Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 2232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1295)

4 Star

(399)

3 Star

(161)

2 Star

(180)

1 Star

(197)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

I saw the dull, yellow eye of the creature open...

Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life...
Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life (the death of her young child, a father who had disowned her), not to mention her poet husband Percy Shelley (who would drown the following year) and the philosophies of other poets in her young and influential circle of friends, this novel is a thought-provoking and ground-breaking work that has inspired countless stories about our desire to overcome death and our search for what it means to be human. It's not your modern horror thriller or what is generally depicted in film (instead of grunts, Frankenstein's real monster is eloquently tragic), the plot is often plodding, and some current readers might not find this a good read. But for those who enjoy a more philosophically centered gothic tale, Frankenstein is immortal.

posted by jenmaynard on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The movies have it all wrong!

This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You en...
This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You end up feeling sorry for the creature.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Tito Relapse

    She watched Arguet and Stysomething, half angry, half cuatious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Four

    Will do, Bloodeh. <p>
    Ferns, what da flip? Once. And it was a psycho shenobi ninja guy called Takagi. O.o Apparently he had a thing for cat shapeshifters. But yeah, that was a few years ago. I bit his face and told him to bug off. :3 What is with me and the crazies? O.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Four

    Off

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Florakit

    [She's already baaaaack.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Four

    FU<_>CK. It didn't post. ;-;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    TO ALL - SUPER IMPORTANT

    I need real advice. I'm not kidding. Not being gross. Nothing. I need help from someone. Go to 'team girl' res 12. Nobody wants to help...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Four

    Staaaaahp. Nu more fighting. ;-;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    To Bloodheart

    May I rp Tito Raven?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Extus Mercury2 to Tito Snow

    Who said what about what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Tito Bloom

    If l burn down the forest,<br>
    There's nowhere for you to hide.<br>
    You'll run until you drop,<br>
    And then you'll die.<p>
    Gtg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Four

    Okie. Wooden spoon from Blood, book from Ferns. Gotcha. <p>
    Stories? Chapter seven of mine is out. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Exceed Stygian 2 璗 to Ice.

    "LEAVE JAYCLAN ALONE OR I WILL PERSONALLY RIP YOUR THROAT OUT!" he called after her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Baghenus

    Pads in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    The revival of.......

    Camp Hira! Th camp was created a few months ago, but it died!! Now its being remade! Join by making a short bio at 'Hira' result 1, then join the camp at result 2!! See ya there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Annex Stygian 璗

    Nodded an reluctant affirmative to Sta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    The story of Frankenstein is one we think we all know very well,

    The story of Frankenstein is one we think we all know very well, just as we know the classic horror stories such as Dracula, or The Headless Horseman. However, upon reading Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein I found myself realizing that the original tale is very different from what I have come to know over the years. There was no vital lightning strike that gives the monster breath, nor an angry mob of peasants that chase and burn the monster; instead there was a consistent clashing of morals that will engage the reader to be the final judge on who the real monster is. Mary Shelley’s timeless tragedy, Frankenstein, is a collection of various letters, journals, and first person perspectives telling the grim life of Doctor Victor Frankenstein. Doctor Frankenstein devoted his life to the idea of constructing life and playing God, his obsession eventually getting him to the point where he was successful in creating his iconic creature. However, Victor, and anyone else who lays eyes on the creature, is disgusted and shuns it to live in exile due to its hideous appearance. 
    After the creation of the monster, Shelley brilliantly exposes her overlaying themes and morals through the actions of Victor and his monster. The subtleties of monstrosity that she introduces between Frankenstein and his creation, drive the reader into wondering which one of them is the real monster.The monster is hideous only in his appearance, but is driven to commit heinous crimes due to his abandonment by Victor. Victor’s monstrosities come from within, as he pushes away from friends and family in order to pursue his goal of creating life. The forsaking of
    his creation and lack of empathy towards its well-being is the ultimate catalyst in the murder of members of his family. Frankenstein’s ideas of various morals and themes give readers plenty of food for thought, however it is not without its flaws.    
    Frankenstein definitively delivers an extremely compelling and imaginative narrative, but at times it felt as if it was too narrative. Shelley goes into depth about the actions of each character and their motives, however she continuously fails to explain how everyone goes about doing what they did. For example, Doctor Frankenstein never explains his methods of reanimation, yet Shelley cleverly covers this flaw by exclaiming that if he did someone might end up sharing the same doomed fate as him. In addition, the lengthy prologue and tediously slow start to the novel fails to grasp the reader’s attention until the creation of the monster. Chapters dedicated to the thoughts of Doctor Frankenstein felt as if  they carried no real value to the story and that they were written only to extend the length of the novel.       
    The everlasting story of Frankenstein is definitely different from the one I grew up hearing about through several tales and movies, and although different, it was still thoroughly enjoyable. The slow pacing, and pages of descriptions leading to nowhere, will certainly lose a few readers, but those who stick with it will find themselves captivated by an internal struggle to place judgement on the one they feel is the real monster. Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein has proven itself to be less of a literary masterpiece and more of a philosophical piece of literature as she implores readers to establish their standings on morality.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    .

    I wanna knowif this is thehole book or just 50 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    The book was a bit slow for me, it was hard to stay interested i

    The book was a bit slow for me, it was hard to stay interested in the book for long periods of time.

    But, the plot line itself is timeless and is a great break-out novel that leaves it all on the pages for the reader to contemplate themselves. Frankenstein's creation, was masterfully characterized and was the best character in the book. He was wronged, miserable, and passionate, all things that are easily seen in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Long winded descriptions

    The excessive descriptions in this book had me bored at times and I did not feel too engaged. Given the time that this book was written though, it was pretty good. The end sends a clear and good message to readers. However, our more modern novels today are more entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9