Customer Reviews for

Franklin and Eleanor: An Extraordinary Marriage

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Progressive and Sophisticated

As a lover of history this memoir has plenty of political insights. It's easy to see how this couple was so beloved in the public arena. But this was also a different time when the media respected politics and the highest office in the land. A visit to FDR's library, th...
As a lover of history this memoir has plenty of political insights. It's easy to see how this couple was so beloved in the public arena. But this was also a different time when the media respected politics and the highest office in the land. A visit to FDR's library, the first Presidential one in history would be a must. However, it's the progressive marriage of Franklin and Eleanor which makes this such a memorable read. Clearly way ahead of their time their commitment to other people formed an inner circle who loved, supported and protected them. This book is best consumed slowly because it is so beautifully written.

posted by L.A.Carlson-writer on November 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A bit choppy

I think the author is making a bit of a mountain out of a molehill in some cases....most of the relationships seem innocent. First and foremost I found the book quite disjointed. Some of the details seemed superfluous (the details of the comings and goings of Joe Lash...
I think the author is making a bit of a mountain out of a molehill in some cases....most of the relationships seem innocent. First and foremost I found the book quite disjointed. Some of the details seemed superfluous (the details of the comings and goings of Joe Lash for instance). The insinuations of the relationships seem over dramatized... I think it's more of an issue of context than reality. In other words, the context of many of Elanor's words would have been looked at as innocent in her day, but we don't talk the same way today because of how people perceive things so sexually in the present. I think this book only does a good job of painting Elanor as a very complicated woman who never really new how to have deep relationships and as being more than a bit strange, and Franklin as a typical male - a womanizer! I also thought that if the Roosevelt's had had as open a relationship as the author is pro porting, then the relationship with Lucy Mercer would not have had to happen in secrecy and she would not have been as deeply hurt. I learned so much about who Elanor was and what she did for our country and that was the only engrossing part for me!

posted by 4308383 on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Progressive and Sophisticated

    As a lover of history this memoir has plenty of political insights. It's easy to see how this couple was so beloved in the public arena. But this was also a different time when the media respected politics and the highest office in the land. A visit to FDR's library, the first Presidential one in history would be a must. However, it's the progressive marriage of Franklin and Eleanor which makes this such a memorable read. Clearly way ahead of their time their commitment to other people formed an inner circle who loved, supported and protected them. This book is best consumed slowly because it is so beautifully written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Wonderful. Learned so much about the lives of these two and how they complimented each other. They had a unique marriage. This was a book which was hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    A bit choppy

    I think the author is making a bit of a mountain out of a molehill in some cases....most of the relationships seem innocent. First and foremost I found the book quite disjointed. Some of the details seemed superfluous (the details of the comings and goings of Joe Lash for instance). The insinuations of the relationships seem over dramatized... I think it's more of an issue of context than reality. In other words, the context of many of Elanor's words would have been looked at as innocent in her day, but we don't talk the same way today because of how people perceive things so sexually in the present. I think this book only does a good job of painting Elanor as a very complicated woman who never really new how to have deep relationships and as being more than a bit strange, and Franklin as a typical male - a womanizer! I also thought that if the Roosevelt's had had as open a relationship as the author is pro porting, then the relationship with Lucy Mercer would not have had to happen in secrecy and she would not have been as deeply hurt. I learned so much about who Elanor was and what she did for our country and that was the only engrossing part for me!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Must read about marriage, history and the Roosevelt couple

    This book is amazing. The author intertwine with brio their personal life, historical significance, and the delicate balance of their marriage. Very detailed, the book makes you feel as if you are following their life year by year. Anecdotes make it personal without loosing the big pictures. Must read before going to Hyde Park and Val Kill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For the U.S. Presidents student

    I found this book after seeing it in a link about another president and what a treat. Thanks to my son Jack for encouraging me to read up on former commander in chiefs! Ms. Rowley has done extensive research and has presented the finding in a elegant and enjoyable way. The kind of book that once I started I look forward to returning to it to continue where I left off. From the opening lines she has left me with the desire to visit the FDR president library in New York. A book that is a wonderful addition to the vast array of presidental biographies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    An amazing story, well told!

    The parallel and intersecting lives of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt are told beautifully in Hazel Rowley's biography. The book chronicles this critical historical period and the marriage of the Roosevelts which played a pivotal role in American life. Ms. Rowley's story is rich and captivating. I can recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Enjoyable but not much new ground broken

    Perhaps it's asking too much to expect a book about FDR and ER to provide fresh insights into this relationship since so many books have already been written on the subject. If you have read ELEANOR AND FRANKLIN or NO ORDINARY TIME, you probably won't find much that is new. If you have not read those books, by all means, try this one. It is well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    An interesting read

    It was an interesting glipse into the lives and relationship of the Roosevelts. While I admire all that they did collectively, and individualy, there was a part of me that felt sorry for them. Their communial lifestyle masked a sense of loneliness. Theirs was definetly an unconvential marriage, but it wouldnt have worked any other way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A parallel of devotion and love

    The Roosevelts have always intrigued me...from the time I was in high school. This book was a pleasure to read as it refreshed my memory and gave me a look into their private married lives. The respect and acceptance of things one cannot change was extraordinary. I was happy to find that this book did not read like a history book, but kept you wondering about the next day and the next month, as well as the next year in their lives. Only slumber forced me to put it down each night. The author, Hazel Rowley, did a magnificent job in her research and presentation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    Highly Recommendeed

    Very Interesting book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2