BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fred Claire: My 30 Years in Dodger Blue

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Great Book for any Baseball or Dodger Fan who wants to go inside...

    Being an Dodgers draft pick and player in their minor league system for 5 years, this was an interesting look into how things really work in the front office of an MLB organization. Mr. Claire does an unbelievable job of telling it just like it was without trying to make himself look good or bashing people along the way. The most interesting thing about this book was how he was able to capture the exact feeling around the organization as soon as the idiots from FOX took over. I was drafted and signed by the Los Angeles Dodgers in June of 1998, just days before Mr. Claire was fired. I spent my 1st Summer in Professional Baseball in an organization that still had the feel of a family. All the old-school Dodgers were still coaching, including Mike Scioscia, Mickey Hatcher "Hatch", John "T-Bone" Shelby and many others. It was the most fun I ever had as a Baseball Player in my entire life. Then in 1999 the whole thing came unraveled with FOX and the arrogant attitude and people they brought into the organization & for me, the Minor League system. Every Veteran I spoke with during my 1st Spring Training in 1999 told me that Fred Claire and the "old school" Dodgers front office and coaches were the best people a player could ever hope to play for. The new regime was totally classless & clueless, treating no one with the respect they deserved. This book brought me back to some great memories as a kid who grew up a Dodgers fan in the mid-to late 80's when Mr. Claire had taken the job as GM. It also brought me back to my playing days for an organization that once was great and was now being totally mismanaged by FOX and the arrogant people they hired to run things on the field and off. A Great book, I recommend for anyone who loves the Dodgers or the game of Baseball....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Baseball and Sports Marketing

    "Fred Claire: My 30 Years in Dodger Blue." Great read. Fred who began his baseball career as a sports writer teams up with LA Times writer Steve Springer for a tightly written look at one man's stay in the bigs. It's a great baseball book. What I found interesting is how it relates to sports marketing. Fred has taught sports marketing at USC. His book chronicles his trip around the bases with the O'Malley family business until he is slapped out at home plate by global behemoth Rupert Murdoch. It's a good look at how to manage people, the human resource in sports. How deals get done. How Dodger Blue was invented and team branding with it. It's a book about how the modern sports franchise earns respect and the dignity that follows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    Great Read

    This is a great gift idea for any Dodger fan, I worked in the ticket office for the Dodgers in the mid 70s and I learned a great deal about the orgnanization that I never realized, you almost feel like you were there. A class book by a class guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    Great book, enjoyed it thoroughly.

    This book is a must read for any Dodgers fan. It provides a great perspective from Fred Claire's role as Dodger GM. Lots of interesting details and insight the common fan would not know unless reading this book. Well written and organized. All I expected and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Must Read!!

    For a Dodger fan, this a must read. Mr. Claire sheds light on what was a bright past. All the things that made the Dodgers what they were.The close knit ,family run orginization. Also lets us in on how he sculpted the teams of the 80s and 90s. The decisions that brought us Kirk Gibson and a 1988 World Championship. The book also explains, in never heard before detail, the abrupt end to his 30 years with the club. And what stikes me the most is he does not used the book to take cheap shots at the orginization or people who turned their back on him. What a classy move from a classy man! I loved the book. What an interesting and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    A must read

    In Fred Claire's book, 'My 30 Years in Dodger Blue, the former Los Angeles general manager give readers an up close and personal view of the game. He takes you into the inner confines of a big league organization and teaches how the game really operates. His book is an entertaining and informative look at baseball written in an easy to read, extremely interesting manner. After reading this book, even the most dedicated baseball fan will walk away with a much greater knowledge of the game. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    True Blue

    Fred Claire¿s story is a virtual travelogue of 30 years of baseball history, a blast for anyone who loves baseball, especially Dodger fans. He brings a variety of perspectives to his story, falling for the game as a boy in Ohio, covering the game as a beat writer for the Angels and Dodgers, becoming an insider as the Dodgers¿ publicity director, and building a world championship club as a general manager. Along the way, Claire recounts unforgettable stories, everything from his own one-game Spring Training ¿tryout¿ to signing World Series hero Kirk Gibson, from the release of Orel Hershiser to the day Tommy Lasorda nearly gave up bleeding Dodger Blue to join George Steinbrenner¿s Yankees. Claire also shares a behind-the-scenes look into the business side of baseball, tracing the Dodgers¿ evolution from a family-owned business under the legendary O¿Malley family to a piece of Rupert Murdoch¿s Fox empire. Claire remains connected to the game through a radio show and column for MLB.com. If you¿ve heard or read his work there, ¿My 30 Years in Dodger Blue¿ won¿t disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    WOW! A must read for anyone!

