Customer Reviews for

Freakling

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Highly recommended! A fun family read!

    Bought it for my 9 year old. His 11 year old sister stayed up all night to finish it! She used her new found PSI to get up for school the next day!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Fantastic story

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Sooooo good

    This book was awesome ! I really felt what taemon was thinking and feeling!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Freakling is a fast paced novel that tells the story of young Ta

    Freakling is a fast paced novel that tells the story of young Taemon, whose rivalry with his power hungry older brother, Yens, results in him losing his ability known as psi.  In this incredibly imaginative world that Krumwiede has created psi enables individuals in this seemingly utopian society, to manipulate objects with their minds.  Thus they are incredibly dependent on this ability and if a person does not posses it they are immediately exiled.




    But when Taemon loses his ability to wield psi, rather than give up and go to the “dud farm” he comes up with innovative solutions to appear like he still posses psi.  For a time this plan does work.  In spite of his best efforts though Taemon’s secret is eventually revealed and he is promptly shipped off to live in the powerless colonies.  What is so bad about this dud farm?  People actually have to work with their hands!  It’s a psi user’s worst nightmare.




    Nevertheless, Taemon makes the best of the situation – as he always does – and builds a new life in the powerless colony.  Just when he is settling in though, Taemon gets wind that there is trouble brewing back in the psi city and his brother is right in the middle of it.  Thus in order to protect his family, save his home, and prevent a war Taemon and his new friend Amma return to the city to confront the corrupt individuals who would use psi for their own selfish gains.




    Freakling takes readers on a non-stop roller coaster ride.  I don’t think Taemon ever has a dull moment since he sits down to his family dinner on page 1!  Readers will definitely find it easy to submerge themselves into the world Krumwiede has created.  It’s filled to brim with futuristic gadgets, hover crafts, a cool sport called psi ball, and more.  But in addition, to all this eye candy the novel has a lot of meaningful themes such as pride, loyalty, and self-sacrifice that add more depth to Taemon’s story as well.  Furthermore, Taemon’s character embodies a lot of noble qualities and young readers will certainly identify with this protagonist’s struggle to remain true to himself despite the expectations and pressures both his family and society place upon him.




    The earth-shattering events that Freakling leaves off on, certainly paves the way for the next (and undoubtedly exciting) installment in the PSI Chronicles, Archon, which has just been released this past fall!  Check it out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    PLZ

    Plz help me i read the free prieview cuz i didnt know the actual book already came out and i became in love with it and the ending had me hanging on my seat. I want to buy the actual book but i just think it is to expensive. So plz someone tell me what happens. Thank u so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Bad Ending

    The ending was horrible it was rushed and ended abruptly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Nick Allen

    This was actually one of the best books ive ever read and i never wanted to put the book down. This book i recomend to all readers young and old. I met the author at my school and shes a really nice person and also has a lot of experience. Its a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1