Customer Reviews for

Freak the Mighty

Average Rating 4.5
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This book is great, you really need to read this.

Freak the Mighty is about two children who are kind of freaks but find the good in each other and become bestfriends.They go on tons of exciting adventures. There are secrets,thrills,and interesting twists. Read this book to find out what I mean.
I liked this book...
Freak the Mighty is about two children who are kind of freaks but find the good in each other and become bestfriends.They go on tons of exciting adventures. There are secrets,thrills,and interesting twists. Read this book to find out what I mean.
I liked this book very much. It kept me interested the whole time i was reading this book. It has adventures,friendship,happiness saddness,and everything in between. There was nothing in this book i didnt like. I recommened this book for everyone. I give this book a five star rating.

posted by 10928334 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Okaaay Book.

I didn't really like this book. I had to read it for school. MY type of books are the more glamorous books., but this is not a horriable book at all. I sujest this book to people who like science fiction.!

posted by ShopGirl99 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    This book is great, you really need to read this.

    Freak the Mighty is about two children who are kind of freaks but find the good in each other and become bestfriends.They go on tons of exciting adventures. There are secrets,thrills,and interesting twists. Read this book to find out what I mean.
    I liked this book very much. It kept me interested the whole time i was reading this book. It has adventures,friendship,happiness saddness,and everything in between. There was nothing in this book i didnt like. I recommened this book for everyone. I give this book a five star rating.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Wonderful Book About Being Different

    This book was assigned summer 2008 reading for my soon-to-be 7th grader. The book report was due on the first day of school. He enjoyed it and so did I. We are now reading "Max the Mighty,' the sequel to "Freak the Mighty."Read on.If you know a kid who is a little different, may be has a learning disability, this is a great book for him or her.If you know a kid who thinks everybody is the same and his or her viewpoint is all that matters, this is a good book. for him or her.If you know someone who wants to laugh and cry while they read. Get lost in the story and not wonder how many pages it is, this a good book for him or her.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Love it!!

    I, like many others, had to read this for school. It is awesome!! Fun, filled with adventure, and just cool. The launguge is not the best, but the rest is great. I love this book.


    Warning SPOILER ALRET!!!!!





    The end is VERY sad...

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    great!

    This book is wonderful! I read it with my fifth grade students as a read aloud as they all read along in their own books. There are many different topics and lessons that can be used in this book. In addition, I used this book for a realistic fiction unit and paired it with our realistic fiction writing piece. This book is funny, because it is from the point of view from an eighth grade student. The students loved reading a book from this point of view. Not only is this book hilarious, but it is touching, serious and deals with real life situations that many urban children can relate to. In the end, the students and I loved this book and highly recommend it to students aged 10 and up. It was a wonderful book!!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Book Ever!!!

    I had to read this book for shool, and thought it was going to be boring at first, but once I started reading it I couldn't stop. It is a really inspiring and sad book at the same time, but it portrays the moral thet friendship comes in all sizes. Very good book, I recommend it highly.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Freak the Mighty is a story about a colossal boy named Maxwell m

    Freak the Mighty is a story about a colossal boy named Maxwell meeting a really smart kid, whose name is Kevin Avery, who loves stories about King Arthurs and the Knights of the Round Table. Together, they go on quests and do stuff like they would in Camelot. They go on quest together, like their first quest, they had rescue a woman’s purse and return it to her. Kevin and Maxwell, or Freak the Mighty, goes on many different quests in the story.

    There are a lot of times that I laughed when I read this book, and there were some sad parts. Also, during one of the climatic parts, it gets a bit shocking. I learned the truth of stuff that had happened before the book started. I was a bit saddened at the end when, well, you should read the book for yourself to find out. Overall, I do really like the book. Once I had gotten to the rising action part, I couldn’t stop reading. I would defiantly recommend this novel to anyone who likes stories that are as good as this one is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great for middle school readers

    Used with 8th grade boys with reading problems; held their attention and even got some chuckles out of them.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Good

    I like the book it was really

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Amazing but sad

    The movie isnt half as good as the book.
    Max the mighty is the second book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Okaaay Book.

    I didn't really like this book. I had to read it for school. MY type of books are the more glamorous books., but this is not a horriable book at all. I sujest this book to people who like science fiction.!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    Wonderful, heartwarming story of opposites attracting and finding some common ground. The main characters reflect the atmosphere of schools and friendships today. Wonderful, wonderful story. I used this story as a Readers theater piece.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    I had to read this book for school and it was one of the best books I had to read for school ever! It starts out fun, gets scary, and then shocks you with a super sad ending. I can't wait to read Max the Mighty, the next book in the series. I recommend this book for everyone. All ages. This is a GREAT book! :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    This is a great book

    I really like this book it's sad and funny.It is sad that freak dies at the end though.I wish freak didn't die.Over all great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    freak the mighty is a very heartfelt story of two friends. in th

    freak the mighty is a very heartfelt story of two friends. in this story, max, a very dum witted boy, meets a boy named kevin, a young genius. the plot of this story is, to have friends that you can lean on. in the story, max and kevin go on fake quest, and face from the bully,tony d.together as a team, and that is ho ' freak the mighty ' started. this story takes place in a small neighborhood, which kevin and max live in. the conflict in this story is , kevins disabilitie, the resolution is , max helping kevin, and letting kevin ride high on his shoulders. - levi lewis

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    In answer to the question about freaks death, assuming u mean how he died, he had marquio syndrome. His insides were growing 2 fast 4 his outsides. Imagine your insides growing bigger than your outsides. It would probably kill u or at least paralize u. It killed freak.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great book

    This is a great book. At first I did not really like the book. But then it was a book I could not put down. I would recomend this book to someone who is having trouble in life or is getting bullied. This is one of my favorite books,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Great for 8th Graders!

    I could really relate to this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Freak the Mighty

    Great book for 7th grader!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book!

    This Book is Great!Perfect for all ages, Freak The Mighty is a heartfelt touching story that keeps you reading until the end!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Ijjgdfhiivawchhswguudwruugeryihde

    Syokcswdgiihfedgygdaqscjihdadchhgdshhhidsethi vdruhijuh fuv

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16