BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 2227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1295)

4 Star

(396)

3 Star

(161)

2 Star

(178)

1 Star

(197)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

I saw the dull, yellow eye of the creature open...

Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life...
Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life (the death of her young child, a father who had disowned her), not to mention her poet husband Percy Shelley (who would drown the following year) and the philosophies of other poets in her young and influential circle of friends, this novel is a thought-provoking and ground-breaking work that has inspired countless stories about our desire to overcome death and our search for what it means to be human. It's not your modern horror thriller or what is generally depicted in film (instead of grunts, Frankenstein's real monster is eloquently tragic), the plot is often plodding, and some current readers might not find this a good read. But for those who enjoy a more philosophically centered gothic tale, Frankenstein is immortal.

posted by jenmaynard on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

The movies have it all wrong!

This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You en...
This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You end up feeling sorry for the creature.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    One of the few....

    This is one of the few books I have read where the movie is 10 times better than the book. This book is so predictable and tame, as far as 'Classics' go, that you are left shaking your head saying, 'Now this is what they mean by hyperbole'.

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    We Are Unfashioned Creatures, But Half Made Up

    I was excited to read this book, I literally was jumping up and down when I bought it, but the excitement ends there. I understood that it being a classic that it would take me a few chapters to get into the older style of writing like with Earnest Hemmingway and Oscar Wilde, at least for me anyways. But it was like I could never get into Shelly¿s head nor did I want to. The book though short seemed to last forever, like a bad taste in your mouth that never goes away no matter how many times you brush your teeth. You don¿t get attached to any character for they all appear dry a one sided, and though the story is defiantly original you can¿t enjoy it for it¿s presented to you in such a lifeless manner. I had to force myself to finish this book just so I could say I¿ve read it. If you plan to read this book I recommend checking it out at the library and save your money. This is the one case where the movies are much better then the book.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Ugh....

    Started out dull.... ended worse. I do not recommend this book, to anyone. I had heard alot of good about this book to. In the end it was a complete dissapointment. Emotionless and lacking much needed drama, this book fell short of my not so high expectations.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    How can a book about a guy building a monster out of dead body p

    How can a book about a guy building a monster out of dead body parts be boring? I don't know, but Mary Shelley sure figured out haw to do it. If this book were written today it wouldn't get published.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Teddy - all y'all

    Person who doesn't know anything, we are a pact clan. We've been invite to the meetings, even though we didn't go. You're welcome, because you all would've died. And nice touch, by the way, not posting your name. Very courageous of you. <p> Everyone who I care about, go to 'tedd thoughts' and read it through. Tell me what you think. All that jazz. I gotsta go in 30, but I'll be at BC until then! Just tell meh there, because I always forget to check here /)_-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    ~Teddy~

      It's at frozen waters.

    ~Teddy~ <p> 
    It's at frozen waters.</p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    Gray

    I once started a Clan. MoonClan. I was Goldenstar. It was at'time warp'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Teddy

    Danky, sir Orgwell :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    E. Blue2

    Bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Teddsy

    Well would ya lookit dat.. 2200 ratings... oh wait, you can't look XDDD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    ShadowHeart

    Dashes iut covering the captive cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    A cat

    Pads out after ice cloud

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Fern to Teddy and Ferns and Arg Yeah, sorry, have to use the co

    Fern to Teddy and Ferns and Arg

    Yeah, sorry, have to use the computer. All three, posted!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    Gray

    And continued at 'lower'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Wift

    Watched camp, thinking to herseld. (( I shall he bored.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    The spirit

    Taking a visible(still a ghost), it looked at the laughing cat. "For shame, you have seen nothing but illusions up until now." Its voice was calm, as it watched T.Blaze and Rosie. "I will not see a wonderful camp such as, be ruined by you," he looked at T.Blaze," Trying to kill that. She will die soon enough." Turning slightly to Rosie, it said "Your father has been rencarnated. He has no memory of you, or past life. Live while you can young kit." He nodded once. "This camp," he shook his head, "As gone from A-M-A-Z-I-N-G-L-Y wonderful, to killing a kit of its own. For shame." The spirit dissapeared, to return if someone else dared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    A spirit

    Watched from a hill. It was unseen by all. He watched the kit carfuly, studying its features, its temperment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Annex Blue

    I hate school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Blue- To Blue

    Okay, l saw it. :) Fyi, please go to the next result of our book. Locked out of the other one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Annex Blue

    I hate school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9