    I recently purchased this book and I must say that I enjoyed reading every page of it. I have been a Dodgers fan since 1982. It was the day the Dodgers were out of the playoff picture on Joe Morgan's HR in S.F., and it was also the day my blood ran Dodger Blue. Twenty four years later, my blood still runs Dodger Blue! In this book, Fred Claire clearly shed light on what occured behind the scences that I, as a fan, was not aware of, or perplexed at the time of the incidents. He also cleared up many of the questions that I had about the FOX deal, more particularly the Piazza trade. I don't blame him for what happened, as I previously did at the time. He made me feel as if I were part of the whole deal and now I understand the complexity of the situation more clearly. He could not have been more candid as he was in the book. It is a must read book for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    An Excellent Book Written by an Excellent Executive

    I have been a baseball enthusiast my entire life. Growing up in Southern California I watched both the Dodgers and Angels. I was aware of who Fred Claire was as a small child and watched as the Dodger franchise put an excellent product on the field each year under Fred. This book not only shed some light into the dialy activities of a baseball executive, but also helped me, as a hopeful baseball executive, to better understand the daily grind and processes needed to be taken in order to run a franchise efficiently. Fred's book is filled with stories only he can tell, as well as tributes to his legacy as one of the best General Managers in Dodger history. An excellent book for Sport Management college classes and a MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Excellent Book

    This book is excellent! It really shows you sports management from an insider point of view! There are so many obstacles the dodgers have been through that you get an inside look from Fred's perspective. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is interested in baseball, a dodger fan, or anyone interested in sports in general! Fred Claire definitely shows those people reading the books why he made the decisions he did and what he expected/saw the outcome to be! Once again I would recommend this book as it teaches you a lot about the dodgers and how they have become the team they are today!! What better insight than from someone who has experienced it all with the dodgers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Memories, Memories

    For those who were diehard Dodger fans and attended games at Dodger Stadium during the period Fred describes, pleasant memories of a family tradition and business are recalled. Alas, like 'Gone with the Wind,' this poignant period has slipped into history. I encourage those who attend the Dodger Adult baseball camp to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    A Dodgers 'Must Have'

    Fred Claire writes a great review of his very successful tenure as the Dodgers Exec. VP/GM. As a former employee during his tenure, it is especially enlightening. If you like baseball AND you like the Dodgers, you need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    Fred Claire: Dodger Blue Personified

    This is one of the best books for fans of the Dodgers or baseball. If you watched baseball in the 1980's and 1990's, you probably remember Fred Claire as Mr. Dodger. He was the figure of class and dignity that became the face of the Dodgers. From pre-Curt Flood to post 1994 strike and beyond, Claire was a part of the Dodgers organization. The book details how Claire got his start in baseball. He began working as a beat writer before taking the position of Director of Publicity with the Dodgers. In 1987, long-time general manager Al Campanis's gave some unfortunate remarks on ABC's Nightline. Within days, Campanis's hand picked successor was Claire. The book gives many fascinating details about long-time Dodger managers Walt Alston and Tommy Lasorda. There are a couple great sections on trades and free agent signings by the Dodgers during Claire's tenure. Needless to say once I started the book, I could not put it down. The one thing I noticed throughout the book was how Claire handled every situation good or bad with class. Things ran smoothly for so many years for the Dodgers organization. Trade and contract negotiations were held behind closed doors instead of in the media. From the man who drove Claire to the airport to Mr. O'Malley, everyone was treated the same. The latter fourth of the book details the events leading up to Claire's dismissal from the new Fox Dodgers. The Mike Piazza trade and his final trade involving Hideo Nomo. From working as a beat reporter to General Manager of the Dodgers to working for the new Dodger owners Fox. Claire handled every situation with humility and grace. Claire's story is a must read for anyone looking to get into the game or simply wanting to know more about the inner workings of a Major League Baseball team. By the end of the book, you will feel like you know Fred Claire. And, if that's the closest you get to the man than you are a lucky person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Fred Claire: My 30 Years in Dodger Blue

