Customer Reviews for

Freak

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    I loved this book!

    I had to read it for summer reading, so at first I wasn't very happy about it. Then I had emointions for the charater. I couldn't put the book down ,and in less than a day I finished it. I hope you love it as much as I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    Great

    The best coming-of-age story ever. I totally feel for this character. The story is about a girl in middle school, being torimented by popular girls, and ignored by her family. I definitly cried at the end of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Can't beat it!

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book! I could not have predicted anything that had happened especially the ending. There was the perfect amount of everything. The perfect amount of drama, the touch of reality, and the emotion that both the character you learn to love shows and the emotion you show for the character. I could not put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JodiG. for TeensReadToo.com

    In school there are a number of social groups and nicknames that define you and your achievements. There are others that just haunt you. Miriam Fisher is well-known throughout her middle school; however, she is known as "Freak." <BR/><BR/>Miriam is no ordinary seventh-grader. She reads the dictionary for fun, writes poetry, and doesn't really mind that she doesn't fit in with the popular kids. Until this year she has had the friendship and support of her older sister, and fellow dictionary reader, Deborah. But suddenly, Deborah has turned into one of the "pretty girls" and has decided that academic pursuits are getting her nowhere. Deborah barely speaks to Miriam anymore, and when she does, it's with disgust. <BR/><BR/>This year, Miriam is also struggling with first love. A family friend has moved in for the school year. Artie Rosenberg is one of the hottest seniors in high school and Miriam is convinced that they are soul mates. Artie shares Miriam's love of poetry and pays more attention to her than anyone else. The problem is that ever since Artie moved in, he's been spending more and more time with Miriam's sister, Deborah. <BR/><BR/>In addition to her problems with Deborah and Artie, the teasing at school is getting worse every day. One girl in particular, Jenny Clarke, has taken the taunting to a level that is just cruel. How long can Miriam endure the teasing before she strikes back? <BR/><BR/>Marcella Pixley has created a character and a story that are filled with raw emotions. The sense of isolation is thick as you read deeper into Miriam's story. You will never forget Miriam or the lessons she manages to teach as she confronts the pain of being isolated. This is definitely an inspirational story for anyone who has ever been or known a "Freak."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    FREAK by Marcella Pixley

    FREAK, a recently published novel by eighth grade language arts teacher Marcella Pixley, has left middle school students shocked yet hungry for more. In the story, seventh grader Miriam Fischer describes her life as the humiliating target of nasty, harassing girls from her school. Miriam is teased and insulted, and shyly turns to her older sister Deborah for help. Cruelly she is rejected, and Deborah even goes on to `steal¿ Miriam¿s friend- twelfth grader Artie Rosenberg 'who Miriam believes to be her own soul mate'. To top it all off, Miriam¿s parents are too focused on their own lives to notice what is happening to their younger daughter, and Miriam has nowhere left to turn. But with some bravery and a little bit of luck, Miriam is able to overpower the obstacles standing in her way and find her place in the world. Miriam Fischer is an unbelievable character her vivid descriptions and insane life give us all something to which we can relate. The loneliness Miriam experiences has been felt by each of us at one point or another and over all FREAK is a great example of our lives. Whether it¿s the vicious Jenny Clarke 'Miriam¿s mocker' or the seemingly clueless parents, Mrs. Pixley weaves an inspirational story that leaves readers clutching their book and hoping that they never live a life like Miriam¿s. The illustrative vocabulary and stirring metaphors never fail to shock the reader with the lucid pictures created in their mind, anyone can tell that the tale isn¿t fictional. Though the characters are imaginary, Mrs. Pixley agrees that Miriam¿s life isn¿t entirely made-up, and that some people live even harsher lives than Miriam Fischer. The story is just an example of the tough lives that students live, and it is heartbreaking to realize how each of our actions affects another¿s life. Mostly however, FREAK teaches all of us that no matter what, there is always hope, and there can always be a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A Must Read For Young Teens

    I just finished reading 'Freak' and found it to be a beautifully written and very poignant book that all young teens can relate to. Most have us have had some experiences during our middle or high school years that we would rather forget...being ostrasized, being harrassed, feeling lonely and isolated. Miriam Fisher represents that part of us. She will take the reader through an amazing journey. The writer, Marcella Pixley, really takes us into the soul of the characters and makes us cringe, laugh, and probably cry throughout the story. Miriam Fisher is a delightful character who just happens to be 'different', not a good thing for a middle school girl. You will be taken into her classrooms, the school cafeteria and the school bus, where you dare not sit in the 'wrong place'..one that is unofficially reserved for the 'popular' kids. You can relate to her heartbreak regarding Artie, who she has adored all her life. The book concludes with an awesome ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    In school there are a number of social groups and nicknames that define you and your achievements. There are others that just haunt you. Miriam Fisher is well-known throughout her middle school however, she is known as ¿Freak.' Miriam is no ordinary seventh-grader. She reads the dictionary for fun, writes poetry, and doesn¿t really mind that she doesn¿t fit in with the popular kids. Until this year she has had the friendship and support of her older sister, and fellow dictionary reader, Deborah. But suddenly, Deborah has turned into one of the ¿pretty girls¿ and has decided that academic pursuits are getting her nowhere. Deborah barely speaks to Miriam anymore, and when she does, it¿s with disgust. This year, Miriam is also struggling with first love. A family friend has moved in for the school year. Artie Rosenberg is one of the hottest seniors in high school and Miriam is convinced that they are soul mates. Artie shares Miriam¿s love of poetry and pays more attention to her than anyone else. The problem is that ever since Artie moved in, he¿s been spending more and more time with Miriam¿s sister, Deborah. In addition to her problems with Deborah and Artie, the teasing at school is getting worse every day. One girl in particular, Jenny Clarke, has taken the taunting to a level that is just cruel. How long can Miriam endure the teasing before she strikes back? Marcella Pixley has created a character and a story that are filled with raw emotions. The sense of isolation is thick as you read deeper into Miriam¿s story. You will never forget Miriam or the lessons she manages to teach as she confronts the pain of being isolated. This is definitely an inspirational story for anyone who has ever been or known a ¿Freak.' **Reviewed by: JodiG.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Demons calss

    Heard of diffrent kinds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    What happened. What happened?

    Ok so im reading the book and im at the part where artie is just startin to move in. But why is everyone saying the ening is sad? Please tell m what is so sad about th ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WAY TOO DEPRESING

    This is the worst book i have ever read and i'm not exagerating when i say this. This book didnt have any happy scenes at all. It only has bad ones i even teared up because of how depressing it was. After i finished reading the book i felt depressed for days. Thumbs down from me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1