Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: Lost Souls

Average Rating 4
( 491 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Onward clomps our hero

The Frankenstein is a fun read, a bit overplayed but still a page turner. This new one has only one flaw, it is too short, and obviously, leaves you hanging....

posted by Grandpa on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

This book will leave you feeling TOTALLY RIPPED-OFF!!!

Imagine yourself going to see a play (and not even a very good play), only to be ushered out of the theater in the middle of the second act. Then you're told that you'll have to pay the full ticket price again to see he second half of the play. To top that off, you ma...
Imagine yourself going to see a play (and not even a very good play), only to be ushered out of the theater in the middle of the second act. Then you're told that you'll have to pay the full ticket price again to see he second half of the play. To top that off, you may have to wait a full year to see the rest! I have bought and read every book ever published by Mr. Koontz, but that's one habit I plan to break. I have never felt so cheated by any author as I did by this one.
As I approached the final 50 pages, or so, I kept wondering how this story would be wrapped up in so little time. You can imagine my shock when I got to the final page and nothing was wrapped up and the whole story line was just left hanging! This book was nothing less than an appalling waste of my time and money.
I won't even bother commenting on the storyline. It was just too farfetched even by Dean Koontz's standards. If you've already bought this book, you have my sympathies. If you haven't, DON'T BOTHER! Only a masochist could enjoy this read.

posted by 312935 on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Another Frankenstein disappointment.

    Glad to see it wasn't just me. This book will definitely be my last of the author's works.

    This is actually the fourth of a trilogy. Yes, you read that correctly. He initially announced three books based on the Victor Frankenstein / Deucalion characters. I devoured the first two only to learn the announced schedule for the third release would be ignored. It was some year, or more, overdue when finally released.

    Now Lost Souls, the fourth of the trilogy, truly simply stops, no ending, no resolution, just stops, as others have said. I can appreciate a cliff-hanger, heck, the third book ended as such with a hint that the story wasn't over but this one is the final straw.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    What a disappointment

    I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased the book. So unlike Koontz to disappoint so many readers. This will be my last Koontz purchase unless future reviews show that he has redeemed himself

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    Absolutely terrible!

    My wife borrowed this from the library for me, thinking I would enjoy it. A well-known author and the jacket had a nice description. The book began promising enough but I quickly realized that this was not a standalone book (nowhere on the cover does it say it is a series). The conversations in the book were pointless and I skipped over most of them. Chapter lengths were extremely short, and it did read quickly. Despite the ridiculous plot, and pointless character interactions, I stuck with it hoping for a good conclusion. No such luck! As others have remarked, there was no conclusion. It just stopped. This is my last Koontz book and I am thankful it did not cost me even a dime to buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Don't waste your money

    I'm reading along, it's very good.. we reach the big battle.. NOTHING. The book ends. No battle. No closure. If I could, I'd want my money back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Horrible

    I can't believe Dean Koontz wrote this piece of "nothing". I read all the way through because I wanted to see the ending, which never occurred, by the way. A complete waste of time. Luckily I borrowed a copy from my public library, or I would have been more upset to have actually bought it. The characters (excluding Frankenstein's creations) were raving lunatics, way too far out for my taste. This book didn't even make any sense. A real stinker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    I think I'll pass for now ...

    I have read the first three books in this series, and I must say that I have thoroughly enjoyed them. However, after reading other reviews on this 4th book and how it's ending is disappointing --- not really an ending, ended in the middle of a battle, like the author forgot to finish the work --- I think I'll pass on this one. It does not appear to be worth the $9.99 eBook price ... at least not to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Activities

    Will be posted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    A. Lost

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    I vote...

    Exceed Star!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Annex nighyshade to star

    You here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Have to agree with EVERY BAD review I've read and I'm saying thi

    Have to agree with EVERY BAD review I've read and I'm saying this about my Favorite author !! this wasn't even a satisfying sequel, at LEAST give us a reason to read the next one. Titillate NOT alienate is the key, i THOUGHT Mr Koontz KNEW that, UNTIL I read the last page of THIS book !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Boo Big Time Bust - Wish I had read reveiws before wasting my money

    Usually I find Koontz to be good; however, the book rambled. Too large and spaced out words. Sometimes not even filling a whole page. Like he was trying to drag out book because he intented a series or not enough hard hitting ideas to fill the book. I was very disappointed. The book drop everthing happening right in the middle of it, just so he could write another book for more money. NO ENDING Give me a good book and I will pay for it but I walked away feeling CHEATED. But like a fool, I might buy the next one just to see if he can redeem himself and still claim the title "author". He left everthing hanging. Very bad taste in my mouth and his early writing kicked butt. This one must have been written by one of his kids, niece or nefew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Very Disappointed!

    Okay, I gotta join cc1843, phyllisJD, Red29, some of the Anonymous folks and others on this one. I bought all 4 books at once, thinking I was going to have a fun time reading all of them in a row and filling myself with the excitement of reading a whole series at once, not having to wait for the last book to come out, start to finish. I had no idea until I read the last page that there was supposed to be another book. I thought this book was supposed to be the last in the series. I really fell that this was the worst out of the 4. I got to the last 75 pages or so wondering how it was going to wrap up considering everything that was going on, all of the new characters that were being introduced, whole new setting, new "pod people", new "Victor". How could he wrap this up in just a few pages, HE DIDN'T!!! HE LEFT US ALL HANGING! And not even in a good way! The story line goes in a different direction from the first three, it seems like a pick-up from another series, not the Frankenstein series. Its like you were trying to resurrect this series from the middle of a different book. We want an ENDING, but not by pulling the plug right in the middle of the show. Finish with the story line you started!! I'm not sure I even want to see how this one is going to end, or will it? Very disappointed in you Mr. Koontz. You really made a mess out of this series with this book, it should never have been written. I really think you could skip this book and just read the final and not miss out on anything. Sign me a very disappointed fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    half a book, I'd like a refund

    I won't buy any more Kontz books. Stops right in the middle, no ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Failure

    Unlike most reviewers here, I'm not an avid fan of Dean Koontz. I've sampled his work from time to time and am largely unimpressed. To me, his writing is the equivalent of cheesy sci-fi/horror movies you catch yourself watching late at night just because they're there. He's got some imaginative and provocative ideas that I really appreciate.

    Overall, the man has no more talent for fleshing out these ideas onto pages than a mediocre student in high school English class. He's an embarrassment to American fiction and Lost Souls exemplifies everything that's wrong with the industry these days. It's obvious to a lot of readers that he didn't write this book because he had a story inside of him that he needed to tell. He wrote it for money. And that kind of effort you can see in every page (granted, there was probably a lot of pressure from the publishing company to milk this cash cow series for all it's worth as fast as possible). He doesn't even follow basic rules of fiction writing- SHOW, don't tell, make every scene have a purpose, escalate the drama, etc.

    I feel like he's just writing down anything he can to stretch the story to enough pages to qualify as a book so eventually he can have enough pages to occupy a second trilogy. He's got way too many characters, scenes and chapters that aren't doing anything to advance the story. He devotes way too many pages to trivia like cinnamon buns and glosses over fight scenes. The main characters are simply corollaries to the slew of other characters he (re)introduces. There's no focus. So much of this book is a diversion from the actually story because the story itself is hollow. But it's okay, the author's trademark page and a half chapters make you feel like your breezing through this uneventful read. The fact that he can pander this garbage as a book and make a successful career out of it astounds me.

    If you value the quality of your books, don't throw your money at these lazy, dispassionate 'big-box' authors. Support writers who actually care about their work and deserve your hard earned money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3