    Fred Claire's autobiography 'My 30 Years in Dodger Blue' fits so perfectly among my sports collection because it covers every important phase of Major League baseball in Los Angeles in the earliest days of my sports writing experience. In recent years, I wondered whether or not being a 'true blue' baseball fan was worth all of the frustrations down through the years but I can honestly say that Fred's book gives me a greater sense of pride that I have always been a Dodger fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Fred Claire: My 30 Years in Dodger Blue

    Fred Claire is a class individual who was treated in a very unclassy manner by the powers that were in the Los Angeles Dodgers ownership. In 'My 30 Years In Dodger Blue' Fred does not attempt to mask his hurt and disappointment, but that is far overshadowed by the insight he provides the reader into the goings-on in baseball's top management, as well as a peek into the interpersonal relationships of some of the game's biggest names. Fred Claire started his Dodger career as a rookie publicity man and rose to become General Manager. He addresses that climb with uncommon candor, pointing out his failures as well as successes, but the bottom line is that he helped put together a team that won the World Series in 1988.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Fred Claire Shares His Incredible Story

    If you love baseball and would like to know the inside story of one of the greatest franchises in the history of Major League Baseball, then Fred Claire's wonderful book, 'My 30 Years in Dodger Blue' is for you. The incredible story of his career path from sportswriteer to General Manager is fascinating. His anecdotes of of the great Dodger players of his era and the behind the scenes negotiations with agents and other general managers is riveting. The lessons learned from this outstanding book are extemely valuable. Claire did his job for over 30 years with diligence and integrity, something I will try to emulate in both my personal life and professional career. In fact, this book was so excellent, I bought one for myself and another as a gift!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Great Read!

    Fred Claire provides a great behind-the-scenes look into this once-proud organization. Rather than take shots at those who kicked him out the door after 30 years of loyal service, Mr. Claire displays the same class and dignity that exemplified the pre-Fox Dodgers. I enjoyed the book very much and, like many others in the true Dodger fraternity, have not felt the same about the organization since that fateful day in March 1998 when Fox took over. Is it any wonder that the post-Claire Dodgers have yet to visit the post-season?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2004

    Solid, candid facts...

    Fred Claire writes in detail and is very candid about what went on for 30 years behind the scenes of a successful professional baseball organization. If you want to learn more about a storied baseball franchise, this is an excellent book. It was also very interesting from a business perspective. Fred's point of view and the way he takes responsibility for all of his decisions is refreshing. This is a must read for the sports fan, the business person or anyone else who likes to learn from people who have done it the right way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    THANK YOU: FRED CLAIRE

    A trip down memory lane of a storied franchise, through the eyes of the man who was in control of the organization. Fred Claire a former sportswriter, tells us of his journey from publicity director to General Manager of the L.A Dodgers. He takes us behind the scenes, and tells the readers some stories never told before. Fred covers a lot of history in his 30 years with the Dodgers, and I am so glad that he shared his ride with us. I highly recommend this book to not only Dodger fans, but any baseball fan. Happy Reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    Great book, honest, dramatic, and fun

    Unlike the typical self-aggrandizing sports memoir, this one puts a very honest face on a 30-year career that spanned enormous changes in baseball, good and bad. Consider that when Claire joined the Dodgers, Steinbrenner had not yet bought the Yankees--for $10 million. And, when Claire left the Dodgers after Fox bought the team, that was a decent salary for one top player for one year. He does not spare himself in terms of a hard look at the record, including great trades made, and not made. The book has dramatic moments, including dealing with the drug addiction of Maury Wills and Darryl Strawberry, or the legendary Kirk Gibson home run, and funny ones, as in what player stole the wheels from Walter O'Malley's golf cart in spring training? For most fans, who sit in the stands as armchair GM's, this is a look at how that job is really done...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2