Customer Reviews for

Frankenstein (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 2006 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1175)

4 Star

(363)

3 Star

(167)

2 Star

(129)

1 Star

(172)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

I saw the dull, yellow eye of the creature open...

Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life...
Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life (the death of her young child, a father who had disowned her), not to mention her poet husband Percy Shelley (who would drown the following year) and the philosophies of other poets in her young and influential circle of friends, this novel is a thought-provoking and ground-breaking work that has inspired countless stories about our desire to overcome death and our search for what it means to be human. It's not your modern horror thriller or what is generally depicted in film (instead of grunts, Frankenstein's real monster is eloquently tragic), the plot is often plodding, and some current readers might not find this a good read. But for those who enjoy a more philosophically centered gothic tale, Frankenstein is immortal.

posted by jenmaynard on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The movies have it all wrong!

This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You en...
This is a very misunderstood story that sparked a concept that took on a life of it's own. There is no scary castle, no hunchback, or villigars with pitch forks! It is a story not about a monster but about what could happen when man kind tries to play creator. You end up feeling sorry for the creature.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 363 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I saw the dull, yellow eye of the creature open...

    Often considered the first science fiction novel, Mary Shelley had the creative spark for Frankenstein at the age of 18 and first published it as a 22-year-old. A story inspired by other gothic writings, contemporary scientific theories, and by tragedies in her own life (the death of her young child, a father who had disowned her), not to mention her poet husband Percy Shelley (who would drown the following year) and the philosophies of other poets in her young and influential circle of friends, this novel is a thought-provoking and ground-breaking work that has inspired countless stories about our desire to overcome death and our search for what it means to be human. It's not your modern horror thriller or what is generally depicted in film (instead of grunts, Frankenstein's real monster is eloquently tragic), the plot is often plodding, and some current readers might not find this a good read. But for those who enjoy a more philosophically centered gothic tale, Frankenstein is immortal.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    LISTEN!!

    STOP USING THIS AS A CHATTING POST!!!!!! PLEASE!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    ATTENTION!!!

    Please. Just listen to me. I don't want you guys to continue this conversation on a reviewing post. I want people to comment on the book. I want you guys to continue your conversation somewhere else. Please. I am trying to be nice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Not your typical Horror Book

    This is not your typical Frankenstein that you see from Hollywood. It is a great book that you can sit down and read. You read something new in it everytime you read it. Great for conversation in the classroom and book clubs. This book has you think about alot of things that relate to life. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    This book was deep and intellectually stimulated. While the writing was inconsistant, very descriptive in some parts and vague in others, you really had to pay attention or else miss something important. The plot and characters were intriguing, and I wish they were explored more. I never found it thrilling, but it was nice to read. I can see why its a classic and recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    Very intruiging

    If one were to watch the movie Frankenstein, they wouldn't get a very good feel as to how the book is. First of all, the book is much more about how the monster is ostracized from society and takes his anguish out on Frankenstein and his family, so the book is filled with much more tragedy than in the movie. Furthermore, the monster in the book is capable of human speech and also of reason. This raises some ethical questions that aren't present in the movie, namely what constitutes a human being. <BR/>Because of the issues the book raises, Frankenstein is very intellectually stimulating. Readers will be torn as to who to feel sympathy for: Frankenstein or the monster. Another issue readers will have to decide is who the monster really is, whether it is Dr. Frankenstein or the monster. This issue itself is quite ironic since most people today tend to associate the name Frankenstein with the actual monster and not the doctor who created it.<BR/>The writing style is also very interesting in that three different people narrate the story over the course of the novel. This presents a contrast of viewpoints that help emphasize the different issues raised.<BR/>Overall, definitely a book I would recommend to most readers, especially those who have previously seen the movie. For the most part it is fairly easy to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Kato + Kindle= &hearts

    But Kindle + Annex Gray or Kindle + Plasma could result in Kindle - Kato= heartbreak.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Darkmoon

    He pushed faster and harder and released his load in him. He scratched down his face and spit on him before walking away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    TO KINDLE

    [Are you and Kato mates?]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    IS - QUICK NOTE TO ALL

    Okay, I have a few things I want you to know.<p>

    1. Most of us, home-schoolers not included, have school. We all know that is why all clans, no matter how active they were in the summer, have fallen to low activity. No matter what happens, I believe Ethereal will stand strong. Yes, RP is at an inactive patch NOW, but as school continues, I know it will all even out. Most regular RPers know about this phase, so we know it'll pass over in a blink.<p>

    2. As of tomorrow, I will be going to school. Which means I won't be active from way early in the morning, 7:30 AM to about 3:00 PM Eastern. It also doesn't help that Fall Cross- Country will be starting, and I will get home about 4:30 PM. I will have extra time, ten minutes at most, to sneak on in the morning to check out overnight happenings. After school, I will be forced to devote at least half an hour to school, as I have two advanced classes. After that, piano and Chinese HW. In all, I will only have roughly five hours to RP, maybe six if I stay up with a flashlight. Thanks!<p>

    IS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    YEAH I KNOW THAT BUT

    HOW LONG UNTIL I ORGY???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Ember

    Pads in. May i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Is - Teddy

    Descriptions at Frankenstein: City of Night, a Novel. The book where Star's den is your mate's name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Ethreal is...

    Lioising its reputstion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Sky

    Math sucks ass. I learn more from Khan acadamy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    -sigh-

    ABOUT TIME YOU SHOWED UP FLAME!! -_-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Tito Sun

    Ally the Dolphin Fairy (i started to type in ally into the search bar and this showed up in the results and i had topick it)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Tito roen

    Ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Tito Rohan

    Who would like to train? Or raid?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Rohan

    *smells something unfamilier in the camp, then turns and charges straight at the cat*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 363 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19