Customer Reviews for

Franny and Zooey

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Always a Classic

    Most people know J.D. Salinger and have read "Catcher in the Rye," but "Franny and Zooey" is a true gem. This is a small book about family and religious beliefs. This book will make you laugh out loud and cry. It is witty, funny and sad. If you want to see another side of J.D. Salinger, read this. I've read it a few times over the years and always find it new and enjoyable.

    Franny comes home a changed woman, and it is discovered that she's had a breakdown. She has begun reciting the Lords Prayer over and over much to the dismay of her intellectual family. The way her parents and brother Zooey deal with this is amusing and touching. If you love a classic than this is one to read. Forget about "Catcher in the Rye," try this book that will touch your heart and your mind! After this you'll see J.D. Salinger in a whole new light.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    No book compares

    JD Salinger is the best author I've ever read, and this is his masterpiece. Every word is so dense with meaning that it's overwhelming sometimes, but he gets people so well that you have to keep reading. He understands how people interact and their little whims and their faults better than any author I've ever read. I also adore his approach to religion and the omnism featured in the book. I want every person to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    So good

    Everything about the book was just amazing. Salinger is simply awesome and so are his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Mundanely Profound

    This book is wryly funny, incredibly intelligent, and mundanely profound. Salinger speaks of the same thoughts everyone has had, and brings to a very intellectual light the crises of growing up. You don't have to like the characters to empathize with them, and you don't have to be riveted by some superficial plot to stay interested. The sheer depth of symbolism and nuances of the Glass' 'esoteric family language' are enough to occupy a thinking mind for weeks at a time. Personally, 'Catcher' was ruined for me by a bad teacher, but 'Franny and Zooey' more than redeems Salinger in my eyes. In many ways it is harder to connect with the characters, but once that connection is made, you realize that the book has nearly infinite layers of meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    They could be Holden's cousins

    Franny and Zooey is excellent. Even though the stories only take place in a few hours, the characters are extremely well-developed. This is my favorite kind of novel- the one where I get to know the characters so well. The dialogue, facial expressions, and pauses are so realistic, it's like one is right there with the characters in the room, seeing them act out this 'prose home movie,' as Buddy refers to it. It was excellent. Another interesting thing to me was how much the FRANNY part reminded me of THE BELL JAR- The Bell Jar is like a book that Franny would write about herself, because she's very similar in some ways to Sylvia Plath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Precious.

    Salinger's construction of Franny and Zooey -- characters whose vivid personalities and attitudes actually resonate -- through exquisitely chosen details shows a capacity for writing that is hard to imagine from a linear point-of-view. The fact that he can bring out mannerisms and insights into people that might as well be a well-rendered portrait of someone you know well, and still are as true today as they were 50 years ago, to me speaks as much to a brilliant insight into culture and people as it does the ability to write fiction. The only possible thing that might have made me want to stop turning the pages is that at some point the story is almost too perfect and cute, like an acting exercise, I just wanted to read the whole thesis and not just revel in his sublime little portrait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    Franny and Zooey

    Franny and Zooey is an amazing and literate book, filled with wit and sophistication I've rarely seen in many books. Salinger is such a connoisseur of the english language. His prose is poignant and endearing, but harsh and revealing at the same time. He harnesses the ability to sound sarcastic and inadvertently judgemental without being pretentious or facetious. This book is extremely sanctimonious, but the religious paradigms are superceded by his amazing character development. These characters seem extremely down to earth, yet still possess the quality to be seen as role models. I loved this book so much, and I am extremely glad I chose it for summer reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    a brilliant and unique novel

    This novel consists of two parts, Franny and Zooey. In Franny, a disillusioned college girl, Franny, comes back to NY city on a vacation and goes on a date w/ her boyfriend, Lane. She eats nothing, is disturbed by a religious novel that she recently read, and expresses her discontent with life. In Zooey, her brother Zooey helps her to resolve the crisis at home. Although each part of the novel takes place within a few hours, the characters are extremely well developed are portrayed with such depth and realism that they must be from Salinger's life. In addition, the dialog is stirring and emotionaly charged as the charaters debate various philosophical points and express differing opinions on life. The novel is short, fast moving, and dynamic. It lacks the standard plot structure and is presented as a series of dialogs, in which the characters debate everything from religion to art, and most especially the meaning of life. If in the Catcher in the Rye Salinger is a confused but brilliant youth seeking answers and a sense of purpose, then in Franny and Zooey he has matured into a philosophical adult with a developed and astute view on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Great book!

