Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein: Lost Souls

Average Rating 3.5
( 480 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Onward clomps our hero

The Frankenstein is a fun read, a bit overplayed but still a page turner. This new one has only one flaw, it is too short, and obviously, leaves you hanging....

posted by Grandpa on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Half a book

I feel like I was only given half a book after paying for the whole thing. I read this on my nook in 2 short days of reading while on vacation. The whole book leads up to a confrontation, then abruptly ends. It seems to be a short 290 page preamble to the next book, ...
I feel like I was only given half a book after paying for the whole thing. I read this on my nook in 2 short days of reading while on vacation. The whole book leads up to a confrontation, then abruptly ends. It seems to be a short 290 page preamble to the next book, not a story on its own. I enjoy this series, but this is ridiculous!

posted by cc1843 on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Half a book

    I feel like I was only given half a book after paying for the whole thing. I read this on my nook in 2 short days of reading while on vacation. The whole book leads up to a confrontation, then abruptly ends. It seems to be a short 290 page preamble to the next book, not a story on its own. I enjoy this series, but this is ridiculous!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Hard To read

    It has many, many characters but they are all left out in the end.
    The ending is not in Mr. Koontz's normal style. More like Stephen King's "Cell"

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    KIND OF A RIP OFF

    I was disappointed. Reading from my nook, I didn't realize I was near the end. Koontz had developed a good cast of characters, put them in danger, showed their fighting spirit, and them ended it in mid-air. It was like Pauline was tied to the railroad tracks, and the announcer says, tune in next week for another exciting episode.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    for serious Koontz fans

    As an avid koontz rader I read "Lost Souls", it was slow and a bit dull compared to his other works. The action if you want to call it that was slow & dull. twords the end it picked up some but the ending left the reader unimpressed. As one of his fans I must say he must have fallen asleep or maybe his mind wandered off the story. If not a fan I recommend either get it from local library or pass on this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    The ending was

    not expected. I didn't quite expect it to end when it did, I turned the page, ready to read more, but there wasn't anymore to read! It kind of felt like Mr. Koontz got up to take a break mid scene, and forgot to finish the book. I'm used to cliffhangers at the end of books, they don't always bother me, but this didn't feel like a cliffhanger, this felt unfinished. As always though, I enjoyed his writing style and the character interactions, Michael and Carson crack me up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Koontz can really churn them out...

    I read this on a recommendation from a friend, and it was okay. There are some lovely characters here, and some trite, lame characterizations. I felt I was missing out on much of the subtext having no knowledge of whatever happened with this same mix of characters in New Orleans, presumably in a previous book? In any case, this is a comfortable story and the husband and wife investigator team are humorous and readable. I was not a fan of the lack of ending, however. I felt as though someone had removed the final chapter / chapters; there is no closure of any sort. Worse, the next volume of the story isn't due out for months. Had I known that before going in, I doubt I would have bothered to read this, at least yet. I HATE waiting for the rest of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    1/3 of a story - three times the price.

    I didn't realize when I bought this book that I was buying into yet another series. I felt cheated. Just as it was becoming a page turner, the story abruptly ends. Why would I want to buy into yet another series about the same characters... Unlike the Odd series where each book stood alone these don't.

    Sure it is the same Koontz quality, but you are paying three times the price to get a complete story.

    Disappointing! I don't like buying 1/3 of a book for the price of a traditional story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Ending was the pits

    I really enjoyed this book up until the ending. There wasn't one!!!
    The story just kind of stopped. I read this book in 4 days and thought for sure that my ebook was messed up. I really thought that somehow I didn't download the rest of the book. I called B&N support. I finally went to a store and compared the ebook to a hardcover. It stopped the same way.
    So to finalize I loved the book but hated the so called end to the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    disappointed

    I thought this was the last book but it isnt. It cuts off right as the action begins. I would wait to read it until the next book is out or you will be very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    worth reading

    Not one of his best, entertaining if you've read the earlier series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I wish I had known that I should have read Prodigal Son first.  

    I wish I had known that I should have read Prodigal Son first.  But I read The Dead Town (a novel) first.  And upon review it seems exactly the same book as Lost Souls.  Makes no sense to me why there are 2 books with different titles and the same story.  Can someone please explain that to me?  Now I have to read Prodigal Son to find out what happened in the beginning.  Also I don't like the way the story just STOPS, it left me hanging.  When does the next installment come out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Not quite as satisfying as previous books in

    This series ............... more of same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Getting a little better

    Decent. Pretty much setting up the final book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Chapters missing

    I know this has been said before, but I didn't even see it coming. Needed to turn the page and there were none....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    I can not believe the way this book ended!

    Unfortunately, I did not read the reviews before buying and reading this book. I am a huge Dean Koontz fan and I just assumed I would love this book. I enjoyed the book itself, but am very disappointed in the ending. At first I thought I somehow skipped over some chapters of my ebook, but then realized that it really did just end. What in the ... I feel I paid too much for this ebook and didn't get a complete story. I will read the next book, because I want to know how the story ends, but I do feel completely ripped off. I hope Dean Koontz reads these reviews and takes to heart what his fans are saying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Another let down in the Frankenstiein series

    This one was a bigger let down than the last one. The last installment, we waited a year for Katrina to be incorporated into the story and got "there's a storm coming". That was it. This time the action just starts and we have to wait till spring to find out what happens. I will have forgotten it all by then and have to re-read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    NOt as great as his other stuff. Count me as a big Koontz fan but this one left me fatgued at the end. Not sure why that would be. I reommend just purchased Van Rae novel for a little more depth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Too short

    I too feel a bit ripped off with this installment of the series. When I downloaded the book to my Nook and saw the amount of pages, I thought it could not be accurate - but it was. I finished the book in less than a day. Of course, those of us who wait for the next installment know what I mean - but this was way to short. I should have waited for it to come to the public library and read it for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5