyone is coming from. However, this book sort of redeemed the series for me after the 3rd book. I had a real hard time with how the 3rd book progressed and ended after waiting so long for it. Sure this one ended with a huge cliffhanger and I can see how a lot of people are saying, "Why did I spend time reading an imcomplete book?". At least Dean has set the stage for what should be a great 5th book. The pacing on this one was fast. The characters were interesting again. I enjoyed the banter back and forth between most of them. Like a lot of people who've posted I am extremely loyal to Koontz and I've been somewhat disappointed with some of his recent works. "Your Heart Belongs To Me" was a real rough one for me to get through and left me feeling pretty well fed up. I'll give him the benefit of the doubt though and trust that after 3 plus decades of entertaining readers like you and me that he knows what he's doing in the long run. The next Frankenstein book is tentatively scheduled for an April 2011 release date. Let's see what happens...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Ending was the pits

    I really enjoyed this book up until the ending. There wasn't one!!!
    The story just kind of stopped. I read this book in 4 days and thought for sure that my ebook was messed up. I really thought that somehow I didn't download the rest of the book. I called B&N support. I finally went to a store and compared the ebook to a hardcover. It stopped the same way.
    So to finalize I loved the book but hated the so called end to the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    What a disappointment

    I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased the book. So unlike Koontz to disappoint so many readers. This will be my last Koontz purchase unless future reviews show that he has redeemed himself

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    disappointed

    I thought this was the last book but it isnt. It cuts off right as the action begins. I would wait to read it until the next book is out or you will be very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Koontz, we are not amused...

    I've read many Koontz books, including the three previous in the series, and found this one to be most difficult to get through. Some of the characters (Jocko) need to be killed off due to the intended comic relief that only distracts from the actual story and confuses me as to why they are even in the book. Several new side characters are introduced with little connection to the main plot explained. The climax of the book seems to have relatively little impact on the main storyline and leaves little answered. This will most likely be my last Frankenstein book that I buy. I'll wait for my library to get a copy. Reading this book was a black mark on an awesome Caribbean vacation that I will not repeat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly disappointing!

    I am a big fan of the original Frankenstein as well as the first three books in Dean Koontz' series, but this fourth edition is far off the mark. It has some decent parts but overall it feels like Koontz rushed this out with little consideration to the overall story or its followers. By the end of the book you know about as much as you did by the end of the last one, but you are way more frustrated. I hope the next one lives up to the expectations of both Koontz and Frankenstein fans, but this sure didn't.

    Also, as evidence that this book is more about the money than anything else, this is the first of this series to be released in hard cover. The first three were mass market paperback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    Absolutely terrible!

    My wife borrowed this from the library for me, thinking I would enjoy it. A well-known author and the jacket had a nice description. The book began promising enough but I quickly realized that this was not a standalone book (nowhere on the cover does it say it is a series). The conversations in the book were pointless and I skipped over most of them. Chapter lengths were extremely short, and it did read quickly. Despite the ridiculous plot, and pointless character interactions, I stuck with it hoping for a good conclusion. No such luck! As others have remarked, there was no conclusion. It just stopped. This is my last Koontz book and I am thankful it did not cost me even a dime to buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 485 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25