    I loved, loved, loved Franny and Zooey! It's a great book. I loved all the characters; Franny, Zooey, and even Lane! It's an awesome book. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    Excellent book about basic theology

    I really loved this book. The Franny part was the light, fast reading, the preamble. It almost has the relationship that a movie holds with the book it was based out of. Good, but not better by any means, and more directed as a clincher. The Zooey part, however, is art. It's witty, funny, insightful, plainly stated, easy to comprehend, wise and well written. Salinger is one of my favorite actors because of his critic spirit, and his lightheartedness despite of all the imbecility in this world. One thing people failed to mention, this book is a great deal about religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    so funny

    All the reviews I've read so far have neglected to point out that it is not only a deep novel, but also a funny book. If no one knows what I'm talking about, I suggest they read the scenes between Zooey and Bessie. They are hilarious. I love this book, but I will not compare it to Catcher in the Rye because they are both fabulous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    Inspiring read

    The book, on the whole, is interesting in its approach to mysticism and spirituality. It makes you think about your own beliefs and reasons for those beliefs. Through Franny and Zooey, Salinger has been able to inspire thought in people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Franny and Zooey cool book

    Franny and Zooey was a good book. It was so real and I like those kinds of books. The ending was cool and I would read it again and I think that you should too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Chalimarque, again! a guide for ALLs life!

    this book... was how do you say... amazing. i felt an INSTANT bond with franny. It changed my life....And if you read this, i know you will feel the same. this book helps you through troubled times. it helps you get to the top of your personal mountain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2001

    Think Whilst You Read!!!!

    This book is one which you cannot read without thinking. The very word plot, pierces, my train of thought, and greatly disturbs me. It seems that many people serach for a plot, in the story, they search and when they do not find a climax, or a denoument, they are dissapointed. This book searches deep into the human soul, and looks through the many different realms of human thought. The very family, of Glass, is one filled with geniuses. This book, is in itself an enlightenment and once you've read it you have taken yourself to a higher understanding. People that compare this to Catcher in the Rye are so ridiculously foolish in the respect of literature, that what is the point of them reading? This book deals with two troubled children, one who creates a seemingly ego-istic world for herself, another that searches for the truth in their nature. This brilliant book must be read. It is doing it un-justice to not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2001

    Amazing

    Salinger is not attempting to describe realities of life in the 1940s-50s as some have suggested. The mere suggestion that he is doing so shows no understanding for his work and is degrading to his name. This book is an intelligently written and thought-provoking piece that deals with the complexities of religion. Instead of nestling in the safe-haven of the religion one was born with, Salinger takes a new-age approach before new-age was popular. He explores the intensity of prayer and looks to all aspects of daily life for answers to everyday questions that are constantly struggled with by the members of the Glass family. There needn't be a plot for this book in the definition that 'plot' usually holds; this book obtains a higher quest and that in itself is a plot worth reading. This is one of the best books I have had the privledge of reading and I have read it many times already in my short life span of nineteen years. I recommend this for anyone who has a thirst for knowledge and new ideas pertaining to religion or life in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    the point?

    ...i think the point might be that sometimes the thing you're looking for isn't where you think it's going to be or it doesn't come from the person you think it would have. franny searches religion for an answer, but in the end her answer came from something seymour said. hell, maybe salinger's comparing seymour to god. who knows? but why does there have to be a point?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    Read it for the Fat Lady

    Franny and Zooey, to me, is a much more to-the-point voice of Salinger than any of his other novels, including of course the Really Famous One. The disillusionment Franny experiences is the same the Holden feels, but with even more justification. But in this novel, actually collection of two stories published years apart, Salinger helps the protagonist, and the reader, see 'the forset for the trees'. Do not go into this book seeking another Catcher in the Rye. Go into this book for a very refreshing point a view, brimming with the same beautiful subtle descriptions you would expect from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    A descriptive masterpiece

    I thought FRANNY AND ZOOEY was brilliant and filled with candescent descriptions and imagery. J.D. Salinger has a very unique writing style where he can write about the most inane things and make them luminous. His transitions from thought to thought are spoken through discrete actions rather than simply, or blatently, written in words. Though very different from CATCHER IN THE RYE, it is a truely wonderful story! WARNING: It may take a while to 'get into' the book, especially the Zooey chapter, but give it time. *please forgive my spelling*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    Warning this book will require you to think

    I loved this book! It was so different from anything else I have ever read. The struggle to find an understanding of life has been attacked from so many different angles and yet J.D. Salinger finds a new approach. It was an honest, thought provoking novel that gave comfort to anyone who has ever tried to sit down and figure everything out. Don¿t read it unless you are willing to look at it with an open mind and don¿t be afraid to look past just a story of a family having problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3