Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein

Average Rating 4
( 1789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1044)

4 Star

(335)

3 Star

(160)

2 Star

(93)

1 Star

(157)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

I saw the dull, yellow eye of the creature open...

Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life...
Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life (the death of her young child, a father who had disowned her), not to mention her poet husband Percy Shelley (who would drown the following year) and the philosophies of other poets in her young and influential circle of friends, this novel is a thought-provoking and ground-breaking work that has inspired countless stories about our desire to overcome death and our search for what it means to be human. It's not your modern horror thriller or what is generally depicted in film (instead of grunts, Frankenstein's real monster is eloquently tragic), the plot is often plodding, and some current readers might not find this a good read. But for those who enjoy a more philosophically centered gothic tale, Frankenstein is immortal.

posted by jenmaynard on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The movies have it all wrong!

This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You en...
This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You end up feeling sorry for the creature.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1790 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 90
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    How can a book about a guy building a monster out of dead body p

    How can a book about a guy building a monster out of dead body parts be boring? I don't know, but Mary Shelley sure figured out haw to do it. If this book were written today it wouldn't get published.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Boring

    I couldn't put my finger on why I didn't like this -- and I love classic literature. But it seemed melodramatic at times and I didn't care for the characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    This book was deep and intellectually stimulated. While the writing was inconsistant, very descriptive in some parts and vague in others, you really had to pay attention or else miss something important. The plot and characters were intriguing, and I wish they were explored more. I never found it thrilling, but it was nice to read. I can see why its a classic and recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    Very intruiging

    If one were to watch the movie Frankenstein, they wouldn't get a very good feel as to how the book is. First of all, the book is much more about how the monster is ostracized from society and takes his anguish out on Frankenstein and his family, so the book is filled with much more tragedy than in the movie. Furthermore, the monster in the book is capable of human speech and also of reason. This raises some ethical questions that aren't present in the movie, namely what constitutes a human being. <BR/>Because of the issues the book raises, Frankenstein is very intellectually stimulating. Readers will be torn as to who to feel sympathy for: Frankenstein or the monster. Another issue readers will have to decide is who the monster really is, whether it is Dr. Frankenstein or the monster. This issue itself is quite ironic since most people today tend to associate the name Frankenstein with the actual monster and not the doctor who created it.<BR/>The writing style is also very interesting in that three different people narrate the story over the course of the novel. This presents a contrast of viewpoints that help emphasize the different issues raised.<BR/>Overall, definitely a book I would recommend to most readers, especially those who have previously seen the movie. For the most part it is fairly easy to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Good, But Not So Great

    I read this book for my freshman English class. The story of Frankenstein is very good. It is really interesting and got me reading. The only thing I cannot stand about the book is how Mary Shelley wrote it. She spends chapters describing an event, and then one page describing a main event of the book. The book got a bit boring at the end, also.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Not bad at all

    I read this book for summer reading. It is a very good book, however my biggest complaint is that Shelly has little emotion when describing the monster. I understand leaving some things to the imagination, however the creation of the monster was way too quick and there was no real emotional tie from Victor to the monster. That was written too fast and did not allow any time for emotional growth. Other than that, it is a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Kits

    Tempting... but we think we'll pass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Dark

    "Nevermind...." pads out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Twilightpaw

    "Not coming to your clan, kits but to my secret place." She mewed and ran into the shadows. She glared at Blaze and the others, except Extus Moon who she gave a look of sympathy before vanishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    To Cupcakes

    You watch Barbie too? Aaaah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Lily and Storm

    Ok. They look at Blaze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Rainwater

    She increased pressure and Bluefeathet died. Quickly with little pain. She padded out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Riverstone

    "Yes!" He says under his breath "oh no!" He says with mock concern

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Twilightpaw

    Looked at Petal, nodding. She ran after Sunstar and Redpaw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    A dappled she-cat

    Snarled and leaped on Blaze, clawing her away from Littlepaw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Sunstar and Redpaw

    Ran to camp, forgetting Twilightpaw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Tito Bleak

    GTG. BBT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Raid Darkclan

    Coriolanus res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Tito glaze

    "Another warrior to add to the army watching me." she muttered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    SilverClaw

    I flee and hiss back at them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1790 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 90