Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 2149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1230)

4 Star

(391)

3 Star

(163)

2 Star

(179)

1 Star

(186)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I saw the dull, yellow eye of the creature open...

Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life...
Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life (the death of her young child, a father who had disowned her), not to mention her poet husband Percy Shelley (who would drown the following year) and the philosophies of other poets in her young and influential circle of friends, this novel is a thought-provoking and ground-breaking work that has inspired countless stories about our desire to overcome death and our search for what it means to be human. It's not your modern horror thriller or what is generally depicted in film (instead of grunts, Frankenstein's real monster is eloquently tragic), the plot is often plodding, and some current readers might not find this a good read. But for those who enjoy a more philosophically centered gothic tale, Frankenstein is immortal.

posted by jenmaynard on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The movies have it all wrong!

This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You en...
This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You end up feeling sorry for the creature.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The book itself is a "Miserable Wretch!"

    My Honors English class had to read this for school. While VERY easy to understand, admittedly, at least to me, this book was a pure travesty. I expected it to be MUCH better than it was, and just expected a whole different kind of reading experience in general. While a great concept for a story, I felt that Mary Shelley did not handle it all that well....in fact, instead of a horror story, it was more of a drama or a tragedy. Anyhow, the reasons that I hated this book are as follows: Mary Shelley repeated herself a lot, and kept using the same words, instead of using variety. The book itself was just plain boring, and no real excitement caught on until maybe, at BEST, the last few chapters. At times, the book lost direction, and once again, it was a chore to read. All in all, I found myself wanting to SLAP Frankenstein and The Creature as well, and just all in all, it made for a waste of a unit in school. I could go on in-DEPTH about why I hated this book, but then I would run out of room, and possibly be typing for years. Anyway, this may sound harsh, but to all those like me who were forced to read it: I sympathize with you. To those who bought it, excited: I pity you. And anyway, I am glad that I did not buy this book, and did not have to; I was excited to return the school's copy once we were finally done with it! Anyway, all in all, I STRONGLY disliked this book, and I am a big reader, so make of that what you will. My advice? DO NOT BUY this book BEFORE READING; either borrow it from the library or a friend and such, and THEN ONCE YOU ARE SURE of your opinion of it, THEN buy it if you love it........this book is definitely worthy of a test-read; THAT'S for sure! (Also, I do think that Mary Shelley IS worthy of fame and praise and all, but I just did not like her book/or her work....)I mean NO disrespect to her, though; that's also for sure!


    Here though, are TWO books that we read for school for the SAME class that I absolutely LOVED (Night and Les Miserables, the abridged version), along with a few extra favorites of mine. ;P

    9 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2001

    what a chore to read!

    If you could imagine bad Poe and bad Dostoevsky glued together, with a little bad Hesse thrown in for good measure, you'd get Mary Shelley's 'Frankenstein.' The storyline is as plodding and slow as the Swiss glaciers mentioned 9000 times in the overwritten prose. Character emotions are ridiculously strained and stretched. If you'd like some self-torture, 'Frankenstein' is just what the Doctor ordered.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Horrible

    This has to be the worst book i have ever read. Terribly written. Just a waste of my life to read.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    This book

    Is ugly like yo mama

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Boring

    I couldn't put my finger on why I didn't like this -- and I love classic literature. But it seemed melodramatic at times and I didn't care for the characters.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Main Room

    Description:<br>This is where all the races co-exist. Anyone, and anything is aloud. They can all undertand eachother.<p>
    Contains:<br>City full of buildings, Forest, River, Ocean, Mountain Range, All kinds of terrain.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Seth

    Thanks a ton. Gtg bbt

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Awe, Middie you need me cx (this is Ferns by the way) GUESS WHO

    Awe, Middie you need me cx (this is Ferns by the way)
    GUESS WHO GOT THEIR INTERNET DISCONNECTED ON BOTH NOOKSS? MEEE!
    Yeppers. Stuck with online NOOK roleplay (which flipping sucks, just saying) because even though I keep telling my mom that me friends will flip out thinking I killed myself or w/e, she still won't turn it back on. ragequitz. I might post, like, once a day. Anyway, I have to go now. Sick as a dog with my sore throat (It feels as if it got ripped out) from throwing up exactly 11 hours, 27 minutes ago. Yay me! cx Anyway... Miss you all o.o ))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Schwann

    Eagleclan and Happyclan have barely been active in the past two hours; Solarclan is extremely active in the past four hours.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Annex Schwann to All

    (Since Teddeh's not here, I guess I'll ask you. Basically, I want to fight Arcticstar before anyone kills him.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    IceCloud - Pippin

    *he tackled him down and grabbed him by biting him softly and returned to WarClan.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2014

    Tito Laiser

    My dad is an idiot. It doesn't MATTER if I don't finish past homework assignments. First of all, they don't even count towards my grade. Second, you get a 100 if you finish or a zero if you don't, and the grade CAN'T BE CHANGED. Third, I already know the freaking material! If I was struggling in Algebra, then I'd like you to please explain how I had a 102% in the class earlier this year (now 100%) and my lowest test grade is a 94. Third, YOU'RE NOT A STUDENT, DAD! YOU'RE FROM THE 70'S, NOT THE TWENTY FIRST CENTURY! Things work differently now! Your teachers didn't give you projects every week! Your teachers didn't tell you to do the impossible! Fourth, it's not like I even need to know ninety nine percent of what I learn in school!!!!!!!!!!!!! WTH!!! I literally miss half of what teachers say and STILL ace tests! Some stupid formative homework assignments don't make a damn difference!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Twi to Ferns

    Yeah. I couldn't see it either. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Flightfur

    Nodded. She glanced at the kits she never wanted to have. "Have fun in StarClan," she muttered and turned around. She padded out of the camp flicking her tail dismissively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Cold Eyes

    In the shadows gape in astonishment at the dog and disappear in excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Schwann

    "So, are we going to raid now?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Ecxeed Fern to all(posting from web)like Blue told ya, I'm groun

    Ecxeed Fern to all(posting from web)like Blue told ya, I'm grounded. So..... I can post online, but posting shall be EXTREMLY slow. So just go on without me. Ag, Teddy, Ferns, I shall keep up at our books, but shall be slow. So so sorry. Should be back in 2-4 weeks. Hopefully two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Rosie

    The kit laughed, "weak, has this camp become." It walked away, scratches and all. Laughing acctulaly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Ferns

    Owwies. Thigh sore now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Exceed Gray

    Whoo, Teddeh!! *clap clap clap clap* It's at 'black beauty' reses, or - actually, tell chu at our bookeh. An' I think we're all Exceeds here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10