Customer Reviews for

Freak Show

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    I Adored it!

    I've always been a gigantic fan of James St. James's and this book is so WONDERFUL! I love how it's written and it's so easy to relate to, even if you aren't a drag queen. I just love it. Five stars plus a thousand invisble ones!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    OMG! FABULOUS!

    This book is great for any teenager ..EVERY TEENAGER ! AND EVERYONE WHO USED TO BE! Youll Laugh. youll cry. you'll go to the theater store and buy liquid latex and spearmint gum. James st James is the best of the princess diaries and harder to put down than a bag a fritos. i hope they make the movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    HOLY UNCLE PETE THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER

    J St James tackles a subject that other authors whould run from. The whole story is about bravery, the bravery of Billy Bloom and the bravery of the author. Billy Bloom becomes your new best friend when you read this book as you enter his hilarious world. I'll never foget him and i can't wait to read this book again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Best Book Ever

    I just loved this book. Not only was funny, but it was touching as well. James St. James captured the character, Billy Bloom, in such a way that i was able to simpasize with him when at the first appearence i was skepticle. Just buy this book. I am sure that you will read it multiple times! I myself have read it four times, and plan on reading it again. James St. James is jsut a fantastic author. I hope they make the movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    Skrinkle

    This book was incredible. The humor is great and James St. James just had a wonderful writing style, read his other book....Disco Bloodbath, he's got some great stories to tell and a very refreshing point of view voiced in his writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book and felt so much for the beautifully wonderful

    I read this book and felt so much for the beautifully wonderful writing and the utter affluence that Billy has over people who can understand him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Hilarious, a unique read

    Definutly read this if youre looking for something different. Party monster is amazing too.... and true!! I also highly recommend the party monster movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Billy is a queen

    This book is amazing. It made me laugh until I cried and I wished I was best friends with the characters. I totally recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Billy Bloom has been forced to move to Florida for his senior year of High School. His mom, a little on the bi-polar side, couldn't take his flamboyant attitude toward life anymore. Billy is a self-proclaimed "Gender Obscurist," a fabulously creative drag queen and a character that is resilient, lovable, and stronger than anyone ever would have imagined, including himself.

    After enduring unspeakable torture and bullying from his shell-shocked classmates, Billy ends up in the hospital and has a month-long recuperation period. During this time, Billy develops a deep friendship with Flip Kelly, the star and golden boy of the high school.

    Flip, the one who saved Billy from the angry mob of students and whisked him to the hospital. Flip, who is feeling the pressure to be the best from his family and the entire school. Flip, the guy Billy falls head-over-heels in love with.

    Billy relates his experiences at Eisenhower Academy with brutal honesty and laugh-out-loud humor. His decision to run for Homecoming Queen proves to be a true test of his character, strength, and resolve. Billy's message of tolerance and acceptance is important for everyone to hear. After all, "Gender is a choice, not a life sentence."

    No matter your gender persuasion, FREAK SHOW by James St. James is a delightful story of bravery, trust, love, and friendship. So put on your tiara and platform shoes and settle in for a FABULOUS ride.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1